We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our regular stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fair Winds Guest House
Ranked #8 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just returned from our 11th stay at "Fair Winds". We were lucky to find Jill and Paul when my mother had to move from her Brixham home to a local Residential Care Home in 2009. We usually make at least 5 visits a year, so we have become one of the Fair Winds Regulars. Normally we book the adjoining self-catering flat, but for this visit we stayed in the main house and were given one of the very comfortable and attractive upstairs rooms, Mistral, which overlooks the garden. The house is ideally situated for the town and harbour, as well as for quieter country/coastal walks and is served by a frequent bus service to nearby Paignton and Torquay.
As usual, the breakfasts were wonderful and kept us full all day!
Looking forward to our next visit in October!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annehatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

7 days with Paul & Gill for our anniversary week was all we could have asked for. Comfortable clean bedroom and excellent breakfasts where choice plentiful and very tasty. Easy access to town centre (10 minutes walk). Recommend thoroughly

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Had never been to Brixham before, but could not have asked for more helpful, friendly or more knowledgable hosts to advise us as to what to see and where to eat in the three nights and days we were there. Paul and Gill were very hospitable. You will also be hard pushed to find a better cooked breakfast anywhere!

Room Tip: Go for the suite, biggest room on ground floor next to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We arrived in Brixham. After not visiting for 30years. Paul and gill were perfect hosts the rooms were beautifully decorated. Spotlessly clean and the choice off breakfast was amazing and the weather was perfect

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Friendly hosts, clean and spacious bedroom, easy access to town centre, good food, quiet - what more could you want?
They can't control the weather but we were lucky, dry for 3 days and it seems to have been raining almost everywhere else
Reccomend

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Carol and Norrie from Glasgow, Scotland. We were travelling down for our daughter's passing out parade at Dartmouth and had to find accommodation. We chose Fair Winds from laterooms.com by chance. We were given a warm welcome by Paul who showed us to the Zephyr room which was beautifully decorated with a luxurious king size bed "what a sleep". Breakfast was equally delightful with a myriad of choices including fresh smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and the full English breakfast my husband had every day we stayed there. He is still raving about it. Paul and Gill were the perfect hosts and on the day of the pass out they were up earlier to make sure we had something to eat before travelling to Dartmouth. Brixham is a ten minute walk from Fair winds and we sampled the fish'n'chips at the harbour - delicious. The sails from Brixham and steam train ride was not to be missed(round robbin). Ten out of ten for both location and amenities. We would definitely make this a must for the future.

Room Tip: the zephyr room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I am a frequent user of B & B's all over the country and never write reviews of the B&B's I've stayed in. But, Fair Winds deserves it!
Paul & Gill are friendly and knowledgeable of the area of Brixham. They give a warm welcome and are brilliant hosts. The breakfasts are amazing. Choices of pancakes with mixed berries to a full English or even kippers. That's not to mention the homemade granola and marmalade!
The B & B it's self is modern, clean and it makes you want it to be your home. The Zephyr room we stayed in has the most amazing king size bed that even an insomniac would have a good night sleep in! I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahS606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#4 of 26 in Brixham
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#11 of 26 in Brixham
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.7 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#5 of 26 in Brixham
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Winds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Winds Guest House

Address: 166 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: £64 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Winds Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Winds is a cosy Guest House where we like to offer a home from home experience. All rooms are En-Suite with Free Sat television and Wi-Fi. There is free on site parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fair Winds Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Winds Hotel
Fair Winds Brixham
Fair Winds Guest House Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing