We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do like to be beside the seaside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
berks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I do like to be beside the seaside”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Berry Head Hotel and it was excellent .Wehose a superior balcony room which gave us a splendid view of Brixham Harbour and Torbay behind .It was delightful to watch the comings and goings from the harbour. The room was clean well furnished and very comfortable We booked on a half board basis and dined in the resataurant and the food was of a good quality .We never ate in the Brasserie bar but it was always busy and they served a well kept pint of beer The terrace on a sunny day is very popular although there is a separate area uside for residents should the terrace get yoo busy ..The staff couldn't have tried harder to make our stay a pleasant one . My only niffle was that the wine in the restaurant was a noticeably nore expensive than that in the bar
We shall probably return some time

Room Tip: Go for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    172
    112
    67
    35
See reviews for
194
305
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

after a long drive we had a warm welcome and were given a choice of a family room or adjoining twins. our room was clean and well stocked with coffee tea etc. the bathroom was clean with lots of towels and a fair selection of toileteries. we opted for the barbeque that evening on the terrace but was quite disapponted by the quality of the food - it was not good value for money. However, the breakfast next morning was much better - even when we sent back the smoked haddock as it was overcooked it was dealt with politely and efficiently. the coffee however was pretty dire and i can only recommend that they invest in a new machine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed recently for three nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast arrangement. We paid extra for a sea view and balcony room and enjoyed the wonderful views across the whole of Torbay. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable however the decor was dated and the shower was not very powerful and the temperature fluctuated in the morning. The food we experienced on the first night in the restaurant was initially quite acceptable,but then the main courses arrived. These were of a very poor standard, including the accompanying vegetables. After this we took our evening meals in the bar/brasserie. The food served here was of a better standard but limited in choice. Also at breakfast one morning I chose the haddock with a poached egg as I had seen another resident have this the day before so thought I knew what to expect, wrong. My breakfast was a piece of haddock no bigger than a fish finger, and a poached egg on the side which was bigger than the fish. It seemed as if the food was on ration that morning as another person with us had requested mushrooms and was served one half of a flat mushroom. I was so annoyed I sent it back, the waitress told me that the chef had been informed. No apology was made whatsoever. From speaking to local contacts it is obvious that the food is not always of an acceptable standard. These issues were brought to the attention of the owner during our stay. We would not recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marytee928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotor, Montenegro
Level Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have been regular customers at the Sunday lunch jazz at The Berry Head for many years and whilst the location and view are pretty unbeatable, the service and jazz offering has become decidedly stale of late.
Whereas there used to be a variety of jazz artists appearing on a roatation basis on a Sunday, there seems to be just one band now that appears every week. The 2 musicians are OK but once the singer starts her dreary renditions of classic jazz numbers the customers start their departures - us included. Every song is sung in a similar manner with very little regard for the correct tempo, words and audience. When the singer keeps looking at her watch to see how long she has left to perform many of the customers are willing the time away as well.
There seemed to be plenty of waiting staff behind the bar - I wonder if this was a safe haven for some of them to avoid work? - and very little evidence that they were venturing outside to clear tables or offer any type of service. At one point what appeared to be a customer started to clear tables inside and out - I think this lady may have been employed at the hotel as she did a sterling job and compensated well for the less than enthusiastic staff.
It's not all bad - the food we ordered was good and prices are OK. Chips were a bit on the cool side though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

After a beautiful day on the beach, myself and a friend decided to dine on the terrace at Berry Head Hotel. Looking at the other diners enjoying their meals we decided on 2 popular choices and were told it would be an half hour wait which was not a problem as we could spend our time chatting while taking in the beautiful views. When the meals arrived my friend found her meal Burger, chips, salad had not come with the relish or the home made coleslaw which we had witnessed with the other diners, so pointing this out with the waitress she took it back.Waiting a few minutes she came back stating they had relish but had run out of the coleslaw. Which at this point is genuine disappointing but not the end of the world. The waitress offered for the manager to speak to us. Jeff Paris finally came over 5-7 mins offered his apologies but stating the meal did not come with the coleslaw, she shared her view that this had not been the case on the other plates, when offered if she would like to chose another meal, on her response of "yes please as now this plate of food is cold" Jeff proceed to forcefully throw her plate on a near by table in despair. This creating the diners of the outside area to be now focused on our table, leaving us embarrassed and now angry that we had been made to feel belittled by this jumped up, unfriendly man. Had he forgotten his manners...yes, had he forgotten who was paying for this not so special plate of grub....yes. Suggest Jeff needs either further training in customer service or to stay in the kitchen washing up!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marka0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

For years, Trudy and I holidayed in Brixham with the children. Yes, they both learned to swim in the open air pool! We wanted to stay at the Berry head but in those days and with four of us,the budget just did not stretch. So, as a special treat on the 40th, (Ruby) we booked. Room, first class, clean crisp and bathroom just right. Food, excellent. Staff, well, they can make or break a stay and I have no complaints,honestly.
They don't call it the English Riviera for nothing. These people work hard at what they do. Go on, treat yourselves.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview, you won't be disappointed, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
751 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The hotel is situated on rocks at the foot of Berry Head Country Park with spectacular views across the whole of Torbay, and only a 20 minute leisurely walk into Brixham. On our arrival we received a warm and friendly welcome and were offered help to our room if we needed it. Our room (17), which was located on the first floor, overlooked the hill behind the hotel. It was fairly small and could have done with stronger lighting, but it was clean and comfortable and adequate for our needs. However the motor of the nearby lift was fairly loud, but luckily it wasn't too much of a problem in the evening. The lift noise aside, the hotel was very quiet at night. The restaurant served piping hot breakfasts, and offered a good choice of meals throughout the day. Both the restaurant and terrace offer spectacular views out to sea, and across Torbay. We found all members of staff to be very friendly and helpful, and overall had a great stay despite the weather. We would have no hesitation of returning to the BHH, but would upgrade to a slightly better room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
546 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing