We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pearl wedding week-end”
Review of Shoalstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shoalstone Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Ashcott, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pearl wedding week-end”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

have just got back from another 3 day,2 night stay at the shoalston.It was excellent as usual,with comfy beds,lovely big shower and a hearty breakfast to start the day.It is great to park the car when you arrive and not use it again until you leave as you can walk to all the places you want to see in Brixham and beyond.Had a Anniversary meal in The Breakwater Bistro,which is only a short walk from the hotel,overlooking Torbay,watching Seals swim past and the staff in there even arranged a lovely bunch of flowers for my wife,delivered just minutes before we arrived and 4 days later,they are still looking good.Thank you to Gabriel,Suzie and all the staff at the Bistro for making this a lovely week-end.

Room Tip: Book early as all rooms fill up very fast,especially the sea view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derryck w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel S, Owner at Shoalstone Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Derryck... We are really glad you both enjoyed your stay here for your anniversary weekend. Thankyou for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again... Gabriel & Suzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed one night, and would recommend it to anyone. The owners are helpful and considerate, wifi worked well, rooms were clean and contemporary, bed comfortable, breakfast good. Only slight disappointment was the £5 rise on prices over 2013. At 14% this certainly far outstrips my 1% annual pay rise in percentage terms!
The location is an easy stroll to the marina from where the promenade walk takes you into the harbour area. One advantage is that although check out was by 10.00am, you are permitted to park there for a few more hours before the next evening's guests arrive.
My room was the single without a view, and that truly does live up to its description - the window is frosted otherwise the view would have been a stone wall. Not criticism, just plain fact for any other single traveller thinking of visiting.
Overall, a pleasant stay and I certainly would go back again.

Room Tip: See main comment about the sinlgle room without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel S, Owner at Shoalstone Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thankyou for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Gabriel and Suzie are such lovely and helpful owners, they made our stay an absolute pleasure, especially with the delicious breakfast! We had the option to change our room due to the water pressure in room 9, but after seeing the view and the lovely room we decided it was worth it.

It was fully explained that it would take a little longer to run hot and fill up the bath (considering its an attic room it was to be expected). The hotel is within easy reach of Brixham, a lovely walk down to the harbour. The room is stunning, with amazing views of Brixham, was a pleasure waking up to the view every morning. We would definitely recommend this hotel, and we will definitely be staying again.

Thank you Gabriel and Suzie for a lovely stay.

Becky and Ben

Room Tip: Room 9 has amazing views and is a lovely room, does not matter whether you are small or not as the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great place to stay. The owners are really friendly and helpful,room very comfortable and the whole house is clean,welcoming and charming. The location is perfect ,near the harbour but very peaceful. Would heartily recommend to anyone visiting Brixham.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I booked a short stay at the Shoalstone Hotel in order to give my 90 year old Mother an early Autumn break. The owners were very helpful setting up the visit, printing off pages from their website and posting them to my Mother with a comprehensive letter advising her on which rooms would suit her best. The room she had was ideal, with marvellous sea views and comfortable seating so she could sit and enjoy the vista. Road works in Berry Head Road and a lengthy diversion meant no buses could pass the Hotel so we needed to arrange taxis to go down to the harbour but these were cheap, efficient and very helpful to someone of limited mobility. When it became clear she was likely to spend most of the day in her room, extra tea and coffee was put in her room and in general the welcome and hospitality could not have been better. Breakfasts were very good and the atmosphere of the place was welcoming and homely without being intrusive.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The breakfasts were excellent and the owners helpful & friendly BUT-

This was a special family trip with my 85 year old mother, 83 year old uncle and my sister, to celebrate our mother's 85th birthday. I had booked because the owner had assured me there were very few stairs to my mother's room & it was a very easy, short walk to the centre of Brixham.
There were 18 stairs with one hand rail. Not a good start!
To add to this, we had to ask for hand towels & bathroom beakers, which had been overlooked in servicing the rooms. The twin room, number 10, on the top floor had insufficient pressure for the over bath shower to work and we had NO hot water from at least 5pm until 11pm in the evenings. washing in tepid water is no fun even in hot weather. Our bathroom fan did not work and there was no natural ventilation to compensate. The self closer on my mother's room was so strong that she could barely open the door, and strained her arm.
The walk back into Brixham was about 10 minutes fast walk but too far for an elderly person.
I would not have booked if I had been given a truer picture of the stairs but the location proved to be good, as the Berry Head Hotel was a short distance away and was where we ate evening meals.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front were probably a better choice but were not available when I booked. The singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marionhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Cross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had an excellent stay, but it was somewhat ruined by the lack of washing facilities in room 9. We were not pre warned when booking, about the lack of water pressure, meaning only a trickle of water from all taps, which made the stay rather uncomfortable. Everything else was good, it was clean, hosts were attentive and friendly and breakfast really nice, but, avoid room 9.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherryMacallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.6 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#9 of 26 in Brixham
51 reviews
1.9 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 26 in Brixham
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoalstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoalstone Hotel

Property: Shoalstone Hotel
Address: 105 Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoalstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shoalstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoalstone Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing