We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel recommended”
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We had a 4 night stay at the Berry Head Hotel. We booked a room with a sea view on the second floor. The staff were friendly and polite at all times. As there is no lift, we asked for help with our baggage, and our bags were taken promptly to our room. The bed was comfortable, however the pillows were not but as I am fussy about my pillow I always take my own so this was not a problem. The bathroom, toiletries and hospitality tray provision was adequate. Breakfast was good and we booked dinner in the hotel each night. There are two restauarnts, one in the bar area and the main restaurant. The bar restaurant was always crowded as it seems to attract non-residents. We took our dinner in the main restaurant and there was always a table available. We found the menu to be very good, the food was well cooked and well presented. The restaurant staff were professional and helpful. If you stay at this hotel, request a room with a sea view and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank SMR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    181
    117
    69
    41
See reviews for
213
316
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, Essex - GB
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The Hotel had a great location with great view's over the bay. The hotel was quite dated. Our room was small with a lot of furniture in it, but the room was clean.
We had half board, the evening meal was a dissapointment. Very tired looking fruit for starters & dry fish & under done vegtables for the main course. The resturant smelt of boiled cabbage.

Breakfast was ok, but the same tired fruit was on display again.

  • Disliked — Small Room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Always interesting reading these reviews and how experiences differ....
I emailed the hotel, and promptly received a brochure in the post and even a follow up call a couple of days later!

The room whilst not huge, was wll furnished and comfortable, the food especially the fresh fish platter was very good.

Have booked a family weekend reunion in October on the strength of this, and looking forward to it..

Oh by the way.....absolutely stunning location.

  • Liked — The view, thew atmosphere and the food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happyblueLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

My wife and I stayed there for four nights in May 2008 and had very mixed feelings about the place. It's in a great location and relaxing on the terrace overlooking Torbay is a pleasant experience.
The bar and bistro are busy and welcoming but you have to be quick to get a table for dinner as the place fills up within minutes.
Service and food was variable, ranging from good to awful.
Staff were generally very pleasant and helpful but the food was poor on two occasions.
Room service was good and the room was clean. However, the appliances were either old or didn't work. These sort of details can usually be overlooked but we thought they could have done better considering the amount charged.
Having said all this, the hotel has a lot going for it and we wouldn't rule it out for a one-nighter again some time.
PS
How rude of that other reviewer to suggest that people who see this hotel as less than perfect should stay at home. There is nothing wrong with constructive critisism and expecting perfection. After all, we pay for it with perfect money don't we?

  • Liked — The view and the bar.
  • Disliked — The exhausting walk to the room.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank theguyonthenexttable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

We have just returned from a weekend break at The Berry Head Hotel. We were given room 10, this room must be the smallest room that I have ever stayed in, it would be very small if it were a single room but this room is classed as a double even though it cannot be more than about 8 feet across.

The room is also in urgent need of refurbishment and decoration as the wallpaper is pealing off the ceiling and the dire green bathroom suite is very dated.

This is a shame because this is a very nice hotel with wonderful views all-round, great food and very friendly staff, and on complaining about the room, we were moved, without fuss, to another room for the remainder of our stay.

We are looking forward to staying at the Berry Head again, but shall be avoiding room 10

  • Liked — Staff, Food and Views
  • Disliked — Room 10
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lottieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

The staff at the hotel were generally friendly. this was probably the hotel's best point (as well as the view, of course). The public areas were generally very dated and tired looking. Our room was very old fashioned and in desperate need of a re-vamp. The food was OK but nothing special, especially breakfast which I thought was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank berkshiretraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

mmmm where do I start. Booked this hotel directly for one night. Sunday the 26th of August to be exact. I must say it is in a beautiful location and has stunning views, and probably lovely food but we didnt stay long enough to try it. On arrival the reception staff were polite enough and the place seemed clean and tidy. But as we made are way around the corridors and up the never ending stairs with lovely carpet a certain musty smell which has been mentioned before hit us. The place was also in need of a bit of tlc. Oh and no help was offered with the bags, I have a two year old!!! The room we were given must have been the worst in the whole building. It was dated, smelt funny, the window was closed and so the room was very hot and stuffy. The bathroom also needed updating and had a few cracks here and there. The bed was uncomfy and the tv tiny. The main problem was that the window was above what looked like the kitchen and a few large dirty stained fans in the kitchen roof were blowing out awful smells possibly toilets aswell. They'd put my childs bed by this too!! So combined with the hot stuffy room this was a nightmare. So we asked for another room but unfortunatly it was a bank hoilday so there was no more room at the inn. They offered us a table fan but I dont think this would have got rid of the disgusting smells. We decided to leave after also being stared at by everyone, we felt very out of place. So after driving for 5 hours at 8.30pm,bank holiday sunday I had the task of finding somewhere else nightmare! Eventually I came across the osborne hotel in torquay. We got a sea view, friendly welcome, flat screen tv, abit of old glamour, lovely bathroom and a nice comfy bed for not much more. Oh and a big chocolate brownie from room service. Result.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mummyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
568 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,005 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing