We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
149
34
3
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
34
3
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits lovely conservatory comfortable with lovely views good sized rooms cooked nicely family room look forward to seeing you again jack russell enjoyable stay comfortable lounge south hams on arrival bus routes warm welcome local attractions nice breakfast night's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Where do I start. From the outside it looks nice and I notice that almost all of the photos are of the outside. As we entered, a very unpleasant and pungent smell of god knows what greeted us. The room was tired, dirty and grim. The bedding was old and tired. The carpet was stained and hadn't been hoovered. You could write your name in the thick dust on the ancient lamp shades. The sheets had blood spots on them. There was a bottle of tap water but no glasses. The shower and loo were clean, thank goodness. The room was sparsely furnished in old cheap pine furniture. And this for £110 per night when you can stay in Dartmouth Golf and Country Club, in luxury, for £90. Next was the 'award winning breakfast'. Firsly, the orange juice was off and fizzing. The ketchups were portion controlled in dirty old mini jam jars. We nearly threw up when we saw the underside of the lids...covered in mould...see the pics. These people have obviously given up caring. It's like a bad old folks home. We would rather sleep in a field than go back there. Revolting.

Room Tip: My tip is, don't stay there.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneFishingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Such a shame when people hide behind reviews and don't have the courage or respect to discuss any issues during their stay. No mention of course as to the wide choice on the breakfast menu or the quality of the breakfast itself. For info we have been awarded a breakfast award for the last 6 years! Yes, very sad that no mention of any issues were raised during your stay. The facts however are worth pointing out.....Glasses are provided for bottled water and can be found in the ensuite shower rooms. Rooms are cleaned and vacuumed every day. Beds are prepared with freshly laundered pressed bed linen in advance of guests arriving. From the photos it appears that you stayed in one of our double or twin bedded rooms and by your review it was in July. Our double/twin room rate in July is £92 per night or £102 for a 1 night stay, so not sure where the £110 you stated came from. Clearly you weren't happy which is shame but disappointing that your comments are somewhat wide of the facts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Gill and I booked for a two night stay on 7th and 8th August. A great location for travelling to the centre of Brixham , Dartmouth and the surrounding area. Graham was very welcoming on our arrival taking, time to explain the house rules ad facilities and also carrying our suitcase to our room. The room was as described at the time of the booking and relective of the information provided on the website. The room was clean and sufficiently spacious with facilities that made our stay very comfortable.
Both our dogs Keiko and Chenko were made equally welcome. There was a great choice on the breakfast menu including cereal, fruit, juices, salmon and the usual full English/Devon and the food was of a good standard. Both Graham and Kaye took the time to hold a conversation with us at breakfast - a great start to the day. Graham also kindly offered Keiko and Chenko treats so they didn't feel left out! We were fortunate with the weather and enjoyed breakfast in the great outdoors.
On our first night, after a long day out and about, we spent the evening on the outside decking enjoying a glass of wine.
A great stay with no reason we wanted stay again

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spence370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at Raddicombe. Delighted to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Always a pleasure to read such lovely comments. We very look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards Graham and Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We spent two nights at the Raddicome Lodge in mid June. Excellent location. Good breakfast. I can thoroughly recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon! Graham and Kay very friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you very much for leaving your very positive feedback on your recent stay at Raddicombe. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Raddicombe in the future. Regards Graham and Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Our wonderful hosts ensured our return for two couples. as friends, was as welcoming and hospitable as last year. Thanks for another great break. We very much enjoyed ourselves and went home better for the holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback Steve. Always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Looking forward to your stay later in tne year. Regards Graham and Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful 4 night stay over the Whitsun bank holiday. The B&B was very pleasant. Kay and Graham were delightful-very welcoming and helpful. Our Labrador was given lots of biscuits!
The breakfasts were delicious-plentiful and well cooked. An excellent choice. We will definitely return next time we visit south Devon. It is very well placed to enjoy lots of local attractions.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Roving808718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radders23, Owner at Raddicombe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Always a pleasure to read this type of feedback. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Raddicombe. Looking forward to your next visit.
Regards Graham and Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews