We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Started bad ended BAD” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balti Night

The Balti Night
Ranked #75 of 102 Restaurants in Brixham
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Started bad ended BAD”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

On arrival (booked) NO nice greeting -3 points sat down ordered wine NOT offered to try just pored out -2 points ,starter under cooked Raw ( THIS IS Where DEFRA comes in) main again BAD 3 different size of prawn cooked together so u get 1 cooked 1 perfect and 1 like rubber I did say about this and my reply was " we but them in packs " the ads say FRESH but he would not apologise for this and my tip Was 10p and that was only because I did not have the correct change the Whole staff attitude was to me serve crap (no service with a smile) and roll in the tips !!!!!!!! Don't go there !!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    43
    23
    16
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best food in brixham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Eaten here every week for years and never had a bad meal. Cant believe some of these comments on here I wonder if its a bit of rivalry. Would reccomend to anyone. Slow food is fresh cooked food not reheated food. Just a thought....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank indianfoodlover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food and polite service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited before reading the bad reviews and are genuinely surprised by them. We went, on a quiet night admittedly, and had very good service and a tasty, well cooked meal. Price was very reasonable.
It looks like a small takeaway from the outside but the restaurant, through the back is clean and tidy with some interesting artwork on the walls. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a decent curry, central position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

enjoyed a decent curry here, no complaints at all. About normal service term, around 10 mins.
It dosent look much from the front, just the door and waiting area, small bar; the restaurant is further inside (no windows if that bothers you... but then theres no window lickers!)
Town centre position, just back from the quayside and close to many great pubs.
Not sure about reservations but i imagine they do.
NB cards wern't accepted when I went (easter 2014), but cashpoint opposite.
curry, naan bread and pint, about £13

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChilliAndGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible food, dreadful and rude customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Ordered a take out from Balti Nights. The chicken was incredibly dry on both main meals, also came across 5 bits of grissle in the 'breast' pieces. Food was cold on delivery top, I litereally mean cold, not warm, but cold. Chicken pakora was dry, naan bread was doughy and cold.

Rang them up explaining the situation, and the manager was incredibly rude, I was adament on getting a refund as the take out cost me £30.00, and he bluntly refused and also refused to get a delivery driver to come and check the food.

Stay well clear...unfortunately, being in the countryside, there are really not a lot of good or even decent take outs. This is one to add to the stay clear list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank benjii18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Balti Night also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Balti Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing