We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boxing Day lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Mulberry Room looked wonderful - beautifully decorated. We ordered from the menu, although the carvery looked very good. We were astonished at how quickly we were served - the service staff were brilliant. The meals were perfect. Well done the Berry Head Hotel - they do cater very well for functions or very large numbers which there certainly were on Boxing day.
Well done in particular to Kay who looked after us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I visit the Berry Head Hotel regularly, throughout the year it is an absolute treat to sample the fine foods and wines available. The menus are delightful, food exquisite and the service exceptional.
My last visit was on Boxing Day, for lunch, we where shown into the Mulberry Restaurant, the room was beautifully decorated, the carvery second to none.
Afterward we had drinks in the bar and enjoyed the pianist who recited classics which where enjoyed by all.
I highly recommend this delightful hotel for drinks, food and probably the best views of Brixham and Torbay

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Antsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife took me to this hotel last evening for my birthday, we were greeted at reception with a warm welcome, we then sat in the residence lounge which had a glowing fire and well decorated. Our 3 course meal was really nice and the service from the staff was great. We have been in the hospitality business for over 30 years. Well done to our waitress Sarah.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggy507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Berry Head Hotel is positively our favourite place to stay in England. It's fair to say that we are "Holiday Junkies", but having stayed in many hotels in England and Abroad, I can recommend the Berry Head.
1. The Cuisine is excellent
2. Rooms Clean and Comfortable
3. Staff are unbelievable, and always pleasant and friendly
4 This is a family owned hotel in which the owners, management and staff always try to ensure that you have a wonderful stay.
After having been dissapointed this year at french and spanish hotels we've booked our summer stay at the Berry Head.

Well done you guys, see you soon!

Room Tip: Sea views are great, but if not it's a fantastic place to stay anyhow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We recently visited this hotel for one night, that was more than long enough, the room had a fantastic view and was clean the bed comfortable, the bathroom was dated but again clean. The problem arose with the quality of the food. I have been a salesman for more years than I care to remember staying in hotels on a very regular bases. We had a party of ten people for the evening meal five were hotel residents & my brother and his family who live nearby in Brixham. Of the tem meals served three were poor, five were very poor and the remaining two were the worst meals I have seen presented at any hotel in the last ten to fifteen years. On checking out all the guest complained at reception, but the manager was unavailable. He has not phoned during the last two days to enquire how they could improve the service. If you must to stay at this Hotel be prepared to go into Brixham to eat, where there a number of very good restaurants.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Richard C
We were given an email address on which to respond to your complaint by a member of your party upon checkout which we duly did. On this email I apologised for the fact you did not enjoy your meal and went into detail about the points raised. I am glad you found the room clean and comfortable, although i am somewhat surprised you scored us 1 star on value when you booked an inland room on a late deal at half the usual price, and were given a complimentary upgrade to a seaview room on arrival. Nothing of your dissatisfaction with the food was said on the evening when your table was checked, at which point we could have easily rectified any situation. I could not meet with you on the morning after at reception because I was having a meeting with an undercover hotel inspector who ate in the bistro the same night as you. He and the other 16 people we served that night could do nothing but praise us for the food we served. I apologise that you did not enjoy yours.
Kind Regards EJ Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Berry Head for a family get together.
Good points:
Fabulous location with amazing views
Very friendly staff
Very clean rooms and good quality towels
Cosy lounge
Dealt with request to move to a bigger room very well
Breakfast was very good although the buffet table looked quite old fashioned and so unappetising but the cooked breakfast was good quality.

Bad points:
duvet cover did not fit duvet - inexcusable really
Very small and thin duvet for the huge bed
Tired and cheap looking furnishings in some parts of the hotel. Doors in particular are very drab.
Boring food in the restaurant - like going back 30 years and the room was cold compared to the rest of the hotel.
poor shower (although clearly quite new)
Hotel was quite monopolised by a wedding party particularly during the sat afternoon so an elderly relative had to sit in the hall as the lounge was being wholly used by the wedding party. This sorted itself out later on when the party moved to a function room but not sure they should allow weddings to use public areas to the exclusion of other guests who have equally paid to stay at the hotel.
Agree with other reviewer that steps to car park do need to be lit.

It is appreciated that this is a family run hotel and there is a gradual programme of improvements. I would return to sit on patio and have a cream tea but not to use the restaurant or to stay.

Room Tip: If the size of bed is important to you make sure you request a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devonlady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you had a comfortable stay.
The lighting on the steps was organised the very day it was suggested it should be brighter and a week later we have new lighting on the steps. approximately half of the hotel has new bedroom furniture, we are replacing the rest currently and took delivery of a further two bedrooms last week. I apologise if the duvet cover didn't fit properly it has been noted that on some of the king size beds the covers are not quite long enough by a couple of inches and we have been in contact with our laundry about this and are awaiting a suitable solution. the breakfast buffet is being replaced in January when our new restaurant carpet and chairs come. the doors we are considering replacing on rooms as well , you are right that if they were white or brighter it would greatly enhance the corridors. weddings do not ordinarily use the residents lounge but it was on this occasion required for a photograph shoot, there are other sofa areas in the bar / bistro areas, I apologise that your relative sat in the corridor although I believe our front of house manager found you somewhere to sit together. If you enjoy a more modern dining experience the bistro is more tailored for your needs. the restaurant is indeed a silver service traditional table'd'hote restaurant which we feel still has a place as many customers enjoy it.
Without your comments we cannot improve which as a family concern is all we strive to do so thank you for your comments.
Kind regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I am surprised to see standards slipping at the Berry Head, although as non-residents and only a regular who visits their bistro a couple of times a week, this probably wouldn't be the owner's priority! We have mentioned to the manager that the lighting from the car park down the stairs to the hotel entrance has been a concern of ours as it is extremely dark and possibly dangerous, but nothing has been done to address this. Also, although we are in the the cold winter months, the fire in the bistro is only lit on one side meaning that the bistro area on the whole is a little on the cold side. I feel the owner's could do a little more to ensure the comfort of visitors (particularly regulars)! I welcome your comments on this.. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank travellerCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. It is a shame you think standards are slipping because we make a not inconsiderable investment back into the property each year. When the steps to the car park were suggested as not being bright enough, we phoned the electrician the very next day, and a week later new lighting is installed as a supplement to the original lighting, although we are restricted on levels and direction of exterior lighting being in a conservation area. we have also installed additional lighting to the top car park and the rotunda car park. I am sorry only one side of the bar fire was lit, it is fully functional and I can only assume that this is an oversight. The building being over 250 years old, built from solid stone, and restricted from having double glazing being grade 2 listed is not the easiest to heat. We do have heating on 24/7 during the winter months and additional heating is available on request in the form of electric fires should they be required. The bistro and regular customers are far from the bottom of our priority list. it is our "shop window" that everybody sees and needs to be right, therefore we need your comments to improve. Thank you
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,016 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: £108 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing