We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have eaten at the hotel many times over the last 20 years, but stayed for the first time on a cheap one night deal on the spur of the moment. We would have felt very overcharged had we paid the full rate.
What the place has going for it is the most fantastic location. And I am aware it is a family firm without the benefit of huge investment: boutique it certainly isn't.
But notwithstanding all that, the whole place felt a little slack - waiting staff were pushed for time, but were also lingering to natter to friends, food in the bar is acceptable cheapish pub food. Room we stayed in needed some draught excluder round the windows. Bathroom didn't have a proper shower head - not really on in 2013.
.... on the other hand, on a sunny day, their patio is one of the loveliest places in the UK.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your comments, without them we cannot improve. We do not try to be a boutique hotel, we are currently rated at the very top of the 3* category. As a family business we invest far more than a big company ever could, a big company can only invest money we can invest money and personality and attention to detail to meet our customers needs. I am sorry you thought the staff were a little slack we do encourage the staff to be friendly with regular customers however if they were nattering amongst themselves this is of course unacceptable, and I shall be monitoring it. The bathrooms are all being upgraded with separate thermostatic over showers at the moment, we have already done 75% of rooms and the rest will be completed hopefully over January and February. I am sorry you did not find the bistro menu overly exciting, there is of course the Restaurant for something a little different and perhaps more formal. I am very glad you enjoy the terrace in the summer it is lovely especially with a cream tea !
Kind regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Chose to have a surprise 60th birthday party for my mum at the BHH. So pleased I did. All the guests said what an amazing venue it was, both location and accessibility. Lots of parking. Staff were amazingly helpful including helping me when I ran out of ribbon for the balloons! So friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Organisation was easy and communication was excellent. Cannot recommend this venue highly enough for your choice of a celebration venue. Food was amazing, rooms comfortable, and lots of things for people to do including a swimming pool!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room if you can, the views are just outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from a night at this hotel which was recommended to us by friends. Unfortunately I do not think the recommendation will be passed on by ourselves. Whilst the rooms were very clean and comfortable, the food was a bit of a let down. We had dinner bed and breakfast. The starters and desserts had lots of choices but the main course had a very limited choice. We choice the veal which we needed a steak knife to cut as it was so tough. I personally had the cod fillet which was very dry. I did complain about the veal and the kind waitress did everything she could to rectify the situation. The service too was poor.

Breakfast was lovely but the gentleman taking the order had a black jacket on which was flithy!!! It was enough to put you off your food. I was going to say something but never did as I could not believe he would be allowed in a restaurant with a jacket that was not clean!! but as I said the breakfast was very nice. Unfortunately the carpet was not cleaned from the previous evening. There were crumbs around our table from the occupants of the previous night .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blakey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Been going to the Berry Head hotel on and off for years for drinks and snacks,decided to have a proper meal for a change,we were not let down,the food service staff were all excellent,will be having more meal treats at the Berry Head hotel,roll on the summer,a meal on the terrace with its fantastic view is on the cards!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We always ensure that we can do the best to accommodate the needs of our guests, wherther it be for a drink, a Cream Tea, or lunch or Dinner, or whatever the occasion. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Geoff Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We first stayed at BHH in June 2000, how wonderful, we then got married there in the Library in July 2001, a long way to travel from Wiltshire, but well worth it! We have been back each year since then, some years more than once. We always try to return to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, missing only one year due to health reasons. We have also visited for several New Year parties in the Mulberry suite, which have been the most superb celebrations. The Valentines Dinner/Dances are also lovely occasions and very well organised, every couple is made to feel special, how often would you get that attention these days? Our last visit was July 2013, and we feel it was one of the best. Over the years we have come to know the proprietors and many of the long serving staff, they are friendly, hardworking and yet still so professional. There is an old fashioned attention to detail which is very apparent from the moment you arrive. The hotel is warm & comfortable in winter, and sunny with breathtaking views in summer. The dining room is romantic and restful. We feel it is the most wonderful place at all times of year where we feel truly relaxed! Keep up the good work Berry Head Hotel!

Lynne & John Edwards (Swindon)

Room Tip: coastal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Lynne and John
Thank you for your comments they mean so much to the staff at the hotel. It is of course always a pleasure to look after you and hope to welcome you back very soon
Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Thank you for a lovely lunch today. The service was great with the staff going the extra mile to accommodate our needs. Our elderly mother wanted some chocolate sauce on her ice cream. It wasn't on the menu, but the chef made it for her. Never known that before. Make sure you leave a little extra space for pudding. My pudding was one of the best I have ever had. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank hawkwind1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is a pleasure to read. I am so glad you enjoyed your lunch and I shall of course pass your comments on to the staff! Please do make yourselves known when you return

Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Over the years we have learned to take hotel reviews with a pinch of salt. The recent complaint about £70 per person for bed and breakfast is an excellent example. What a bed! What a breakfast! Even the bathroom was above normal size with a bath AND a shower. Yes, and piping hot water too. Through the window we could see green lawns with Torbay palms, pampas grass and a sea view stretching into the distance, even though we weren't paying for one! Your reviewer doesn't mention the walled garden with the biggest mulberry tree we have ever seen, nor the ample parking or the kind offer to help us with our baggage. How often does one get that these days? We struggled to find "electrical items that struggled to work properly" Could he mean a light switch, or was it the excellent hair drier which we found in a drawer?
Our room in this wonderful old building was, I suppose, on the small side, but we were only passing the night after a local function, so it was ample. While planning our next visit, I admit we did peep into the empty room no 8, to find a more spacious, airy room with a large balcony and yes, another sea view. this would have cost us a few more pounds, but we know hotels not a million miles away, who would charge three or four times as much, and they don't offer to help with your bags!
So well done, Berry Head Hotel and your brilliant staff. We learnt during our stay that the great Hymn "Abide with Me" was written by a previous owner of the house. At the risk of being accused of a pun, we will certainly abide with you again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Tony

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We do pass Tripadvisor comments on to the staff and they will be pleased to read them

Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
347 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: £105 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing