We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comments after our 19th stay at Berry Head Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We first stayed at BHH in June 2000, how wonderful, we then got married there in the Library in July 2001, a long way to travel from Wiltshire, but well worth it! We have been back each year since then, some years more than once. We always try to return to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, missing only one year due to health reasons. We have also visited for several New Year parties in the Mulberry suite, which have been the most superb celebrations. The Valentines Dinner/Dances are also lovely occasions and very well organised, every couple is made to feel special, how often would you get that attention these days? Our last visit was July 2013, and we feel it was one of the best. Over the years we have come to know the proprietors and many of the long serving staff, they are friendly, hardworking and yet still so professional. There is an old fashioned attention to detail which is very apparent from the moment you arrive. The hotel is warm & comfortable in winter, and sunny with breathtaking views in summer. The dining room is romantic and restful. We feel it is the most wonderful place at all times of year where we feel truly relaxed! Keep up the good work Berry Head Hotel!

Lynne & John Edwards (Swindon)

Room Tip: coastal view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Lynne and John
Thank you for your comments they mean so much to the staff at the hotel. It is of course always a pleasure to look after you and hope to welcome you back very soon
Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for The Berry Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Thank you for a lovely lunch today. The service was great with the staff going the extra mile to accommodate our needs. Our elderly mother wanted some chocolate sauce on her ice cream. It wasn't on the menu, but the chef made it for her. Never known that before. Make sure you leave a little extra space for pudding. My pudding was one of the best I have ever had. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank hawkwind1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is a pleasure to read. I am so glad you enjoyed your lunch and I shall of course pass your comments on to the staff! Please do make yourselves known when you return

Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Over the years we have learned to take hotel reviews with a pinch of salt. The recent complaint about £70 per person for bed and breakfast is an excellent example. What a bed! What a breakfast! Even the bathroom was above normal size with a bath AND a shower. Yes, and piping hot water too. Through the window we could see green lawns with Torbay palms, pampas grass and a sea view stretching into the distance, even though we weren't paying for one! Your reviewer doesn't mention the walled garden with the biggest mulberry tree we have ever seen, nor the ample parking or the kind offer to help us with our baggage. How often does one get that these days? We struggled to find "electrical items that struggled to work properly" Could he mean a light switch, or was it the excellent hair drier which we found in a drawer?
Our room in this wonderful old building was, I suppose, on the small side, but we were only passing the night after a local function, so it was ample. While planning our next visit, I admit we did peep into the empty room no 8, to find a more spacious, airy room with a large balcony and yes, another sea view. this would have cost us a few more pounds, but we know hotels not a million miles away, who would charge three or four times as much, and they don't offer to help with your bags!
So well done, Berry Head Hotel and your brilliant staff. We learnt during our stay that the great Hymn "Abide with Me" was written by a previous owner of the house. At the risk of being accused of a pun, we will certainly abide with you again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Tony

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We do pass Tripadvisor comments on to the staff and they will be pleased to read them

Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel has the potential to be something very special. It is in a superb position, close to Brixham centre with stunning views across Torbay; the service is superb with helpful, friendly and efficient staff; and the food we sampled in the restaurant and at the function we attended was excellent. Sadly this does not compensate for the failings.
The room rates are simply too expensive for the accommodation on offer. The double room with sea view that we stayed in was very small with cheap furniture, tired decor and electrical items that struggled to work properly. It had also only been superficially cleaned. The bathroom had similarly cheap, old-fashioned fittings and the hot water each morning was only lukewarm. Despite these failings we paid £140 per night for bed and breakfast in October.
At these prices people have a right to expect much better quality accommodation than is on offer. With some serious investment it would be a real gem but as it is you leave feeling disappointed that you have been overcharged. What a shame!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DLJC-WXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review.
The staff will be pleased that you found them friendly and helpful.
I apologise if you found a couple of things not up to standard in the rooms, we are unfortunately unable to make them bigger as it is a listed building, and permision to do so is not allowed by English Heritage. They do however exceed minimums for 3 * standard in terms of size, and our prices are based on other similar properties in the area. We have a rolling program of refurbishment employing 2 full time staff who refurbish bedrooms and bathrooms which im sure you will agree has to be done in a sympathetic way towards the building and of course takes time. I apologise if the room was not cleaned well enough and you found a problem with an electrical item. If you would like to tell me details personally it would be very helpful. As a family business it is our personal aim to constantly improve, therefore thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards
Edward Bnce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Me and my husband, Ron, decided to go for some afternoon tea over at the hotel as we had heard some positive feedback. So on Saturday the 21st of September 2013 we took the voyage to the spectacular Berry Head Hotel! The tea and scones were eccentric! Everything was so clean and tidy; all of the waiters and waitresses were very polite (especially Katie at the bar, and Amber and Jacob in the brasserie), the service was very quick, even though it was a busy day!

We really enjoyed our afternoon and would definitely recommend the hotel to a friend! Thank you very much and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review !
Our scones are home made each day so hopefully are some of the best !
I shall let the staff involved know your lovely comments. Please do make yourself known next time you visit
Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights at the end of September - sea facing rooms were clean, had great views over the bay and it was lovely to hear the sea at night - however the food and the bathrooms ( struggled to get hot water in any useful quantity) were all from a different age and felt tired and old fashioned. It is such a lovely location and seems to have a very loyal elderly following, but a little updating could make it even more attractive to a wider range of guest. Friendly service though!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.
The staff will be very pleased to hear them. I apologise for the lack of hot water. This is ordinaraly not a problem although i understand from our engineer that one of the boilers had partially & intermittently failed meaning that the water during peak times was not as hot as usual. It is of course now repaired and I apologise for any inconvenience. With an old (listed) building such as ours it is difficult to restore and refurbish sympatheticaly we dont want to be high fashion, it wouldnt suit us so we have a full time team of 2 who constantly refurbish bedrooms bathrooms and public areas in a traditional fashion. The food in our Restaurant is of a traditional silver served style which some people like. The food in our Bistro is served with more of a modern twist. If you would like to expand on your comments I would certainly find it helpful.
Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Recently stayed at Berry Head hotel for 5 nights. Overall our stay was good having booked sea view rooms with balcony, the views are stunning out to sea and all along the coastline.We ate in the Brasserie on our first night, which was very disappointing, with inedible fish, tough steak wrongly cooked and cold chips, however food did improve later in week, but we did eat out on two nights. Breakfast was very good most mornings and staff were very pleasant. The overall decoration is rather tired and needs a facelift in some areas, but the housekeeping was excellent in our room, clean fluffy towels every day!!. We felt some staff members have the wrong attitude with their guests, a smile costs nothing.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must have.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we certainly appreciate feedback as it helps us to improve! I am so sorry you did not enjoy the food in the bistro on the first night. If you could expand on why and perhaps the date you ate I could comment more, but I assure you and as you found out on subsequent evenings it is certainly not the "norm" but sometimes things can go wrong and for that I apologise. we do have a rolling program of refurbishment, however we always do things in a traditional way at the Berry Head due to the nature of the location and building. I apologise if any of our team were not friendly and aproachable as you said yourselves a smile does cost nothing ! However if you would like to please feel free to send more detailed feedback It would be very helpful
Kind Regards Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
576 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,951 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: £143 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing