We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like others decided the fate!”
Review of J's corner - CLOSED

J's corner
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Looks like others decided the fate!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After our last (honest) review which prompted a response from the owners full of untruths, we now understand that this establishment is closed.
It would appear that others found this place to be less than satisfactory so deciding their fate.
Lets hope that someone can make this prominent site a success as nobody likes to see empty shops and that the previous owners have learned from their mistakes should they embark on another venture

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    3
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redruth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Something not right here”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

really surprised to find J's closed on one of our many trips to Brixham as the food was always top notch for what it was. Even more surprised to find that he seems to have driven out. Well lets hope they are happy with the eye-sore abandonded shop with the whitewashed windows slowly rotting away just yards from the harbour, well done. Then reading on we were in hysterics at the claim that only quality outlets allowed in Brixham, as many are, but no comment on that low life dive the Rising Sun, which still retains it's licence.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The closure of this place came as no surprise to the residents of Brixham. It was nothing other than a greasy spoon cafe and while they have their place this one was in the completely wrong location. Brixham now has some quality eateries and any prospective restaurateurs (and some current ones) should bear that in mind.
Quality outlets in Brixham are doing well; the down market ones are closing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BrixhamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits you!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Having recently relocated to Brixham and having tried several establishments J's is one we can recommend J and his family run this clean cafe/restaurant with a vast selection of drinks and meals homemade to satify everyones palate! see you soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“decide for yourself - we walked!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived and were greeted nicely by the owner, his son ? took our drinks order while we were deciding what to eat and the coffees arrived quickly (not the tastiest coffee, but OK) , he was very pleasant and chatted and pointed out what we wanted was on an inclusive special that day so we ordered it. (cod, chips and peas, B+B, drink)
While we were waiting other customers arrived and the owner continued in his friendly manner greeting them, we were reassured by him that our meal was on its way even though we had not been waiting long and I made the joke better that than having it raw!
Our food arrived and on first impression looked fine however when my wife got to the thick part of the fillet she found it to be undercooked to the point of transparency, pointing this out to me I checked mine and it was the same.
I feel it only fair to say at this point that I had previously managed a very busy fish and chip shop in London cooking hundreds of portions of fish weekly. This fish was not cooked through.
so without making a big fuss I caught the attention of the son as he finished serving an adjoining table and brought the problem to his attention, he said he would refer it to the owner. So we waited, after a few (too many) minutes of us staring at our plates, the owner arrived and was full of apologies and took our meals away, clearing the table.
In all perhaps we had eaten about 1/3 of the meal each.
Advice time, If you order fish, start from the thickest part first!!
Anyway we waited, and waited, no action, no sign of intention, no explanation, we were still hungry and now looking at an empty table, was it too much to expect the food to be replaced? was it unreasonable to expect to be told what was happening?
It would seem that to the very friendly owner the answer is yes.
Perhaps he is not used to complaints or how to handle them, there are a lot of good reports on here, INDEED THEY EVEN HAVE 2 ENTRIES AND APPEAR WITH 2 RATINGS!! and other food served did look OK.
So after what was too long and not knowing what was happening, certainly enough time for the food to be replaced ( and probably eaten ) we decided to leave.
On exiting I told the owner that I would not be paying for undercooked unsafe raw food especially as no replacement was offered or forthcoming and that we would now have to find somewhere else to satisfy our hunger.
This triggered gushing apologies from him, I didn't realise...etc etc, NO you didn't, NOR DID YOU ASK!!
it also triggered from his wife, 'give them their money back' and 'that fish was not raw' - I think I know who 'cooked' it!
Well folks as I said in the title you choose, hopefully for them they were having an off day as they are a family business, the welcome we got was good, the son was nice, other food looked OK and obviously they do have regulars so must be doing something right most of the time, but looking at the reviews we are not the only ones unimpressed,
'J' family, look at your criticism and learn, think, 'what would I expect if I experienced that problem', perhaps even try a better flavour coffee (even if you have to put the cost up a copper or two) look at your furniture with a critical eye - those chairs really are tatty.
The effort you appear to put in, most of the time works but when it doesn't, you seem lost.
Our criticism although probably not liked is given constructively and without malice but for us the opportunity as a returning customer was lost. A shame Has the potential to be a really good cafe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janisd1965, Owner at J's corner, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
i find this review to be highly unusual many a point i have to respond to 1 our coffee is probably the most expensive around and i wouldnt charge anymore than i do.2 my partner was informed of the supposedly raw fish he did go to the table once he had finished plating up food that was ready to go which was a very short time indeed most of the food on the plates had been eaten certainly not 1 1/3 as stated and informed the customer that there would be no charge when leaving at no point was it said that no payment was to be forthcoming as already been told it was free and i was not the one to cook food as suggested all other fish cooked and served at the same time was in no way raw and upon inspecting said fish found it to be cooked .as too chairs being tatty yes i have a couple of chairs that need repairing but in no way tatty and noway was my partner gushing he mearly spoke as he would have liked to be spoken too all other customers present were shocked as they had no complaints i keep saying what i say we can not please everyone we will continue to be who we are regardless and look forward to many a repeat customer which is the majority
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J's corner also viewed

Churston Ferrers, Brixham
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing