We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Berry Head Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Quayside Hotel(Brixham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bulstone Hotel(Branscombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
377
209
124
73
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
377
209
124
73
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsberry headmulberry roomsunday lunchchristmas partyresidents loungelovely lunchfish piewindow tablesea view roomsunny daystunning viewsfriendly hotelshort breakbrixham harbourbrasserieedwardlucinda
Filter
Updating list...
715 - 720 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

After a beautiful day on the beach, myself and a friend decided to dine on the terrace at Berry Head Hotel. Looking at the other diners enjoying their meals we decided on 2 popular choices and were told it would be an half hour wait which was not a problem as we could spend our time chatting while taking in the beautiful views. When the meals arrived my friend found her meal Burger, chips, salad had not come with the relish or the home made coleslaw which we had witnessed with the other diners, so pointing this out with the waitress she took it back.Waiting a few minutes she came back stating they had relish but had run out of the coleslaw. Which at this point is genuine disappointing but not the end of the world. The waitress offered for the manager to speak to us. Jeff Paris finally came over 5-7 mins offered his apologies but stating the meal did not come with the coleslaw, she shared her view that this had not been the case on the other plates, when offered if she would like to chose another meal, on her response of "yes please as now this plate of food is cold" Jeff proceed to forcefully throw her plate on a near by table in despair. This creating the diners of the outside area to be now focused on our table, leaving us embarrassed and now angry that we had been made to feel belittled by this jumped up, unfriendly man. Had he forgotten his manners...yes, had he forgotten who was paying for this not so special plate of grub....yes. Suggest Jeff needs either further training in customer service or to stay in the kitchen washing up!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marka0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

For years, Trudy and I holidayed in Brixham with the children. Yes, they both learned to swim in the open air pool! We wanted to stay at the Berry head but in those days and with four of us,the budget just did not stretch. So, as a special treat on the 40th, (Ruby) we booked. Room, first class, clean crisp and bathroom just right. Food, excellent. Staff, well, they can make or break a stay and I have no complaints,honestly.
They don't call it the English Riviera for nothing. These people work hard at what they do. Go on, treat yourselves.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview, you won't be disappointed, worth the extra.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The hotel is situated on rocks at the foot of Berry Head Country Park with spectacular views across the whole of Torbay, and only a 20 minute leisurely walk into Brixham. On our arrival we received a warm and friendly welcome and were offered help to our room if we needed it. Our room (17), which was located on the first floor, overlooked the hill behind the hotel. It was fairly small and could have done with stronger lighting, but it was clean and comfortable and adequate for our needs. However the motor of the nearby lift was fairly loud, but luckily it wasn't too much of a problem in the evening. The lift noise aside, the hotel was very quiet at night. The restaurant served piping hot breakfasts, and offered a good choice of meals throughout the day. Both the restaurant and terrace offer spectacular views out to sea, and across Torbay. We found all members of staff to be very friendly and helpful, and overall had a great stay despite the weather. We would have no hesitation of returning to the BHH, but would upgrade to a slightly better room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have just got back from a week's stay at the Berry Head. Despite some very "changeable" weather, we are in no doubt that this has been one of our best holidays to date in the UK. The food has been exceptional, fantastic fish cooked to perfection; breakfasts to set you up for the day. If you have any special requests the chef is only too happy to oblige - they want their customers to go away happy and we certainly did.
Our room had a wonderful sea view, we could sit up in bed and see the sea first thing in the morning - what could be better? Having read some of the other reviews, yes the hotel is a little dated but that fits in with the period and history, which is fascinating.
For us, the best thing about Berry Head is the people, from the porter who helped with our luggage (and didn't want a tip, he said it was his job!) to the owners, who could not have been more friendly. Their daughter took the time to give us the best directions to Dartmouth. Ken, the restaurant Manager was a star, ably assisted by some lovely waitresses. The housekeeper was also very helpful, as were the receptionists and bar staff.
It's also a great base for the places we wanted to visit, such as Buckfast Abbey, Greenway (Agatha Christie's holiday home) and Coleton Fishacre, the d'Oyly Carte family home.
We were so impressed with everything about the hotel and the area that we have made a booking for another week next year.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view or coastal view; the supplement is well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocolina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I booked in here for Sunday lunch when on holiday in the area. We were seated in the bistro and not offered the chance to sit outside despite it being the best weather of the year - but we decided to stay in and enjoy the view from our table and avoid sunburn.

The views from this hotel are to die for. Even if you only pop in for a coffee on the terrace it's totally worth it!

Anyway, the hotel is pleasant if decor is a little dated - it kind of works in the location though. My mum had a Sunday carvery and thoroughly enjoyed it and I had a falafel dish with extra chips (I so didn't need those, the meal was massive) - it was a reasonable price, the service was pleasant and friendly and the view - did I mention the view?

Highly recommended for a visit just to soak in the vista!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winter-st*r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews