We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting.”
Review of The Blue Anchor

The Blue Anchor
Ranked #52 of 110 Restaurants in Brixham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
devon england
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Worth visiting.”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had to visit Brixham and we were drawn to our favourite pub for lunch, as we were early we had coffee, which was excellent, we were very pleased to note the carpet in the bar had been replaced. Sadly the menu did not include the smaller meals, it was once renowned for, and although their meals are excellent, we decided to eat elsewhere.

But we would both recommend this pub for their food, which is both tasty and wholesome, especially if you have a healthy appetite, which is the only reason we chose not to eat here. As we had already planned our evening meal at home. The atmosphere is welcoming and the locals friendly, well behaved dogs are welcome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    75
    29
    13
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cotswolds
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Still a proper pub!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Its been two years since I last found myself in Brixham for a week, and the Blue Anchor is as good as ever. Lovely friendly welcome, in what is obviously a great pub with a roaring local trade (just as well as we were visiting in January and Brixham was quiet!). The fact that we came in several times through the week tells you everything you need to know.
Great pub banter at the bar, good pub food in the restaurant - super pies, specials and pub classics, all cooked to order and in massive portions for very reasonable prices.
Thank you for the warm welcome

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bollingerbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex, england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming Pub with a Great View”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A lovely pub full of local characters most of whom like to engage in conversation with the visitors making this a memorable drinking hole. Fish and chips very nice too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank k_flossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An enjoyable harbourside pub”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A damp and cool day in January. But the barman was a character, the patrons were chatty, there was a nice fire, and the food was reasonably priced and hot and tasty.

Proper job!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

When we walked into the bar we were greeted by the barman and acknowledged by the other customers. We ordered our drinks and by the time we had found a table the customers had included us in their conversation. It made us feel very welcome. We ordered food which was hot and tasty and there was plenty of it. We will certainly go there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Anchor also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing