We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mother's Day lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Mother's Day lunch”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Went for a Mother's Day lunch with my family and my In-Laws. 3 courses, with the main course being a carvery. All 3 courses were fantastic, with plenty of meat for the main, and despite the hotel being VERY busy the service was excellent.
The hotel is also in a great location, although the weather somewhat spoiled the views today sadly.
Will definitely be going back.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your review
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    172
    112
    67
    35
See reviews for
194
305
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I spent a fantastic weekend break which included a valentines dinner and disco, the hotel is very homely and very relaxed with the most amazing views. We were lucky enough to have a room with a spectacular view right across Torbay (room 9), the room was very spacious and beautifully clean, having a dry and sunny weekend in Feb in very rare so we made the most of our balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your review
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were looking for a short beak on the south coast and saw the hotel advert - 3 nights for price of 2. It was wonderful value with a lovely large room, exceptional food and a delightful
staff. We enjoyed every meal without exception. We ate in the main restaurant each night but
we could have eaten in the bistro for a change. A pleasant easy walk along the coast into Brixham.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Third year running down with friends. Never disappointed with food, service, dinner dance and ambience generally of hotel. It is a one-off and we will return next year. Two day break amazing value and so much to do close by. Blessed with beautiful weather again this year. Thank you Berry Head for another great weekend at this beautiful location.

Room Tip: We had inland rooms this year because late booking. Sea view best for views and quiet relaxation, es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We took advantage of their winter break 3night package & ended up wanting to re- visit in hopefully warmer days.
This hotel offers a warm relaxed feel with a cosy bar (apart from a few draughts!) & friendly staff, most of whom are local to the area & want you to enjoy their hospitality.
The table d'hote menu which was included in the price of our stay offered good choice & excellent value for money. There was a wide choice from the breakfast buffet of the usual cereal ,fruit etc as well as a cooked breakfast if you wanted it. Service was quick & courteous but the restaurant was not at all busy due to the atrocious weather gripping most of the country with snow.
Our room (with coastal views which comes as a supplement),was comfortable & supplied with plenty of hot drink sachets as well as biscuits daily which were more than welcome!
We had the pool to ourselves one late afternoon which was a great way to relax after battling the elements walking back from Brixham. (A lovely walk in fine weather!) We did however see the sun on one day & were chuffed to spot a seal popping his head up in Brixham harbour.
Thanks to the staff at The Berry Head Hotel for taking the chill out of a couple of bleak January days.

Room Tip: There's little to see apart from the car park at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KentUKSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Tried the Hotel's 'dip and dine' bargain yesterday. A swim and lunch for £10. Seemed like a good deal. Arrived at the hotel at ten to twelve. Swim ok, then bar for lunch at one o'clock. The waiter came to our table immediately and took our drinks and meal order - we ordered the goats cheese tartlet with salad and chips. At that time there were only about a dozen customers in the bar. About twenty minutes later a large party of men arrived and a group of four on a table close to us. We waited and waited and queried the meal with a waitress and were then astounded that the meals began to arrive for the large group of men and then the four people who had all arrived after us. The waitress seemed to think we were being unreasonable and told us that we had only been waiting for forty-five minutes. Apparently they had to cook these tarts from total scratch. If she'd said they'd lost the order and apologized you could have understood it, but no, the fault was ours! When the meal was finally served can you believe that when we said thank you, the waiter actually said, "no problem." I was too gobsmacked to speak. So, if you go for lunch at the Berry Head, make sure you have no afternoon appointments - and take a good book with you, or two.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your review,
Everything is cooked fresh to order so sometimes orders placed after others can be received first as some things take longer to cook than others ... a small price to pay we say to have freshly cooked food. a forty five minute wait however is certainly unusual for us especially if it isn't busy.
I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience

Regards E J Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed at the Hotel 18th, 19th Jan 2013. The weather forecast for the weekend was snow snow and possibly more snow. On arrival reception staff quickly checked us in and provided an excellent room with a beautiful view and one of the most comfortable Hotel beds we have slept in. Could not fault anyone we met at the Hotel, always cheerful and helpful. Used the pool facility as the weather outside although no snow wasn't great. Our package included an evening meal which was exceptional, (Now need to diet for a week). Previous comments about dated furnishing I must disagree with, as we felt they were complimentary with the character with the property. I must thank all the staff for a peaceful and relaxing weekend.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Room with a view, better still a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RWJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
546 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing