We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, tucked out of the way, yet excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Bay Holiday Park
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quirky, tucked out of the way, yet excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thank goodness for satnav's, would have struggled to find this with few clear signposts. But what a reward, very nice holiday park, a little worn at the edges, but such quirky fun AND sooooo relaxed. Would not hesitate to come back here as it has a well kept secret - St Mary's Bay. This bay is a 400 metre walk, down 100 steps and into a secluded almost private beach with very attractive cliffs. No ice cream sellers or chips or plastic buckets for sale, in fact NO shops (take your own refreshments, bucket & spades etc.) Fantastic. On one day a seal appeared and followed a young boy in a plastic canoe, the boy stroked its nose, rubbed its belly and it followed him for over an hour. There are superb costal paths that reminded me of Pembrokeshire around the back of the park. Enterainment was surprisingly enjoyable in the clubhouse. Okay the park shop is very limited in what it sells, but then its not a big camp. Great place for a friendly family holiday or a quiet get away from it all break.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Rick

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Devon and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    160
    77
    31
    50
See reviews for
358
92
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived on the 18 August 2014 about 6:30pm the reception was closed, we went to the bar to get our key and directions to the caravan which was not a problem. We found the caravan and put our stuff inside, then went to find the shop so we could have a cup of tea and get some breakfast for the morning, but found out that it was shut so we decided to try the food and there was only burgers and pizza nothing with vegetables. So as we did not have much choose we eat there and left most of it as it was very greasy.

We decided to go back to the caravan and sort out our stuff and get an early night as we had traveled for most of the day. Got back to the caravan and one of the rooms smelt of sick so my son stayed in the other room, and when we finally got into our bed it was like sleeping on metal springs as there was no padding to the mattress, as we were on the main pathway we where awake most of the night as people who came back from the club who had a few to many kept on falling or banging against the caravans as the passed.

There was also only a very small heater at the front of the caravan, so the bedrooms and bathroom where all freezing later in the evening and first thing in the morning. So we spoke to the reception staff in the morning, and was told they could put a duvet on the mattress to make it softer and give us a heater to help with the cold.

I wouldn't have minded but for £500 for the four days we should have been there, I don't understand why people have to complain to get normal comforts that should be in place already.It then cost me another £330 for a B&B to finish the days we had left of our holiday.

Room Tip: There was suppose to be free WiFi in he club, but it was not worth the time as it wont not stay conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank Mick_Rapley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Mick

It is rare to get a poor review on this holiday park. If you read the other reviews you will see that the majority of people had a totally different experience.

South Bay Holiday Park has been awarded the prestigious Award of Excellence by Tripadvisor and this is the result of all the good feedback from our customers.

My investigations tell me that the park offered to help in any way they could but it would appear that, perhaps, a caravan holiday was not to your taste.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

My dad booked 3 caravans for him to take us all away for his 65th birthday, I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and spacious our caravans were. My dad had requested our caravans to be together and they had done that for us.

The location was great, you could walk to the centre of Brixham and there was a lovely coastal path that lead down to a lovely beach.

The on park entertainment in the club house was brilliant for my two children who are 4 and 5, they loved it. My two children also loved the swimming pool and the slide that was outside we spent hours in the pool, the changing rooms for the pool was again very clean.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazgib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Caz

Yet another 5 star review for The South Bay Holiday Park, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked ten days before we arrived after picking up a brochure from Tesco's. It was our first UK holiday in 28 years. After reading previous reviews was surprised that the roads weren't that bad and found the campsite easily. We'd booked a Budget Chalet which was no worse than a 3* hotel room abroad. Bedrooms were a decent size and the whole chalet was clean. I would ask that the site provide an itinery as we didn't bring towels. The location of the site was perfect, we spent time in Torquay, Paignton, Brixham and Dartmouth over the four days duration and covered just 40 miles. The Staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. As we only spent a relatively short time at the camp, i would have liked to see the other standard of accommodation as we would like to return in the future and maybe try a caravan

Room Tip: Ideal if you like to enjoy the surrounding area, perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Paul

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

With regard to the towels, this is mentioned on our website and in our brochure - sorry you missed it.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

A well earn break for myself,hubby my son,his wife & my 2 grandkids plus youngest son.The weather was fabulous the area itself was beautiful tranquail & serreal. We stayed at John Fowlers South Bay Park. Which had so much for kids like crazy golf indoor/outdoor pools Staff were so friendly as well The clubhouse may be a tad small but in High season everywhere is full. We Stayed in a Platinium Caravan In Haytor Within the trees a little play area for kids across the way. We had such a great time especially on The Round Robin trip is a must the kids loved it.(A steam train,ferry,river cruise, open top bus)We also took the bus everyday to Brixham harbour (£3 return for adults)& a ferry to Torquay,fanstatic value at £1 each way.Make sure you book tickets from the koisk nearset toilets at Brixham otherwise you get on the wrong boat you need the "Western Lady"Torquay has a big wheel so you can look over all of Torquay. Brixham is a great little harbour with plenty of places to eat. on the last day we went to The Berry Head Hotel the views are fanstastic ( Bit pricy but worth every penny). We loved it so much we are all going back next year because we could not fit it all in in a week. I would honestly say "Why go abroad when you such a beautiful place as the English Riviera" FREE WiFi is available in clubhouse.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShazLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello Shaz

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Devon and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Yet again a great week at south bay. No being asked for passes all the time like other companies kids enjoyed the Entertainment put on for them thanks Stripey Ness for pulling it all together. South Bay is a great place to just relax and have some family time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah19671096727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello Sarah

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 4 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

With regard to entertainment passes, the reason we don’t is quite simple. If we has passes we would need doormen and we don’t think that doormen are in keeping with a family entertainment centre.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors, so we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived at the South Bay holiday park on a Friday. Lots of windy narrow roads to get to the holiday park. We had a bronze caravan because we have dogs. The caravan was very clean and spacious. Caravan was near a field and near the beach ideal for dog walking. We went to the clubhouse one night, it was very basic and lots of kids! Do not eat at chef`s corner the food is vile! We had breakfast one morning and all I would say was it was okay, it's nothing special, just very greasy!! The clubhouse could do with a good refurbishment and it had a weird smell to it as well but not sure what the actual smell was! The games arcade could do with as some new games, very old! I would rate the caravan a 10/10, the clubhouse I would rate 4/10, the chefs corner for food I would rate 2/10. Would I go back again......? Yes only for the situation of the holiday park and the caravan was excellent!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy_7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at South Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving so many positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Devon and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.9 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 9 in Brixham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
10.9 mi away
Devon Valley Holiday Village
1.3 mi away
Brixham Holiday Park
Brixham Holiday Park
#4 of 9 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Bay Holiday Park

Property: South Bay Holiday Park
Address: St Mary's Road, Brixham, England (Formerly John Fowler South Bay Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Brixham
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
John Fowler South Bay Holiday Park Hotel Brixham
South Bay Holiday Park Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing