We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!”
Review of Brixham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brixham House
Ranked #14 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent 2 nights here last weekend on an impulsive getaway. Tis a nice comfortable clean B&B within 10 mins walk from the centre. The hosts are warm, welcoming and helpful, the breakfast was lovely.
The ensuite bathroom is compact and bijou but as long as you are not a swinger of cats then its no problem!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swan2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    22
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
107
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our group of 9 people returned here this year as it was where we finished a section of the S W coast path last year.Once again, we received a very friendly welcome, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast was excellent.I would not hesitate to recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed one night for a birthday treat. Everything from the moment Debra opened the door was perfect. Mark even lent me a belt which I had forgotten for my best trousers! The room was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and the bed and facilities excellent. The full English breakfast was perfectly cooked with toast served hot at the right time and delicious home made marmalade and preserves. Plenty of choice other than this. We would recommend it to anyone. Far better value and more comfortable than much more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the back so nice and quiet. There are rooms at the front facing the road so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnRMBingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The b&b was lovely, clean, well maintained, with everything needed. They excell with their service and hospitality. Will look forward to staying there again, thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonkystonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Being lovers of South Devon and the surrounding area we visit this area on quite a regular basis. Normally we are drawn to Paignton or Torquay for the facilities they provide. However, this time after seeing an offer on Groupon for one nights stay at Brixham House, we decided to base ourselves in Brixham for a change. What a good decision we made. We added three extra nights to the Groupon one night offer and enjoyed every minute of it.

This Bed and Breakfast is spotlessly clean, the hosts make you feel so welcome. We were accommodated in Room 3 at the rear of the house, which was very nice.

Brixham House is about a 10 minute walk from Brixham. We used to walk down of an evening to enjoy the restaurants and sites of the town. On the evening we did drive down, we managed to find free parking without much difficulty. The Prince William Restaurant along the harbour wall sells very nice and very reasonably priced food and we ate there regularly.

Back to Brixham House - the breakfasts were lovely, freshly cooked and there was plenty of choice.

Where it's situated makes it a very good base if you like to get out for a walk. Across the road and up the hill leads you to the coast path that leads to Paignton. We had a delightful day doing that walk (returned by bus which dropped us out directly outside Brixham House). From the back of the house and up the hill, leads to St. Marys Bay which is a lovely rugged bay and gives access to the fortifications on Berry Head.

So Mark and Debra, keep the home fires burning because we will definiely be back. Thank you for giving us such a nice stay in your home.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter if you need total silence to get a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Playitfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Look no further! Mark and Debra are fantastic people, fun, caring and nothing is too much trouble. They make you feelvery relaxed. We often stay here and feel like we are back home at Brixham House and Brixham itself. Breakfast is tasty (wait till you taste the tomatoes)
such choice fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and Marks homemade marmalade is a must! Our room is spacious, spotless and has everything you need. Mark and Debra provide you with a large variety of leaflets and info for places to visit, eating out and things to do. If what you are looking for is not there all you have to do is ask and they will be only to happy to assist. special offers are provided throughout the year.
What are you waiting for get booking, you won be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pirateTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Ours too was a Groupon booking and what a good booking it was ! From the moment we arrived (tired and wet) our needs we anticipated, offered and met .......... We sorted out our bags etc then enjoyed a lovely chat, including wine, with Debra and Mark. Settled on the comfy leather sofa in front of the log burner it was really quite a steal to get ready to go out for supper.
We had already booked a restaurant on the quayside following a recommendation from Debra and Mark got us the taxi number with amazing speed (it was still raining) !
Our meal was great and following a brief chat with Mark we headed to bed. We enjoyed a very comfy nights sleep and found pretty much all you could want in the clean and modern bathroom.
Breakfast was superb ........... Proper locally made sausages ....... delicious !
The rest of the cooked meal was just lovely, not a spot of grease in sight and plenty of hot toast on offer.This was after the choice of cereals, fresh pineapple, yoghurts and juices. This lovely breakfast kept us going all day.
In all we would be delighted to stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in Brixham. Thankyou Debra & Mark !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robnhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.7 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#23 of 26 in Brixham
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 26 in Brixham
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weary Ploughman Inn
The Weary Ploughman Inn
#1 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brixham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brixham House

Property: Brixham House
Address: 130 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England (Formerly Lamorna Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brixham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brixham House English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing