We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
149
34
3
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
34
3
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits lovely conservatory comfortable with lovely views good sized rooms cooked nicely family room look forward to seeing you again jack russell enjoyable stay south hams on arrival bus routes national trust properties warm welcome sea view local attractions night's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

This great B & B is maintained to a reasonable standard whilst retaining and reflecting the buildings heritage, and the highly individual proprietor's. There are good sized rooms with differing options. Common area's and gardens support a truly relaxing stay. It was also nice to meet Rita, and the gorgeous Bess. Pets are made very welcome, and, as there are no very small children, dog owners can enjoy the company of their pets and other well behaved guests in pleasant surroundings.

The owners have a few simply stated requirements of guests, these are fair as they ensure Kay and Graham can relax (just a few hours a day), knowing they have been paid, and can concentrate on their excellent host provision. In return we enjoyed attentive, kind and excellent hospitality from booking and throughout the stay.

Hosts recommendations especially of the Breakwater Bistro were ideal. We also commend the Western Lady Boat trips as an excellent, cost effective, way of touring the area with someone else taking the driving strain.

'The Lookout' new decking area was very much appreciated for breakfast and restful evenings, as indeed throughout the grounds.

We stayed with long standing 'senior' family friends who described the experience at Raddicombe as 'superb'. We all hope to return. Thanks for a great break.

Room Tip: 4 downstairs,large bed, step shower, otherwise accessible. 7 upstairs double bed & small chaise, great window seat/dog bed (once covered).
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Steve, we were both delighted to read your very kind feedback on your recent stay at Raddicombe. It's always a pleasure to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Also very useful when guests leave tips on restaurants and local info such as ferries etc. for future guests. We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future. Best regards Graham Kay Rita and of course Bess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Stayed for two nights with our Jack Russell. Room was comfortable with lovely views towards Brixham. Had an excellent breakfast sat out in the garden so we could enjoy the beautiful weather! Well positioned for Brixham and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 as it has amazing views towards Brixham
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Raddicombe Lodge.
Always a pleasure to hear that our guests liked their stay. Thank you for leaving your positive feedback. Hopefully you will have chance to return in the future.
Best regards
Graham and Kay
Raddicombe Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Warm welcome from the owner's mother on our arrival plus an offer of a cup of tea. Lovely view from the bedroom which was a good size and comfortable. Well stocked refreshment tray in the room, including decaf coffee and hot chocolate. The owners were very friendly and asked us many times whether everything was ok. Breakfast choice very varied and the full cooked option plentiful and very tasty. Great to to find a dog friendly, reasonably priced, bed and breakfast close to our favourite part of the Devon coast. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen2462017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at Raddicombe Lodge. Feedback is important to us and we do respond to all feedback good or otherwise. Thank you for your comments which are very much appreciated. We do try to be as hospitable as possible and try to provide good service to all our guests. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Raddicombe in the future.
Best regards
Graham and Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Have returned this evening having spent 5 nights with our family of 4 plus our 9mths puppy to combine my 50th birthday with the week's half term school break. This was our first visit to Devon so having started to look at private rentals, I came across Raddicombe Lodge, which although very expensive, their website made it sound amazing. It came down to the fact that rather be on our own, I wanted to have company so decided to book RL. We have stayed at other b&b's and have always experienced very hospitable, friendly and memorable stays. We arrived at 1645, 15mins before the requested time of 1700 or later, and were met by a very non-approachable Kay who didn't welcome us at all. She said we could check in and asked us to complete a registration form and wanted full payment there and then. No smile or warmth of any kind. We were given a cup of tea & biscuits, the dog was given biscuits and she gave us some info on the area but it felt like we were intruding. The family room was spacious, well equipped, with a lovely, modern ensuite. However, the carpet was grubby and could either do with a good clean or a change. In addition, the bed mattresses were so uncomfortable, the mattress protectors were thin, the pillows (no protectors) had no substance and the bed frames (pine) were so noisy. Every time one of us moved in bed, the noise was immense. We kept waking each other up! On the 3rd day, Graham did tighten the nuts/bolts up but it didn't make much difference. We are all sooooo looking forward to a good night's sleep in our own beds .... The breakfasts were fine. Very nice in fact, although my partner did find a hair in his cooked breakfast one day and returned it. I found one in mine this morning but let it go as we were leaving. The conservatory was very hot and could do with blinds overhead. There were also cobwebs around the chairs. Overall, the lodge was grubby and in need of decoration and a good airing. Graham was more sociable and we managed to make conversations with him at breakfast. He also recommended some places to visit which were worthwhile. Both were very accommodating when it came to the dog and the storage of her raw food. However, overall, we feel that we did not get value for money for the £683 we paid for 5 nights b&b nor did we experience the high level of hospitality or customer service to which we are accustomed. We got the feeling that it was purely a money making venture. Devon itself didn't disappoint us and we will return but to different accommodation.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Topbird50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at Raddicombe Lodge. In all honesty we had no idea that you were disappointed with your stay. You will see from many of the reviews on this site that we have provided a very friendly and welcoming greeting to Raddicombe.....I'm sorry if you did not experience this on your arrival. We provided you with tea, soft drinks, biscuits and lots of information.....in no way rushing you.....just trying to make you feel at home. You did mention that you found the bed noisy but I was not aware that you found it uncomfortable. No one has ever complained about this bed in the past all we have ever received have been comments on how comfortable it is. As you said I did attempt to tighten the bed and you did say it had improved. You asked for more pillows 3 per person.....these were provided immediately without question. I also offered you the option of changing bedrooms for the last 3 nights of your stay which you chose not to do as you said you liked the room. So we are somewhat confused now reading your comments about the double bed and pillows. We apologised that your husband had found a hair in his breakfast the first morning and quickly changed the breakfast for him. We were not made aware of a similar problem on your last morning. We will of course pay more attention to this in the future. Re paying on arrival......our website is very clear on this point and is very clear if booking online.....plus when guests book over the phone we explain our policy so confused that if you were not happy by this why did you continue to book? We do however feel that we provided you with a very good level of service and provided it in a friendly and hospitable way. We were very accommodating re your puppy especially with the storage and making the food available from the fridge or freezer at all times of the day and evening. Your dog had an accident in our reception area which we dealt with with no fuss, So all in all we felt we were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Disappointed that you didn't discuss your concerns with us face to face but have chosen to complain in this way. I would suggest that if there is something you are not happy with in a hotel, guesthouse, restaurant or place of interest that you discuss it at the time......not wait until you return home and complain in this manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Should have booked B&B ONLINE THINK IT WOULD HAVE BEEN CHEAPER!!! We have stayed in tripadvisor B&Bs never asked for money first!!!!

Room 3 Bedding what a Mess no Pillow protecters. Pillows to sleep on awful. Not putting enough tea stuff in tray. Bathroom needs attension (Wall Paper) & NO Loo/Bath RAILS to help the elderly getting out..........

Breakfast was very good:- Eggs/Becon not recommend at all!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Poohbear412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.
Disappointed and saddened by your comments and confuded that non of the above issues with your room were mentioned to us during your stay.
Re your comments about our breakfasts. I seem to remember that you specifically liked the eggs and had two eggs each morning. In fact one morning you gave me specific instructions as to how you wanted them cooked which we did and you thanked me......so very confused by your comments. Your husband thanked me each morning for the breakfast and complimented me on his breakfast on a number of occasions..??
When guests book over the phone we explain our checkin policy which is payment on arrival. If potential guests are not happy with this it seems puzzling that they continue to book and then complain afterwards via Tripadvisor and not face to face. I have no idea about getting it cheaper booking online......that certainly isn't the case, clearly you are somewhat confused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews