We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay!!”
Review of Harbour View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View
Ranked #13 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Harbour view and had a fantastic time - Great hosts and a fantastic location, clean rooms, nice food!. Thoroughly enjoyable stay in Brixham and we will be coming back soon! - Thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLover1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    72
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
233
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic couple of days in Brixham staying at Harbour View. My husband and I had room 1. The room itself is not large but as soon as we walked in it smelt clean and fresh with beautiful white bed linen. The View from the room is amazing, so beautiful at all times of the day and night... fantastic photo opportunities!!! Steve and Stuart are excellent hosts with all needs taken care of! We ate at Beamers Restaurant both evenings as the fish was delicious, not at all pretentious, just great food! We would have no hesitation at booking Harbour View again and would certainly recommend to others!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in room 6, family room with a gorgeous view over the harbour. A friendly welcome awaited us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, being made to feel that nothing was too much trouble, advice given regarding getting about and places to go. The room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed catered for. Even arranged the sunshine for our stay. What more can you ask? Thank you for a very enjoyable stay and for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolejharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here on our recent visit to Brixham & have to say it certainly met (& excelled!) our expectations after reading the reviews on here.

Steve & Stuart are the perfect hosts & couldn't do enough for us. Our room was faultlessly clean, with stunning views over the harbour & the breakfast was absolutely delicious!

We will be back to Brixham later this year & can't wait to spend another long weekend in this perfect little B&B - thank you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Another return visit to Harbour view, looks like the place has been newly decorated again. This place ticks all the boxes for me, modern, newly decorated, white linen duvets, neutral quality decor all with great unobtrusive service & a great non greasy English breakfast.

I go to stay at harbour view for 2 nights & it always feels like I've had a week away from work.

Thanks again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I'm not sure quite how to start this review as our experience at Harbour View is poles apart from other reviews, nevertheless we can only be honest and tell it as we see it. We always check trip advisor before booking somewhere and never stay anywhere that scores less than 4: we also read the recent reviews to gain a more rounded view as we appreciate that everyone is different and what works for some people doesn't work for others. I am a regular contributor to trip advisor and always give an honest opinion.

Based on the reviews we had high hopes and our initial perception of Harbour View was good. However when we looked closer our perception changed.

The good stuff: great location; great view from our room; parking; mattress and pillow protectors; clean bedding (apart from the valance); comfy beds; dust free; free wifi; good hospitality tray.
The not so good stuff:
Whilst checking for mattress protectors (maybe too much watching the hotel inspector!) I noticed the valance was stained with what looked like blood that someone had tried to wash out. It wasn't a fresh stain. I brought it to the attention of the owner whose response was along the lines "... It was the Spanish girl, I don't do that side and didn't check". We were very uncomfortable with the cleaner being called "the Spanish girl" . The valance was changed straight away, which was great, but the stain should simply not have been there in the first place, it was gross.
We stayed for 3 nights/4 days and the towels were not changed. Maybe we expect too much as we change our bath towels after every use but 4 days? There was no sign, that we saw, re towel changing so after the second night I put the dirty towels on the floor of the shower (being the norm in hotels/b&b's we have stopped in before) so they would be changed. We had been to the beach so one of the towels was quite grubby. Returned to the room to discover the dirty towels had been removed from the shower floor and put back on the towel rail - I kid you not - we found this just gross. Sadly the shops had closed, had they still been open we would have bought towels to use.
The stair carpet is filthy
The glasses in the bathroom were grimy as were the juice glasses at breakfast.
The breakfast table was covered in ring marks, maybe a white linen table cloth would be a better option, and sticky, some of the cutlery had food debris on, the toast rack had some dried food stuck to the bottom and the place mats were grubby.
We thought the breakfast offering was dismal: boxes of cereal; tinned grapefruit in stainless steel ice cream dishes; a limited choice (3) of yogurt from a brand we have never heard of; "plastic" white bread. The cooked offering is Full English. There is a good choice of jams. We read that they offer local produce but we didn't see any evidence of this. We thought the fruit, juice, bread, yoghurt and cooked items were not very good quality. It is a great pity as Devon has such an abundance of beautiful local produce.
The TV is tiny and the picture quality is poor (we don't go on holiday to watch TV but we do like to watch the news)
The plug hole in the bathroom sink was grimy.
There is a fridge that can be used by guests but for the first couple of days the access was blocked by bags of laundry.

We were really disappointed and Harbour View was so not what we were expecting. Needless to say this is not somewhere we could recommend and not somewhere we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellabella208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urView, Owner at Harbour View, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am very concerned that you found so many issues whilst staying with us. We genuinely work hard to ensure guests have a nice time, spotlessly clean surroundings and a decent breakfast.

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As you say, it is not the norm and flies in the face of most guests experience, evidenced by 97% who have reviewed us on this site saying they would stay again.

Sometimes guests spill drinks on their bedside cabinets and this stains upholstery and linen. We always look out for these spills and clean or replace affected areas before the next guests arrive. I’m sorry we did not spot the small coffee stain on your valence, but we did change it immediately you pointed it out.

We sensed you were not happy during your stay and wish you could have bought these other issues to our attention so that we could rectify them for you. You did phone us before staying requesting soya milk, which we obtained for you.

I am relieved that at least you enjoyed the great location, fantastic views, free wi-fi, convenient parking, clean sheets, comfortable beds, good hospitality tray and dust free room.

Once again, I apologise that we did not meet all of your expectations and assure you that all feedback is noted and acted on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

“The Harbour View” Bed and Breakfast really has a lot going for it. Location overlooking the Inner Harbour and wonderful views across same, elevated above the harbour itself on King Street, the web site shows it all along with other details: http://harbourviewbrixhambandb.co.uk/

Arriving late afternoon it is okay to park for a short time outside the B&B to unload your bags, as the parking facility is on the harbour side immediately below the house. This is probably one of the most important aspects of this establishment as finding parking anywhere in Brixham other than for 3 or 4 hours is almost impossible.

All the rooms are well furnished and comfortable beds. There is an adjustable central heating radiator which works well. Fixtures and fittings are modern and new. Liquid soap for shower and shampoo is provided but if you prefer bar soap to wash then bring one with you. Tea, coffee and chocolate drink also provided in the room.

The breakfast is the usual full English with Bacon, eggs to order, tomatoes, baked beans, sausage, also available is orange juice and grapefruit segments and yoghurt with the assorted cereals. A nice touch, when you come back to sleep, in the reception room there is always a selection of fresh fruit one can take to your room.

There is also full Wi-Fi service throughout. I would highly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: If you don't like to climb stairs request rooms 1, 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfox69brentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.0 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View

Property: Harbour View
Address: 65 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic grade II listed building, newly renovated in 2010. Panoramic harbour and sea views. Central to everything, located right on Brixham's picturesque inner harbour. Free parking on the harbourside, free Wi-Fi. Great value 3 or 4 night breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Brixham
Harbour View Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing