We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brixham Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked this holiday as a last minute break and we weren't disappointed. The location and views were beautiful. The chalet was modern and very clean and the facilities were very good for a small holiday park. The bar/restaurant was friendly with a good atmosphere. The food was lovely, home cooked and very tasty. Drinks were very reasonably priced too. My daughter enjoyed using the pool, play area and the arcades. Overall, I would recommend this holiday park and Brixham generally. A beautiful place. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbySnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your outstanding review and a five. This does mean so much to me and my staff as we all work very hard for our customers to have a good holiday. I am pleased you daughter enjoyed the pool and hope to see you all again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Brixham Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here (booked through Hoseasons) for 4 nights from 19th August. We stayed in Sanderling room 16 which had great sea views.
I'll start off with the good points......

GOOD POINTS

~Very friendly staff, from reception staff to the bar staff. Everyone we met was friendly and cheerful. We realised we didn't have enough bedding or pillows and popped back down to the reception. This was no problem and was taken up to our room for us. The bar staff were great too.
~ The park itself was spotlessly clean. No litter around the park at all. All communal areas were frequently hoovered and cleaned and the pool area was spotless also. This park has great sea views.
~The accommodation. The Sanderling apartment was spacious (but see additional comments below) with a well equipped kitchen (Microwave, fridge with ice box and enough crockery and cutlery!) and plenty of hot water! The beds were comfy and clean and the TV had freeview.
~Entertainment. Although not usually our thing, the entertainment wasn't too cheesy and was quite funny at times. By far some of the best holiday entertainment we have seen on a UK holiday.
~ Bar prices. The drinks were reasonably priced and although we didn't eat here the food looked reasonable quality and good prices (we noticed the kitchen had a 5 hygiene rating)
~ The pool. Very clean and although not the biggest it was adequate.

Now onto the bad points...

THE BAD

~The cleanliness of the rooms. When we let ourselves into the apartment, we noticed the kitchen floor was very sticky. As i had bought cleaning spray and wipes with me (you never know how clean these places are going to be) i set about giving the floor a wipe over....YUCK!!!! it was BLACK with dirt and hadn't seen a cloth for some time...
The carpets were a little stained and smelt as if they too had not seen a hoover or a deep clean for a while. With no hoover provided (only a strange carpet sweeping contraption) it was impossible to clean it myself.
~ The sofa bed. I must mention this! the Sanderling sleeps upto 6 (there is a double room, a twin room and a pull out sofa bed) I am sure however the sofa bed is actually a form of torture. With a long ridge of springs which sit across your shoulder blades it is IMPOSSIBLE to sleep on.
We ended up taking off the topper and using an additional duvet on top of this with any other blankets we had to hand and slept on the floor (not great when the floor was as described above...) The apartment i would say is perfect for 4 but not fit for 6.
~Although this doesn't reflect on the park, it is worth mentioning in the bad points. The walk down to the harbour is a 10 minute trek, and i mean trek! Downhill going (not too bad) steep uphill coming back! This park would be no good if you have mobility problems and don't fancy taking the car out. As it is a coastal path, at night it is pitch black. Luckily we had our iPhone torches! With wooded area on one side of the path and steep drops into the sea on the other i would recommend a taxi back late at night. Don't attempt to walk it!!!

All in all, Brixham holiday park is a great place to stay.

A few tips...
1. Take your own towels as these are not provided
2. Take washing up liguid and cleaning materials with you!
3. Pack some flat shoes ladies as you will need them for the trek into town

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your review and the good points and the bad points as you put it. First i am pleased you found the staff friendly and helpful as customer service is very important to me as park manager. Also for the kind comments on how clean the Holiday Park was and i am sorry you did not find your kitchen floor and carpet as clean as you should have. These points have been noted and looked into. If you had told us you found your bed-settee uncomfortable we would have replaced it straight away. Once again for taking the trouble to writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in albatross number 61 clean everything we needed great view, the head board was abit hairy !! But other then that so clean, food on site was ace , pool was lovely , entertainment on the night was good , ESP piggy Darby proper funny, it really was only a 10 min walk to brixham town centre hilly mind ya, 30 min ferry to Torquay , 10 min drive to Paignton , you defo pay for what you get , as we had the sun in our side it did make the stay 100% better , would I go again yes

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairesname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review. we aim to give the customer a nice relaxed holiday as we are a quiet Holiday Park. The Albatross unit is the basic one bedroom unit is a good unit for a base to discover Torbay and the surrounding area. The swimming pool is our pride and the maintenance team work hard keeping it lovely and clean. The Clubhouse again is low key but that is what we are. Thank you again and we hope to see you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a fantastic 3 day holiday 2 wonderful coves just mins away and a beautiful ten minute walk into Brixham
We had our dogs with us so the chalet was fantastic and nice and clean which was a great relieve

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cockshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review you have left. I am pleased you love the area as it is really pretty and so much to do in Torbay. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This has to be the worst holiday park I've stayed in. I really don't recommend this place. If you're looking for a nice relaxing quiet holiday then this place isn't for you. The pool is nice but small. The club house is smaller than the pool. There's about 15 tables and 2 pool tables. I stayed in the sanderling apartment, it's very basic, the bathroom isn't that great, very small and was a bit dirty. Stains in the bath and on the tiles. You get a showerhead attachment (takes about an hour to just wash your hair, it's that good) I personally think this whole holiday park needs a referb and all this park consists of is dogs and kids. Also this park is surrounded by steep hills so if you're hard of walking, stay away from here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your review as it appreciated to have negative reviews as positive as i see it a way of moving forward to what the customer expects. We are not a large site and we do take pets in some of the accommodation. You should not have found a problem with you accommodation as we do have high cleaning standards. If we had known we would rectify it at once. Two thirds of our accommodation now has showers. The basic one bedroom and basic two bedroom have just a bath. Brixham has hills but is very pretty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

we normally travel abroad every year ( me my husband and 2 children 9 and 3yrs) but decided to go for something different this year!!!! what a fab holiday the accommodation could be updated but was very clean and had everything that was needed!!! all of the staff were friendly and helpful especially Roy and Pam in the club house!!!! pool small but ideal for kids, location is amazing, so much to see and do kids said was best ever holiday!!! while we were there we booked for next year!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the sanderling apartments which are getting revamped ready for next year fab!!! locatio...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We love having families and we have many back year after year. We are not a large site so very family friendly. It is especially nice to have customers who normally go abroad and decided to stay in the UK and choose Brixham Holiday Park. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The main reason for booking this holiday was our dogs, we wanted to go somewhere that would accept them in the clubhouse. After booking, I had a look on trip advisor and thought I had made a terrible mistake after reading some of the reviews. We needn't have worried, the park was lovely. Our accommodation was clean, the clubhouse was clean and very welcoming to our very well behaved dogs and all the staff were friendly and helpful. If you really don't like dogs, you probably should look for somewhere they aren't allowed but if you have/like dogs, don't be put off by the negative reviews, we had a thoroughly enjoyable week at Brixham Holiday Park and will most likely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTillcocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor. We welcome all comments and i would like to thank you for your lovely review. We do our best and it is nice to read it is appreciated. We do welcome dogs in some of the accommodation. We all hope to see you again in the near future. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.6 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
576 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
528 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brixham Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brixham Holiday Park

Address: Fishcombe Road, Brixham TQ5 8RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Brixham
Price Range: £36 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have Caravans and Chalets. One bedroom, two bedroom or three bedroom. Most with a sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brixham Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brixham Holiday Park Hotel Brixham
Brixham Holiday Park English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing