We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers!”
Review of Ernie Lister Bar

Ernie Lister Bar
Ranked #34 of 110 Restaurants in Brixham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Burgers!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were lucky in that we got a table with a view, the food was good, service friendly, a party with young children turned up on spec and were quickly accommodated.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    71
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Charmingingly old fashioned”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a bar meal in the Ernie Lister bar during our recent stay in Brixham. The menu was pretty good and the young girl who served us was so nice. The mussels were lovely. The bar was being refitted on the evening we were there was less space than usual. All in all a good place for a drink and a snack.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bea_K186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had our first evening meal of our stay in this establishment. We ate in the bar. My sister and I both had mussels they were delicious, really plump and tasty. My father had pork schnitzel and he rated it highly. The young ladt behind the bar was very sweet and helpful, I recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great bar, great food!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had 2 meals at the Ernie Lister Bar which was luckily only a couple of doors away from where we were staying. Both meals were excellent and very well presented. There were 4 of us so we had a mixture of meals from the main menu and the 'specials' - all were delicious with generous portions and tasty accompaniments! The prices were reasonable for such good quality food.

The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome; the bar itself has a very relaxing atmosphere . There is also a good choice of wines and beers.

In summary, if you are in brixham the Ernie Lister Bar is most definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valandkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another good spot in Brixham”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Went out for lunch in Brixham and set foot in the Ernie Lister bar for the first time. Atmosphere and historical interest very much in evidence with good food and service although the lunchtime menu seemed limited if you only wanted something light. Had to put up with intrusively noisy pop radio station which we felt was completely at odds with the character of the pub.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hylonumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ernie Lister Bar also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Ernie Lister Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing