We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park but stay let down by some issues!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brixham Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here in May for four nights. Had three chalets. Chalets were clean and well equipped. Grounds and location were good with just a short walk to town through pretty woodland and beautiful scenery. The evening food in the clubhouse was good quality and reasonable prices but breakfast seemed to be an area that needs some work as it was either short of items, one day sausages and mushrooms, or "would be ready in half hour" an hour after opening. Monday night a group of us sat in the bar having a few drinks when the barman decided to call time at 10 no negotiations the fact that there were a dozen of us in the bar, drinking, not what would expect whilst on a holiday park. Our smoke alarm battery ran out during our stay and kept beeping. I took it out went to reception and asked for a new one. They said that they would replace it for us, which they did using the same battery! Not professional at best highly dangerous at worst. This is a very nice park but maybe needs to look at its clubhouse and perhaps ask the customers if they gave had a nice stay. Might get some useful comments.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, General Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for comments left on this site. I have passed your comments onto the club and i am sorry you had cause to complain. The smoke alarm was entered into our maintenance book and a new battery was bought to the chalet and placed in the holder not the old battery. We replace the battery there is no need to replace the holder. It was not bleeping when the maintenance man left as he had put in a new battery. I hope you do decide to holiday with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

my partner and I stayed here on a 4 day break in the albatross chalet no 65 it was discusting,flies on windowsill,freezing cold.and smelt of damp the bed was damp had to sleep on our own blanket in fact we slept in the lounge on the sofa bed 1st night,had a leak in the airing cupboard ruined our shoes and towels,yes we complained and to be fair we were moved to a lovely chalet.but since we returned we have had to wash every item as it smelt so bad of dampness,im in dispute as we speak as to the cost of many things I cant get smell out of,other than that great location nice club not sure I agree with the dogs in their though

Room Tip: stay away from room 65 albatros
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinawalker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, General Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your comment you have left. As you rightly say you were moved at once to our top of the range. The unit you stayed in was checked and no dampness could be found. All the linen was checked in the store and found to be dry. The Albatross is a very popular unit and we have customers come back year after year. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

As we opened the door to our kittiwake chalet we were greeted with a strong damp and fusty smell with 1970's decor!

We had to clean our dining table which was smeared with chocolate. We knew we had only booked standard accommodation, but at least expected it to feel clean and comfortably.

On the plus side the swimming pool was great and the park is in a great spot! (Apart from the building site next door)

A very pleasant 10 minute walk into Brixham along the coastal path.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyJean91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, General Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your view you left on this site. I am sorry you had to wipe your table. We do tell all our customers on arrival that if they have any problems to come and see us. The building site is out of my control but they are now well under way. We are in a lovely area and most accommodation have lovely sea views..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went over the Easter weekend and we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We stayed in chalet B32 which had a lovely view of the bay. It was a nice surprise to see how clean and tiny the chalet was. It came with 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with twin beds. The kitchen had all the necessities. The shop is very convenient and offers things you'd find at your local corner shop. The only things we were told to bring were towels otherwise everything else is provided.
I would recommend this place if you're on a budget and appreciate good value.

Thank you very much to the staff for a pleasant visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, General Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

It is always a pleasure to have a nice review and i will pass your comments on to the rest of the staff. We want to make sure our customers have a good holiday that they will remember. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently returned from a 4 night stay in one of the refurbished Avocet chalets. The location was lovely; with stunning views over Torbay and a short coastal walk into town (our 8 and 11 years olds found it an easy walk). The staff were very friendly and welcoming and were happy to go the extra mile - even finding and sending our daughter's DVD back to us when we realised she had left it in the DVD player! We are really grateful for their excellent customer service. Our chalet was clean and tidy on arrival and the children said their beds were very comfortable. A couple of softer-lighting lamps rather than bright overhead lights would have been nice, and maybe some coat hooks on the back of doors, but apart from that there is nothing we would have changed. The pool, although small, was well maintained and never crowded - this was also very popular with our children. Brixham is a great little fishing port; it has managed to successfully mix being working harbour with a tourist destination really well and has some great local attractions and restaurants. We much preferred Brixham to busy and (tackier?) Torquay. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Brixham Holiday Park as a great base to come back to after exploring the local area - we highly recommend visits to Coleton Fishacre a NT on the doorstep and Living Coasts in Torquay - via the Brixham to Torquay ferry of course!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, General Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for the great response you have left. We are proud on how the Avocet chalet looks as it is modern and contemporary. Many have lovely sea views. I have passed on to the Housekeeper on how lovely and clean you found your accommodation. Also thank you for your comments and i will look at what we can do to accommodate the items you speak about. We are set in a lovely area and as you said the walk to Brixham along the coastal path is outstanding. We hope you will holiday with us again soon as we have a lot of returning customers. Thank you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have returned from a 3 day stay at this holiday park and I have to say we had a great stay.
We arrived early and on arrival the lady on reception was great....taking our number and said she would ring when our accommodation was ready...and this she did.
The apartment was basic but it was clean and tidy and yes as per other reviews some appliances do need updating but hey the cooker cooked and the tv showed a picture.
The staff were very friendly and te husband and wife team In the clubhouse were brilliant.
Dogs were allowed in the clubhouse which we welcomed and there was no problems with dogs barking and dog fights as other people wrote in thier reviews.
Over all we really enjoyed out trip and yes we will certainly go back again.
Oh one more thing.....for the person who tried to compare brixham holiday park with sharm el sheikh and couldn't spell it properly they need to get a life as they would pay so much more than they paid for the English reviera.....
Hats off to you brixham holiday park loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, General Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so very much for the lovely review you left on this site. We do our best and make sure all our customers have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We only have a few units that do not have a flat screen TV now. These will have them in the next few weeks. I pride myself and all my staff on friendliness to our customers. I will inform Pam and Roy of your nice comments on the Clubhouse. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent a week in a self catering apartment (Sanderling) and had a great time. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. A couple of minor problems (bathroom & cooker) were very speedily rectified by the efficient maintenance team. The park is well managed and we found all members of staff extremely helpful and polite - nothing was too much trouble. The clubhouse was a real hit with our family and the food on offer was very good value. The park is well located and has superb views over Torbay. For us it was a great holiday park, and we would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie t, Manager at Brixham Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you so very much for your lovely kind review. All the staff do their best to make the holiday a enjoyable one for our guests. We are in a lovely area and have fantastic sea views. The customer holiday is very important to us. Once again thanks and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.6 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
899 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 25 in Paignton
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brixham Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brixham Holiday Park

Address: Fishcombe Road, Brixham TQ5 8RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Brixham
Price Range: £45 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have Caravans and Chalets. One bedroom, two bedroom or three bedroom. Most with a sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brixham Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brixham Holiday Park Hotel Brixham
Brixham Holiday Park English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing