We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pirate Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fair Winds Guest House
Ranked #8 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pirate Festival”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Another great weekend spent with Paul and Gill for the Pirate Festival. Great breakfasts, very comfortable room, large en suite. Didn't think we would make it after husband having a heart attack the day before arrival but knew we would be looked after, and we were. Thank you once again. Deb and Andy.

Room Tip: Stayed in Santa Ana again, large en suite and didn't notice the main road very much at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleyWhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    34
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
267
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at fair winds for a family birthday held in Brixham we had a warm welcome from Paul and Gill, Paul helped unload my car, wow!!! have not had this treatment for a while.
Fair winds is very clean and comfortable the hosts were very warm and friendly, food was very good sausage was on the small side, but I only use Frank Parkers, would recommend a stay at fair winds great location very close to harbour. Thank you.

Room Tip: This is a great location to visit Brixham with warm and friendly hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 325mdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

You won't find a warmer welcome or a better breakfast - my husband loved the scrambled eggs and ham on muffins. Lovely fruit and home-made granola - great variety all round. The Superior Suite offers the best of both worlds - enjoy Gill and Paul's breakfasts, but cater for yourself at other times as you wish. Well-equipped with all you could need, plus a few thoughtful extras.

Room Tip: The Superior Suite offers the best of both worlds - enjoy Gill and Paul's breakfasts, but cater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Conveniently located on a flat 10-15 minute walk into the harbour area. Comfortable and pleasant accommodation;warm rooms and warm hosts. The breakfasts were superb. I don't usually like having to decide on my breakfast choices the night before but as we were only there 2 nights it was not too onerous. Absolutely excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Paul and Gill are friendly, helpful hosts;the beds are comfy, the showers are great, the breakfasts are tasty. Fairwinds is close enough to walk into Brixham harbour but just lacks a view! We stayed for 2 nights in March.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was my first time visiting Brixham, although for my wife it was a nostalgia trip from past stays during her childhood. Thoroughly enjoyed Brixham and the working harbour, not so sure about Torquay though, but maybe that's an age thing. Although the West Country has been hit by bad weather, the position of Brixham to prevailing winds, etc. obviously has helped to protect it, as nothing seemed out of the ordinary. On arriving at Fair Winds, we were warmly welcomed by Gill and shown where everything was and how to operate the TV, etc. We stayed in Zephyr and although the en-suite was a little small, the stay was more than comfortable. The following morning we meet Paul for the first time and he, like Gill, was very welcoming, checking that all was OK and between them serving up a superb breakfast. We stayed three nights and would stay here again when we revisit the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from our 18th stay at Fair Winds. As usual we received a very warm welcome from Gill and Paul, and we were comfortable and warm in the self-catering apartment. It was good to find Brixham running as normal, in spite of the recent flooding in the West Country and the problems with the rail line. We had wondered how our journey might be and whether the flooding would have affected the town, but all was fine and Brixham was "up and running"!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annehatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 26 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 26 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brookside Guest House
Brookside Guest House
#7 of 26 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Winds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Winds Guest House

Property: Fair Winds Guest House
Address: 166 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Winds Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Winds is a cosy Guest House where we like to offer a home from home experience. All rooms are En-Suite with Free Sat television and Wi-Fi. There is free on site parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fair Winds Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Winds Hotel
Fair Winds Brixham
Fair Winds Guest House Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing