We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Museum”

Brixham Heritage Museum
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brixham Heritage Museum was delighted to be awarded a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for 2015, the third year running, thank you all for making this possible! We were also joint winners of the Family Friendly Museum Award in 2013,despite nationwide competition. We offer a choice of activities which are suitable for a variety of ages, and we hold many 'special days' both within and outside of our Museum. There are opportunities to become amateur archaeologists, no matter how young, and many other "hands-on" experiences are found on both floor levels inside the building.For all visitors there are a variety of displays ranging from the prehistoric to the 1950s, with particular emphasis on the maritime industry of the area. We also offer Family History Research for all areas, and hold regular talks and social activities. For further information please view our website.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fascinating Museum”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wonderful little place to visit with very helpful staff and a huge amount of history packed into a two storey building. Had a truly lovely morning here learning lots about Brixham.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    50
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great venue with a treasure trove of information”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This little museum has hidden depths and is well worth the visit! Very reasonable prices and a lovely friendly welcome from the team there. All were very helpful and went the extra mile to help. This museum is over two floors and has a wealth of history to it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nickyjr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History of brixham”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This a nice little museum only cost £2:00 cheap plenty of history of brixham defitely worth a visit and they have a 00 gauge scale model of brixham railway station before it was all demolished worth looking at thumbs up from me

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank malcolmcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brixham heritage museum”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Gives a good insight into Brixham's history, especially its long fishing heritage.
Well worth a visit especially if it's raining' the volunteers who run the museum are very knowledgeable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south devon
Level Contributor
170 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lots of stairs ... but if you can manage them it is worth a visit... very interesting ,children have questionnaire and my grandchild enjoyed trying to get the answers. Staff were cheerful and helpful.
Located at Bolton Cross .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kezziedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham M, Manager at Brixham Heritage Museum, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for all your favourable comments which are much appreciated and have enabled us to receive a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for the second year running. Our staff and volunteers have been working tirelessly refurbishing some of the displays to ensure that our large amount of exhibits are shown to their best advantage.
We would like to remind our visitors that those of you who are unable to manage the stairs are entitled to a reduced price admission charge. On our ground floor we provide a book of photographs and information of our first floor displays.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brixham Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Brixham Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing