We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RNLI Supper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Berry Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
brixham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RNLI Supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The recent RNLI Supper here was excellent. Food and staff first class as usual. The Brixham Ukulele band ( Who gave their services free of charge) were better than many professional bands. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_sBrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the food and staff it is lovely to hear and i shall pass them on!
Kind Regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    159
    108
    62
    31
See reviews for
175
288
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I travel up and down the country with work, I was told check out the Berry Head Hotel
It could not have been better, the views of the coast are fantastic
The staff are wonderful and nothing was to much trouble, quality food.
I can't wait to stay with them again

Thank you

Brian ((Lancashire)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundtable187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Brian
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us your comments mean so much to the staff and we would love to welcome you back to the Berry Head Hotel soon !
Kind Regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASTONBURY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you want rugged coastline, coastal walks, picturesque harbour and a fantastic view from a sunny terrace with your G &T, then this is the place for you!
The Berry Head Hotel is beautiful, perfectly located close enough to walk to Brixham harbour with numerous places to eat at lunchtime, then stroll back along the coast path for a pre-dinner drink on the lovely terrace looking across the bay to Torquay, the view is stunning. Or you can hike up to Berry Head itself to walk off your breakfast, where you can see the coastline the other way, the cliffs are spectacular.

The restaurant has the same view as the terrace, breakfast is excellent, great choice all beautifully cooked, as is the dinner menu, all food is fresh and tasty, my only criticism is the restaurant lacks atmosphere in the evening, lights a little too bright, maybe some candles and a few lamps for a more subtle feel.

The Staff at the hotel are lovely, they are all very busy and efficient but still have time for a friendly chat. (Special mention for Debbie, Ann, Victoria, Ken and Paul in the bar).
Our room was a little compact and had no view, but then we only booked a couple of days before we went. It was bright, clean and comfy.

The pool is not huge, but nice for a dip before dinner, or a jaccuzzi to ease your aching muscles after your hike.

We had a really good weekend. Thank you . Sue & Jerry xx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and I agree that the lighting in the restaurant is a little bright it is due to us "going Green" and changing to the energy saving lamps which we could not dim. thankfully we have been working on it and have found a dimmable lamp now and certainly should have candles lit so hopefully when we welcome you back this will be improved!
kind regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We are local to the area and before I had my own children I would take my teenage neice and nephew swimming at the Berry Head regularly, at £4 per head for such a small pool it was a bit pricey but nice and quiet so worth it. I was looking forward to taking my 10 month old twins for a dip and thought that like most hotels I have been to and indeed most swimming areas that there would be a concession for children under 3 years of age. Imagine my shock when I called up to check only to be told that babies are charged the price of an adult to use the pool!

I have no issues with the Berry Head Hotel itself but it seems more than a little cheeky to charge so much even if the guest is a non-resident. I don't think I will be coming for a swim anytime soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketzthesmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review.
We have charged the same price for seven years in our pool without increase, and always charged the same for babies due to them having the same cost to us in terms of demand on chemicals etc, however I understand your point that many places charge less for youngsters therefore from now on children under 12 are charged at a pound below the adult price. Thankyou for commenting because without comments like yours we cannot improve !
we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just spent a fantastic week at the hotel. Got married on Wednesday and cannot praise the staff enough for the way we were looked after
Nothing was too much trouble from them on the day and Edward the assistant manager was fantastic even joining in by singing for us on the day

The food was excellent all week
but on the wedding day outstanding

Thanks everyone at the hotel for making our week and more importantly the wedding day very special

Dave @ Lisa x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daftbatBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Dave and Lisa
Thank you so much for spending your special day with us. It was a pleasure to look after you and I personally had a lot of fun with your wedding party, I don't normally end up singing !
it will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back
Kind regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Went to a wedding at this hotel at the end of August 2013. It was a fantastic event made perfect by excellent weather and very empathetic Registrar.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and perfectly suited for such an event with superb views across Torbay with ongoing boat movements on the water, both leisure and commercial as Brixham is a very busy fishing port.
We were provided with a fish BBQ which perfectly reflected the local economy and this was excellent. The staff were unobtrusive and yet very attentivew, and the organisation of getting 50+ guests to join a queue to get their food without any lengthy waiting was seamless.
Apart from the hotel's efforts, the evening entertainment by the live band was out of this world which helped to make the event so memorable - as was the unidvited fly past by an Air Sea Rescue helicopter - who was that winchman waving so heartily?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDevonNo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review it means so much to all of us ! I am glad that you enjoyed the BBQ we certainly had the weather for it this summer. We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were looking forward to a pre booked Sunday birthday lunch here but, although the food was ok, the service was terrible.
We finally aborted at 3 .30 without having our table cleared or offered a dessert or coffee.
The staff were very offhand and, in one instance, actually rude. This senior member of the dining staff attempted to fill a water glass from across the table (completely unnecessarily) and splashed it all over the table when the ice tumbled out, narrowly missing my lap. Not a single word of apology. He merely picked up my napkin and made a token attempt of mopping up and when the paper was soaked, he left the table drenched. Not impressed!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review it means a lot to us as it always helps us to improve. I am glad you enjoyed the food. I apologise for the manner in which a member of staff came across, we have dealt with this situation and on no occasion should a member of staff behave in this way. I hope it has not put you off returning because there are some lovely people on our team. I am so sorry that this was not the experience you had.
Kind regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
4.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing