We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly in top notch B&B”
Review of Brixham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brixham House
Ranked #14 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly in top notch B&B”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We spent one night here on a whistle stop tour. It had been recommended by friends. Debra and Mark gave us a very warm welcome and provided lots of useful advice on where we could eat in Brixham that evening.

The room was excellent and the breakfast the next morning fantastic. Mark and Debra really do go out of their way to ensure you have a great time. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerryPrewett1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    22
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
108
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our daughter & dog. We were given a really friendly welcome and were made to feel at home staright away. The car parking is a real bonus. The room was lovely and the breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SABWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Just returned from a two night break at Brixham house. The hosts were very friendly without being pushy at all. Good breakfast and great location - 10 minute walk from town. They were dog friendly which was great for us as we had our small dog with us. Lovely fire downstairs and the drinks we purchased were well priced. Room a little small for us and the dog but there are other larger rooms and to be fair we did not ask to move - am sure they would have been accommodating if we had or they may have rooms specifically for those with dogs. Overall would thoroughly recommend for a short break and Brixham itself is lovely. We had purchased a kgbdeal which made this fantastic value but we would have gladly paid full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I booked a two night stay for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. The b & b was lovely, very clean and our room had everything we needed. Debra & Mark were excellent hosts, Debra even put balloons and banners up in the room for me for our arrival. The breakfast on both days was lovely and Mark was very friendly. It was a 10 min walk to Brixham Harbour which was ideal. Would definitely recommend staying here. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, it was at the front of the house overlooking the main road, did not notice much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikkie4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

What a fab place to stay in Brixham. We stayed for 2 nights and found the owners extremely welcoming and could'nt do enough for us. This place is very clean, comfortable and gives you that warm feeling. The bedroom was large and well decorated. The bathroom was of a good size with a shower, basin, toilet and large white towels. The breakfasts are a delight and much to choose from to suit most appetites. There is bus stop just along the road if you don't fancy a 10/15 min walk to the harbour. This is a great place to stay, and would recommend this establishment to anyone at anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had a weekend booked at Brixham House as a Christmas present and were pleasantly surprised by this charming, homely B&B. The owners couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming, and we had the joy of meeting their dog, Chip. Our room was cosy and had all the amenities one would expect to find in a modern Hotel. It was refreshing to be presented with a Breakfast Menu from which we had a great choice - everything from pancakes and fresh fruit to a traditional full English. We went for Egg and Bacon baps both mornings which was utterly delicious. Another pleasant surprise was the inclusion of an 'honesty bar' which we made use of the first evening.

All in all we had a fantastic weekend, made special by the lovely couple (and Chip!) who looked after us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmiSibbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smethwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

As a gift, we were given a weekend away in Brixham House- and what a gift it was!

Brixham house is a lovely place to stay- very comfortable, clean and homely! It's situated just a short 10-minute walk away from Brixham town and is located just beside a bus stop- giving you access on to the Number 12, leading you towns further afield (i.e. Paignton and Torquay).

The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming; they were able to give us loads of advice from what to do throughout the day, to where to eat.

Huge thumbs up for their breakfasts (you order from a wide range of foods including full English breakfasts to beans on toast; cereals and fruits are also available).

I would most definitely recommend this hotel to those planning on staying in Brixham!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaniHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.7 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#8 of 26 in Brixham
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#4 of 26 in Brixham
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trefoil Guest House
Trefoil Guest House
#9 of 26 in Brixham
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weary Ploughman Inn
The Weary Ploughman Inn
#1 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brixham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brixham House

Property: Brixham House
Address: 130 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England (Formerly Lamorna Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brixham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brixham House English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing