We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch - we loved it! Terry and Martin”
Review of Midhurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midhurst
Ranked #5 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We both had a very relaxing and comfortable stay at Midhurst, where we received a very warm welcome from the lovely couple who run it. It was a home from home and nothing was too much trouble!

The place was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast could be pre-ordered the night before for a specific time (which was really useful) and the food and service were excellent.

Midhurst is within easy walking distance from Brixham, though just far enough to work off a little of the sea food we had in the evenings.....

We had such a nice time that we plan to return later in the year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Owner at Midhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello and thank you for a "Top Notch" review! We are so pleased you found Midhurst such a suitable accommodation for your stay.
We look forward to receiving your breakfast pre-orders next time you visit! and be sure to sample even more of Brixham's "Fish Town" seafood restaurants.
See you soon!

Best wishes

Andrew 'n' Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Midhurst
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a comfortable stay at this lovely B&B, the hosts are a lovely couple and give a very warm welcome, the rooms are very clean and comfy with nice little touches dotted about the room which sets it apart from other B&B's. The breakfast was superb and kept us going for most of the day, we only had the one nights stay this time but we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Owner at Midhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi guys, thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Tripadvisor, we are so pleased your stay was a "Comfy Stay" and that the room had its "nice little touches" for you. Great to hear that you found the breakfast "superb" and kept you "going for most of the day"!
We look forward to welcoming you again here at Midhurst.

best wishes
Andrew 'n' Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at Midhurst this weekend on a surprise visit to my wife's sister. What a great reception from Andrew and Nicola. The twin room we had at the back was perfect. Very comfortable beds and a good size bathroom - not the usual shower in a cupboard you often find in small hotels etc. Location is good. Far enough out of the harbour area to avoid the noise and not too far for a couple of old crusties like us to walk comfortably. Even better none of the steep hills to negotiate either. Would we stay there again - without question we would and delighted to recommend it to anyone looking for a BnB in this beautiful part of Devon and a really good breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Owner at Midhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write about your visit and experience whilst staying in our home here in Brixham, its good to hear that you found our location good and that you found our twin room "perfect" and the bathroom a good size. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Midhurst upon your return to Brixham.

best wishes
Andrew 'n' Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

First impressions very friendly and welcoming .... The whole place very clean n tidy the rooms are spacious and have good facilities we enjoyed our stay there ..... We would definitely stay there again if we were down that area ....it was fairly close to Dartmouth x

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cypruslarnaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Owner at Midhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your experience here with us at Midhurst bed and breakfast.
It was a pleasure to accommodate you whilst visiting this beautiful and interesting part of Devon.
We look forward to hearing from you next time you are visiting the English Riviera!
best regards
Andrew 'n Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Midhurst B&B for a weekend break and what a great experience we had, we could not ask for better. Andy and Nicky, the owners, are so accommodating, friendly and will go above and beyond to provide you with an excellent stay. The B&B itself it absolutely spotless. The room we stayed in was lovely, light and airy with all the amenities you need. The breakfast - wow! What a treat that was! Fresh, tasty local ingredients. Andy and Nicky are generous with their portions and even offered us fruit to take with us on our days out. Lots of helpful advice given on local area and places to eat. We have already booked again and will be taking my mum along! We shall definitely recommend to others and will not stay anywhere else again when visiting Devon! Can't wait to return, such a fantastic B&B! Thank you Andy and Nicky, what a great job you do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Owner at Midhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you so much for your prompt review of your recent stay with us! It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Nicky and I are so pleased your stay here at Midhurst b&b was fullfilled with good hospitality and great breakfasts! The weather was kind to us this weekend [well most of it!] so your visit to Brixham was seen in good light!
We are looking forward to seeing you both again and meeting your mum in the summer.
all the best Andy 'n' Nicky :-) :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A last minute booking for our diving weekend out of Kingswear. Quick response to our query, happy to sort a take away breakfast for our early start. The breakfast was so large it was almost lunch as well. Rooms very nice and clean and comfortable. Advice given on best local pubs for evening meal.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H-M UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Owner at Midhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

First of all Nicola and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at Midhurst. It was a pleasure being able to accommodate the three of you and are pleased you found our bed and breakfast accommodation fitting for your needs.We do hope the take away breakfasts was consumed adequately!
Hoping your dives were a success.
Please contact us should you have any future visits here in the Kingswear area we would only be too pleased to accommodate you.
Andrew & Nicola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at mid hurst for a few nights, the owners andy and Nicola were very friendly and the place felt homely, the breakfasts were wonderful and a wide choice was available.

We would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Owner at Midhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review regarding your recent visit with us.
It was a pleasure to have you both here in Brixham and are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.
We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.7 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.0 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#4 of 26 in Brixham
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#7 of 26 in Brixham
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fair Winds Guest House
Fair Winds Guest House
#6 of 26 in Brixham
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midhurst

Address: 132 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: £70 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Midhurst Bed and Breakfast. We are a small traditional Edwardian home offering 2 double ensuites a twin ensuite and a single ensuite situated on the first floor. We have 2 parking spaces and free street parking. We are an easy 10 minute walk to Brixham town centre where you are greeted by our picturesque harbour adorning the infamous replica of Sir Francis Drakes Golden Hind. Andrew and Nicola look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Midhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midhurst Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing