We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B - lovely hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redlands Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redlands Guest House
Ranked #4 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B - lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Redlands. The owners were really lovely - gave us lots of info about the area and even bought in special items for breakfast for us. The breakfasts were amazing and our stay was excellent value for money. The hotel is a 10 minute walk into Brixham and is also on a bus route so we hardly needed to use the car. Lots of lovely places to go locally. A very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms at the back are quieter but ours was at the front and the road did not bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainmoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefeedbacksystem, Owner at Redlands Guest House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
145
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this comfortable guest house and received a warm welcome. Rooms have everything you need & are spotlessly clean. The bottled water and decaf teabags in addition to usual bedroom tray were appreciated. Breakfast is well organised with allocated tables and a good choice of food, including fresh kippers, with an endless supply of tea/coffee & toast. All cooked food is piping hot and the scrambled eggs are perfect! Easy 10 minute walk to the lovely harbour/town centre. Recommend the West Country Deli for lunch or snack, especially the deli platter which is excellent. Also the Sprat & Mackrel pub where the food is good & cooked to order. The ferry to Torquay is good fun, a bargain at £2 return! Free off-road parking at Redlands is a real bonus. Pete & Jan are personable hosts with good attention to detail and we had a lovely stay, thank you. Thanks too for my birthday breakfast surprise!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dcrBristolSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefeedbacksystem, Owner at Redlands Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments, we always try to ensure all our guests have a good stay.
Also thanks for all the top tips in Brixham. Look forward to welcoming you back at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This has to be the best guest house we have stayed in for a long time. We thought the cleanliness of the rooms was spot on, and the proprietor's were the most friendliest and informative we have met. A great welcome and a lovely stay. The breakfast was also the best and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: Our son and his partner stayed in a top floor room and it was massive and they loved it. My husband...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netty1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefeedbacksystem, Owner at Redlands Guest House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests.
Very pleased you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at Redlands for 3 nights in a triple room. We chose Redlands after reading all the great reviews on here and we were not disappointed.
The room was great, spotless and homely. Pete and jan are really welcoming. Great cooked breakfast every morning and plenty of cereals and juices to choose from too.
Only a short walk to the harbour too.
We will certainly be good going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefeedbacksystem, Owner at Redlands Guest House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments, we always try to ensure our guests enjoy their stay.
We hope to see you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

friendly hosts, very helpful with directions, maps, etc.. Clean room, excellent shower, comfy bed. Breakfast was lovely and not awkward or quiet due to friendly, chatty owners. Good location, 10 min walk into brixham, or number 12 bus from just outside B+B for Paignton and Torquay. Happy to recommend to friends and family and will stay ourselves again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maspley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefeedbacksystem, Owner at Redlands Guest House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to welcome you back at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a wedding to attend at the Berryhead hotel so chose redlands after reading lovely reviews on here.

The owners couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a lovely easy stay and felt very at home! Would reccomend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejeansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefeedbacksystem, Owner at Redlands Guest House, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments.
We always try to ensure our guests have a good stay. We hope to welcome you back at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

A great place to stay we had a really nice clean and comfortable family room with room to move around in.Pete and Jan made us very welcome and relaxed .fantastic breakfasts didnt rush you. A gentle walk down into Brixham with the harbour and friendly locals, a good range of pubs and restruants, cafes. A lovely two night break we will be back for more. PERFECT.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefeedbacksystem, Owner at Redlands Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for the review, we always appreciate our customers taking the time to post a review.
Lovely to meet you all and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.7 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shoalstone Hotel
Shoalstone Hotel
#16 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redlands Guest House

Property: Redlands Guest House
Address: 136 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old home of TV's William Tell - Conrad Philips, Redlands is now an award winning family run B&B which is clean, comfortable, friendly, and relaxed with free on-site parking. All rooms are en-suite and include hearty English breakfast,(our renowned) kippers, or lighter breakfasts served after a good night's sleep on our pocket sprung mattress. Redlands is a Victorian house, originally built around 1900 for a Brigantine Captain and has been modernised and restored with all the modern comforts, yet still retaining its character and old charm. We are situated just a short 10-minute walk away from the bustle of the picturesque harbour with its excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Redlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redlands Guest House Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing