We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Berry Head Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Quayside Hotel(Brixham)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
376
209
123
72
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
376
209
123
72
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsberry headmulberry roomsunday lunchchristmas partyresidents loungelovely lunchfish piewindow tablesea view roomsunny daystunning viewsfriendly hotelshort breakbrixham harbourbrasserieedwardlucinda
Filter
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Arriving at the impressive hotel on the cliffs at Berry Head, I was immediately struck by the fact that I was about to stay in a piece of history! A Napoleonic military hospital to be precise!
And "abide with me" was written there too! Once in the hotel, the reception staff were overwhelmingly helpful and nothing was too much trouble!
Our room, overlooking the English Riviera and Channel, was comfortable and well equipped and when we asked for an iron, it appeared within minutes.
The four course dinner was exvellent, using local produce with ample portions wonderfully executed and presented in a beautiful setting.
Restuurant staff were atteniive and unobtrusive.
The bar and Bistro have panoramic views and great food and service.
This is not a budget hotel but it is beautiful with exquisite food, history and service in a unique and romantic location.
Although at the upper end of our budget we would not hesitate to return or to recommend this English jewel to anyone because you will be treated as of you really matter!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judithveal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Having just returned from a weekend stay I found the hotel an absolute delight. The staff could not have been more helpful and without exception they were all very accommodating.The food was good, locally sourced and well presentedWe did ask for a change of rooms as the first rooms offered were a little small and poorly lit but this was easily sorted and we were very pleased with the rooms we finally stayed in. It is a joy to find a hotel that is happy to allow dogs to enjoy their holiday too !

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaxnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We got married in November 2011 here; having spent a few months discussing wedding arrangements / catering, etc with the hotel, they created an extremely special day for us, following all our instructions to perfection. Not only did we have the ceremony there (The Mulberry Room) but this was followed by a 3 course meal for just over 100 guests, then an evening disco and bacon baps. I have to say that everything was faultless.

We spent the wedding weekend at the hotel as did a number of our guests, and all of them specifically mentioned how well they were looked after not only throughout the wedding, but also throughout their stay. It wasn't just the guests that were staying at the hotel that were looked after and made to feel special; a number of guests that were there just for the wedding went out of their way to say what a spectacular location and what welcoming staff and excellent food. The catering was amazing, and they were extremely capable in dealing with those guests who had specific food requests.

The owners have created something extremely special here, and I can't recommend them enough after our experience. We're already looking forwards to celebrating our first anniversary at the hotel.

Karen Ainsworth-Smith

Room Tip: The sea views are absolutely amazing!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent a really lovely night at Berry Head for Valentines 2011. Rate was excellent and included a wonderful four course meal. Breakfast was great too. We had a nice room, nothing plush but totally fine. We had spectacular views from the patio of our sea facing room. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and just a short walk from the most picturesque town you will ever see. There is also a nice cliff top walk. Can definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed between Christmas and New Year. The hotel, staff and food were all excellent. The hotel is in a wonderful location itself with the views over Torbay suberb, both daytime and evening. It's always an issue of things to do on 'bad' days at this time of year but with Plymouth, Torquay and Dartmouth nearby we were able to make plans for all eventualities. Two minutes from the hotel entrance you're on the walk up to scenic Berry Head with its forts and lighthouse. The only slight downside for our party was the complete lack of internet access in both rooms, despite being given the password. We will stay at the hotel again but we will ask for an assurance that this has been sorted.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and have a balcony room! The quality of our room was excellent and we also had the views over Torbay.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobtig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews