We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brixham Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fair Winds Guest House
Ranked #7 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked the Sundowner suite which proved to be a good decision as it is above average size, light and airy and is situated at the rear and you cannot hear the noise of the busy main road. We were greeted by Paul and Gill who made us welcome with a drink and homemade biscuits. The breakfast menu is varied and there is something for everyone even a specials board. Their local knowledge regarding where to eat and visit is exceptional and we found it very helpful. A big bonus is having the no.12 bus stop outside which takes you to Torquay,Paignton, Brixham centre etc. As we have bus passes we did not use our car for the three days we were there, which took away all the problems of where to park etc. All in all a very nice short break.

Room Tip: Select Sundowner suite a large room and much quieter as facing rear garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senior c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

when I read Dave of Bolton comments of the apartment I was a little concerned as I had booked the apartment for a long weekend. When my wife and I arrived our fears were put to rest, we were greeted by Gill and john who showed us around the apartment which we found to be spotless everything was explained to us, that is bus times places to go and places to eat we found them to be the perfect hosts nothing was to much trouble for them, the food was first class and John went out of his way to write his recipe for the pancakes for my wife if we go to Brixham again we will certainly stay there.

Room Tip: back room are quieter so is the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked three nights at Fair Winds. Paul and Gill met us at the door when we arrived, introduced themselves and made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean, very comfortable and well furnished.
There was a very good choice of food at breakfast, I had full English and thoroughly enjoyed it and of course there was the usual juices, tea and coffee. Fair Winds is situated on the main bus route with very frequent buses to Paignton, Torquay and into Brixham. We walked into Brixham each evening and it takes about fifteen minutes.
Paul and Gill are totally professional, very friendly and we are looking forward to staying with them again. I would highly recommend Fair Winds. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went to Fair Winds for few days convalescence after illness. Our room, Santa Ana, ground floor front, was described as "King Room" but we found it cramped and stuffy in the Summer heat with intrusive road noise when the windows were opened. We would not agree that this room is suitable for people with limited mobility. It would not accommodate a wheelchair, or zimmer, easily and there were no auxiliary grab rails in the bathroom or shower. The shower became very slippy when tray wet with soapy water. Ensuite was large as described but water took some time to get hot at shower and sink.
We requested "Decaf" tea and coffee for the room on our booking form, with fresh milk if possible. Pointed this out on arrival but never did get it (always carry your own!). On second day we locked our room when going out for a few hours but on return found it had been left unlocked and ajar by cleaners, a major cause for concern for property security when not present. Despite claims wi-fi was not attainable in this room and the TV "Guide" was unable to achieve programme information. Breakfasts were good but on day of departure breakfast milk was sour. Room was clean but as "first timers" we felt very uncomfortable and unwelcome here. There are many positive reviews for this venue, particularly from regular visitors, and we would have loved to have stayed wherever these reviewers stayed. But based on our experience we would not recommend Fair Winds and, sad to say, we were glad to leave it. If you do choose to visit note that room vacation time is 10.00am which differs from that shown on some booking sites and settlement of accounts is preferred by cash or Debit Card.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back would be quieter and possibly cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandgillbrixham, Owner at Fair Winds Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review. My apologies. You did request decaf on your booking form but due to personal circumstances ( see response to davebolton4 review 2 reviews down. These guests were here at the same time. ) this was overlooked.
It does say on our web site that this room is suitable for people with limited mobility. This is because it is on the ground floor with level access. We can on request provide a raised toilet seat , a shower seat or a non slip mat. None of these were requested or asked for at the time of staying. As we do not advertise our rooms as being suitable for the disabled we do not have to provide grab rails or have wheelchair access. We have accommodated several less abled people in this room some of whom used walking aids without any problem. You did not mention either at the time of booking or during your stay that there was a mobility issue.
We did on that particular morning have a problem with the milk. The label showed that it was well within date but due to the fantastic weather we are having it went off. All milk was changed before any was drunk as it was noticed to curdle the tea when poured.
We are having a major problem with BT at the moment , but then again who isn't , and I have had to get the ombudsman involved. This issue is soon to be resolved.
Apologies for the door being left unlocked.We were about at the time but it should not have been left so.
Check out time is 10.30 to 11am but we are quite relaxed about this.
This was an incredibly difficult week for us. We were of the opinion that we made everybody feel welcome. You obviously did not feel this was the case. For that I can only apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This nice guest house in Brixham is a good place to stay for a seaside break. Clean, comfortable rooms and plenty of choice for breakfasts which are hearty enough to keep you going for most of the day. For something different try the buttermilk pancakes, really good. The road is really busy so it is good that there is enough private parking for all the rooms. Rooms at the front of the property do suffer from road noise at night. Paul and Gill are good obliging hosts. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandgillbrixham, Owner at Fair Winds Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Apart from the traffic volume which is quite high at this time of the year we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Paul & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

we booked a week in the self catering part of this establishment and we booked soley on the reviews which were very nearly all good. as we said in the title nice people great food (apart from serving milk that had gone off at one breakfast quickly changed but no apology) I cannot speak for all the other rooms but we were dissaponted with our self catering unit
The shower was dirty (my wife ended up cleaning it before we used it) there were crumbs in the fridge 3 of the mugs still had tea stains in them there were cobwebs in the corner where the lamp is in the living area and we dont think the microwave has ever been moved as this had masses of dust underneath it In the bedroom if you look at the chest of drawers to put socks etc in there is a layer of dust about half an inch thick underneath it. The entrance to the unit had a basket with a few weeds in it (nice greeting for us ) basically if you cant be bothered to make it look nice then take it down,The view from our bedroom window was a rusty old mop. leant up against a wall There were other things but it would look like we were going on, basically it was attention to detail they lacked. You could rightly say that we should have confronted them with our problems but im afraid thats not really us as a couple we just smile sweetly and say nothing which is probably why our final complaint occurred, we had a knock on the door and we were asked if they could show another couple around to see if they wanted to stay and we were so shocked we actually said yes even though we had rented this accomadation for the whole week (our daughter was furious with us for allowing this to happen) but thats what we mean by attention to detail it might be there home but we had paid for full and private access to that room and they should never have even thought of asking to look around.we are soRry to have written this review it is not something we would normally do but maybe just maybe if they take this reveiw in the spirit it is given it may serve to make them pay a little more attention to detail

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank davebolton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandgillbrixham, Owner at Fair Winds Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are sorry you did not have an entirely satisfactory stay with us at Fair Winds. My wife's mother died suddenly the week before you were due and her funeral was during your stay. We had no choice but to honour all of our bookings. My wife was professional enough to smile and be pleasant to all guests , including yourselves , during what was a very difficult time for her. I personally heard her ask you on at least 3 occasions during your week long stay if there was anything you needed or if there was anything that needed doing. On all 3 occasions you said everything was fine.
If you had only mentioned at the time of asking that there was a problem we would have been more than happy to put it right there and then.
The people we showed the rooms you occupied to were over from Belgium and wanted to see the rooms before booking as they were due to return home. Half an hour before they arrived my wife asked your permission and you said it was no problem. Apparently it was. They were in there for less than one minute and under different circumstances we would not have allowed them a viewing.
Smiling sweetly is all very well if the smile is genuine but if it is concealing the fact that you have a problem it in no way helps to allow us to deal with that problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just back from a long weekend at Fair Winds and can safely say me and my partner will definitely be staying there next time we go to Brixham. Paul and Gill are so friendly and welcoming and are happy to give tips on the best places to go and eat. We were in the zephyr room and it was spotless and clean and there were lovely touches like make up wipes and shower gel, shampoo and body lotion in the bathroom. The bed was memory foam and was sooo comfy. The breakfasts were really yummy, you put your order in by 9pm the night before for your warm breakfasts like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, fry ups, pancakes and there is a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and juice you can help yourself to. The garden area is lovely especially when the sun is out. Locationwise it is a nice 10 -15 minute stroll to the marina where there are great restaurants, definitely have to recommend Beamers.
All in all it was a wonderful place to spend our weekend and we cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emstott2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandgillbrixham, Owner at Fair Winds Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

What a lovely review. Thank you both so much. We would certainly love to see you back. It was a pleasure to have you here.
Kind regards,
Paul & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#4 of 26 in Brixham
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#11 of 26 in Brixham
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.7 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#5 of 26 in Brixham
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Winds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Winds Guest House

Address: 166 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: £64 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Winds Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Winds is a cosy Guest House where we like to offer a home from home experience. All rooms are En-Suite with Free Sat television and Wi-Fi. There is free on site parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fair Winds Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Winds Hotel
Fair Winds Brixham
Fair Winds Guest House Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing