We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brixham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brixham House
Ranked #15 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our recent trip to Brixham house was as fantastic as always! This was our second stay, breakfast as delicious as ever, cleanliness impeccable and Mark and Debra provide a helpful and prompt service. Brixham House is a home from home and we will definitely return - in fact - we've already booked!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coopersdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    22
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
106
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maesteg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I myself booked through Groupon, and made sure to book well in advance in order to avoid any disappointment, absolutely fantastic stay, would recommend this B&B to friends and family. The host were very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough to help me. The room was very clean and well equipped and must congratulate Mark on one of the best breakfasts i have ever had.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaz106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Brixham House participated in a Groupon offer last September, the end date was march 15th 2012. I was constantly told via email that rooms were available however when the groupon offer was mentioned I was told there was no availability right up until the end date.If proprietors are to use groupon they should ensure they can accommodate the vouchers sold. This is one place we will not be visiting.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was to be my first trip away from home for two months whilst I was recovering from surgery so we arrived with eager anticipation. We were welcomed by Debra and shown the ropes with friendliness and charm. At around six most of those staying met up with Debra and her partner Mark who jointly run the establishment, in the cosy living room and enjoyed an informal chat washed down with a complimentary glass of good wine. We were helpfully advised of what was on offer at the numerous eateries in town which,later, we were delighted to agree with there recommendations.To sum up our room was warm and comfortable with superior bathroom facilities,our breakfast was extremely good,our hosts were welcoming all of which added together meant that we would not hesitate to return or recommend this B&B to anyone

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Brixham House with Groupon voucher. It was terrific value for money even at the full price. Debbie and Mark were very welcoming, giving us a very good glass of wine on arriving! Our room was beautifully clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was scrummy, and we were asked many times if there was anything else we wanted. We would definitely recommend staying there.We would love to stay again. It is about 10 minute walk from the lovely Harbour town of Brixham. There is a great selection of shops, pubs and restaurants. An absolute must to visit.

Room Tip: We live in the remote countryside and are used to pitch black and absolute peace. As our room was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonMosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

An excellent welcome, genuine hospitality and a real sense of sincerity from the charming hosts Debra and Mark. I cannot recommend Brixham House enough. The property is spotlessly clean, my bed was very comfortable and the award winning breakfast worthy of recognition. I will return again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam13245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here recently with a Groupon voucher which was a great deal. We were a little put off by first impressions but would urge other people not to be! Brixham House doesn't look like anything special from the outside but is a lovely little place on the inside. Being fussy we did think that our room (number 2) had an odd layout - a double bed under the bay window and a single bed also squeezed into the room, leaving room for only a very small narrow en-suite, and the room was rather on the cold side when we got there as there was no heating on - but putting that aside it is definitely the warm inviting owners that make this place special. Debra and Mark invite their guests in with open arms and are very friendly and helpful (I emailed a couple of times before going to ask about places to eat and parking and got immediate replies). We sat with Debra and Mark in the evening chatting over a glass of wine in what is the B&B lounge and also their own living room as they live on the premises, accompanied by their very friendly dog (whose name escapes me but who enjoyed a tickle behind his ears!). The B&B is immaculately clean with lovely clean white bed linen and towels and our bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious - cooked to order (orders taken the previous night to avoid wasted food), wonderfully cooked, perfect size portions with additional fruit, cereal and yoghurt available. If you are going to Brixham we would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OfficerCharlieDibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.7 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brixham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brixham House

Property: Brixham House
Address: 130 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England (Formerly Lamorna Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brixham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brixham House English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing