We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful family holiday.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Bay Holiday Park
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderful family holiday.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from south bay after a wonderful holiday to celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary.
We hired 2 caravans privately,which were good.
We have been to south bay before so knew where it was located-i can never undersatand people complaining about locations of places,check maps etc before you go so you know what to expect.
The facilities were clean and all the staff very friendly and helpful.
The main complex was a little dated and the swimming pool a bit small,but lovely and warm.
The shop and pool had erratic opening hours different to those advertised.
The food outlet was good,the food was nice but had a bit of a wait.
The stripeys tried very hard but you could tell they were a little inexperienced.
Overall a very enjoyable time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank carlandlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Carl and Lorraine

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    162
    77
    31
    51
See reviews for
362
95
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent 4 nights at South Bay. Found it to be a lovely, quiet, family friendly holiday park. It was a bit out of Brixham, but we found the walk down to the harbour pleasant. We explored the nearby St Mary's Bay, beautiful beach (steep walk down - well worth it) - we named it Goonie beach as it looks like the one off the film. Brixham itself is lovely. Ferry to Torquay very much worth the money. And Paignton is great too. South Bay itself is well kept, caravan was clean and well equipped (only complaint was the shower very erratic, going from cold water to scolding - reported upon leaving). Entertainment for a small park was fine the 3 stripeys. obviously work very hard. We were there first week in July, and it wasn't overly busy but just enough kids for my wee girl to make friends and enjoy the entertainment. We love Devon even though it is quite a journey - if we return to the area we would use this site again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lesley7706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Lesley

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Since the change in the regulations regarding taking children out of school during term time, I'm afraid there are times when the park will appear quieter than others. For many this is an advantage, but perhaps not for all.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at South Bay after a cheap sun holiday last year. We love the location and that we can bring our dog along too. The short walk to sharkham point and amazing views of the cove are breathtaking. The site itself is quite basic and quiet (which we like) but the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our little boy enjoys the evening entertainment, especially freddy the fox.
My only gripe would be that we stayed in a bronze caravan last year (sun holiday) and upgraded to a silver van this year (the best we can get with our dog), however I really couldnt tell any difference between the two and the caravan was very dated. Some of the vans are in need of an upgrade compared to other local sites and this lets the site down a little.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Donna

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

With regard to the caravan, no doubt you are aware that caravans have a shelf-life of about 10 to 12 years, after which they are replaced with a new one. This programme of replacement in on going and takes place during the off-season.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Brixham and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

After staying at the site a many times over the last few years there is a significant change in the standard of entertainment. Durning my stay this year we experience a poor standard of entertainment, Which we received from a young an inexperienced team. Last year the male entertainer clearly held the team together and with his loss the team is very amateur and unprofessional. Even discussing the family fun time in the DJ box in front of the visitor. It some what took away from the magic. There appears to be a new entertainer and don't we know it! After being told several times over our stay during all parts of the entertainment. Very sad as the standard previous years was so good.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Josie12303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right. We have to assume from this, that perhaps the holiday was not as bad as originally reported or that the review was not written by a genuine visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Came here with hubby for 4 nights. Caravan was very clean with good views.
It was very peaceful and quiet
The entertainment and site facilities are basic it's also quite a walk from brixham harbour however there is a local bus half hourly until 5pm £3 adult return.
Brixham harbour and marina both very pretty as is breakwater beach
Overall lovely relaxing 4 days

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Alisood

What a lovely review, thank you, we really appreciate it. We try our best to cater everyone and your review shows that we are getting it right.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We would like to think that you would come back to see us again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay was lovely nearby brixham and torquay and paignton are beautiful places to visit, the site it self was nice but dated the on site shop was handy entertainment was mainly for children as wasn't really much entertainment for adults in the club house but we were a party of 4 adults and the caravan itself was clean the only thing id say was negative was the bathrooms were really small otherwise the caravan was great id recommend this site

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Terry

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon, - our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here courtesy of the customer service rep at John Fowler due to a bad experience at John Fowler St Ives park last year.
The location of the park is slightly off the beaten track however following the signs is easy to find - very narrow roads and sharp turns though on the way. Brixham less than 5 minutes in the car, a good base for exploring the english riviera. Staff at check in and housekeeping very friendly.
We were given a gold 2 bedroom caravan and found it to be in a good condition - the beds were made up for us, and the table laid, clean and warm. Our caravan was H03. Having stayed in silver accommodation at the Widemouth Bay site, I can't see the difference between the silver there and the gold here. There was a large grass area to the front of the caravan and also a children's play area, car park in view from the caravan too, faced the sun for most of the day.
The evening entertainment team were lovely and tried their best however each night there were only about 7-8 tables of people. Despite this the schedule didn't seem to run to time: on one occasion we went for the quiz and got there half way through, the next night we went half hour earlier and had already missed it. Staff at the bar were also polite. Amusement area is quite small, mainly betting machines, no penny arcades. The shop is well stocked. We didn't use any of the other facilities so can't comment however they looked a bit dated.
St. Marys beach is within walking distance from the park, about 15 minutes downhill, need to be quite fit to get back up the steps from the beach!
To improve the park I'd suggest: benches outside the caravans, a tourist pack of things to do in the area given at check in, ashtrays, and improvement to the arcade.
We had a really good stay and if visiting the area would stay again.

Room Tip: Caravan H03 was in a quiet location, close to the beach access, we could see the car from the carava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharleyP1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello Charley

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments and your suggestions for improvement have been noted and passed to the manager.

It is comforting to learn that we have been able to restore your confidence in John Fowler Holidays. We are a family business, having been in existence for 60 years and have always prided ourselves in our customer service.

Once again, thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.9 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Brixham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brixham Holiday Park
Brixham Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.7 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Bay Holiday Park

Property: South Bay Holiday Park
Address: St Mary's Road, Brixham, England (Formerly John Fowler South Bay Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Brixham
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
John Fowler South Bay Holiday Park Hotel Brixham
South Bay Holiday Park Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing