We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Beautiful Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had our wedding here in June, I have been frequenting this hotel since I was a child and have wonderful memories of this place so there was no question of venue when it came to deciding where to celebrate our marriage. We didn't give ourselves much time to plan the reception but this was no problem at all, Sarah is a true professional when it comes to organising events, I felt completely reassured that everything would be just how we wanted it-and it was. Its no wonder Weddings are so popular here and they are nominated for so many various awards. The hotel owner Eddie made sure that our menu was to our exact requirements and helped out with my various random requests and last minute changes with the patience of a saint. I would like to also highlight how fabulous Eddie (manager) was, he personally made sure everything ran smoothly for us, even helped out decorating the room with us the night before-climbing up a ladder whilst I directed where I wanted the hundreds of meters of bunting to go for example :) he's a real star and it wouldn't have been the same without him. On the day it rained so hard but that didn't matter because we were all having such a great time, pimms in the library with yummy canapés on arrival, family photos in the restaurant ( tables were cleared for us as this was a great indoor location for the pics) followed by our sit down dinner in the Mulberry room. Our food was delicious-fresh fish as a main all cooked to perfection, everyone commented on how much they enjoyed it afterwards, it was 71 people to cater for and the service was impeccable. We even got some romantic photos on the rocks by the sea after dinner when the sun came out (the hotel has a little path down to the beach) we also stayed the night in a beautiful sea view balcony room-waking up to that view is unforgettable. This is THE place to get married in the bay, and I can assure any couple looking for a venue that you will not be disappointed. It was perfect-thank you XXX

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ocean82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for The Berry Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

views amazing, try to book one on the first floor with a balcony.we had a second floor room - still had an amazing view, but a balcony would have made the stay perfect.
i have never known such friendly,happy and helpful staff.
we ate in the restaurant, service great, food not quite so good. next day we ate outside ordering from the bistro menu, cheaper and with a much bigger choice- def would chose that option again.

Room Tip: book if you want to eat in the bistro- gets very busy .
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callysn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We went for a morning coffee. The weather ok a bit wet, but the view was spectacular. The staff where polite and helpful. We didn't have food, but what was coming to the tables looked good.The road leading to the hotel could do with some pot holes filling in. Could be dangerous to person or car.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venessa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Went here on a "dreadful summers day" for a lunchtime snack as my wife wanted a cream tea.
The place is beautiful with spectacular views around Torbay once the summer mist clears!
On browsing the menu we couldn't find a cream tea so my wife asked at the bar, only to be told that they don't do them! This must be the only hotel in Devon that does not do a cream tea!
With that dissapointment out the way we decided on sandwiches and although they seemed expensive at the time of ordering, we found them to be excellent value for money. They came stuffed full with a huge side salad and what seemed like a bag of crisps on the plate.
The staff who served us were excellent and well presented.
We will be back but "can we please have a cream tea next time?"

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

we expected so much of our holiday in devon this year but we have been let down by so many fooderies.This place is dated..ugly..and full of wierdo's.one guest n the 'brasserie' was quite happy to just fart in the middle of the restaurant.The food took awhile and it wasnt worth the price...the staff were nice but looked unpassonate about there surroundings.One table next too us asked for a dish that used to be on the menu and the waitress was happy to ask the chef but was then embarrased to come back as the chef had said he would cook the item but would charge double its original price!!!!! they didnt order it..who does that
Bit of a refresh needed i think and some new idea's

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shabba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear Shabba7

We are most dissapointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. Had you brought up any concerns at the time we most certainly would have addressed them. Local fresh produce does take time to cook especially if we are busy and this is a price we happily pay to ensure our food is of a good quality.

Being 250 years old and steeped in history we may come accross as dated, and indeed to look modern is the last thing we want to achieve being grade II listed. I certainly cannot understand how the building could be perceived as ugly although that is my personal opinion. We are positioned on a cliff top built from natural limestone with views covering all of Torbay and beyond. Despite being a very expensive building to staff and maintain, we try to base our pricing around other local establishments. As for doubling the price of a previous menu item, without knowing what that item is it is very difficult for me to comment other than to say we would take into account the cost of ingredients and come up with a price which we feel represents good value. It is certainly not our policy to simply double the price of items previously on our menu.
I and many regular customers find our staff very passionate about the hotel with many families working for us, high morale, and low staff turnover.
Should you decide to visit us again, please make yourselves known and we will do our utmost to ensure you enjoy yourselves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We visited this hotel twice during our holiday in Brixham. Once for Sunday lunch and once for cream tea. It is in a stunning location with beautiful views. The hotel is a bit dated but still quite charming. We where the only people eating in a big dinning room. There was 5 or 6 staff but it was still hard to get there attention. The starter was very good and the Sunday lunch adequate. Bad point, the staff stared stripping all the tables round us so we took the hint and did not stop for desert, we even took our drinks with us to finish in the bar.( not a relaxing Sunday lunch.)The bar seemed much better with a band playing and was a lot more atmospheric, I wish we had eaten in the bar. We then took the kids down the steps to play in the rock pools.
Next time we went for cream tea, We sat outside on the lovey terrace. The cream tea came out on dirty plates I took them back. I got no apology just a "do you want me to change it" We had 3 pots of tea but one had no tea bag in. The scones where nice.
We still had a nice time here as the sun was shining the kids where laughing and we had the great views, but we would think twice about returning and it really could be a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Wonderful setting overlooking Torbay with outside seating, seaview room recommended. bar and restaurant also shares these views, staff are friendly and helpful particularly the younger employees. Food is good although breakfast fried bread a little greasy and overbath shower in our room a bit weak.These are however just minor quibbles.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotswoldgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
576 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,948 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: £143 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing