We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't bother.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Anchor

The Blue Anchor
Ranked #44 of 102 Restaurants in Brixham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't bother.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

an absolute mess of what i assumed might have been a friendly and welcoming pub, it is neither. rude staff accompanied by filthy furnishings, definitely wouldn't recommend it to even my worst enemy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank fefh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    72
    27
    12
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yeadon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We visited the Blue Anchor as it is one of the places that was dog friendly. The bar was quite busy & we were able to sit in the restaurant area with the dog, which is a little tired & quite dark. We ordered at the bar & the food was soon served by a very freindly waitress, although the blue gloves she had on looked a little scary ! First impressions were good as both the mixed grill my partner ordered and the seafood pie i asked for, both looked very nice. Unfortunately the pie failed to live up to expectations as it had no scallops or salmon that was promised & i only found one prawn, together with some very grey looking fish. It tasted ok & i was hungry so ate it. We didn't eat there again though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alansmith867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Went to the Blue Anchor for a Sunday roast, read some reviews which said they did good food, generous portions and reasonable prices so thought we would give it a go. The first overall impression we got was that it was run down, the carpets looked black and worn out but the chap behind the bar was friendly and welcomed us. We went through to the eating area to have a drink and ordered the roast, £6.00 regular or £7.00 large. There was a choice of pork, lamb and beef or you could have a bit of everything, we were hungry so went for the large size, good thing we did because it was very skimpy portions, don't know what the regular was like, child portion size I would say. The veg came separate and the amount for two of us was just enough for one, a few baton carrots and parsnips and about 2 teaspoonfuls of cabbage, we had to order more veg at a cost of extra £2. It was okay -ish but a bit tasteless and all topped off with a frozen Yorkshire pudding. I guess you get what you pay for and would rather pay more for better quality and a more substantial portion. We are not huge eaters or fussy foodies, just like a decent home cooked roast that fills you up. The waitress we had was lovely and bantered with the customers so couldn't fault her. We left and found somewhere to have a decent dessert, all in all very disappointing !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Gets very busy, popular with the locals and visitors alike, food excellent and very friendly. Live music really good but gets very crowded in the bar area. Lovely atmosphere!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Loved everything about it. The food was good (and plentiful), the beer was well kept with an excellent selection of real ales, and the chef (who actually came out to see how his customers were enjoying their meals) was friendly, and entertaining. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Anchor also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing