We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Cold Ash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from our Rotary District conference in Torquay but decided to stay at the Berry Head Hotel in Brixham for the weekend. 14 couples all wanting something different the hotel is lovely and the staff were great, nothing was too much. We had arranged a dinner for 28 people on the Saturday evening, chose our menu with help from the hotel, and it was superb, private room and silver service which was excellent.
Rooms were bright and airy and the views are to die for.
If you're looking for a great hotel and staff then look no further.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    174
    114
    68
    35
See reviews for
199
310
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful location. The views are stunning! We had a fabulous carvery here yesterday. The beef was cooked to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the service was excellent. Highly recommended. Well done & thank you to everyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We took my mother and in laws for a two day break on a really good value package.
The weather was the best you could expect for February, great views.
We had two seals to watch from our bedroom.
The food was fine, the service was first rate.
Absolutely no complaints!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just arrived back from a four day break at the Berry Head Hotel. This lovely hotel is very traditional, full of character and has a very comfortable feel about it. Our room was double aspect with amazing sea views, bed was large and comfortable. We were, however, disappointed with the food served in the main restaurant, the menu was very limited and we had the same menu for three of the four evenings. The food was only average. One member of staff particularly made us feel uncomfortable in the restaurant, he just generally didn't seem bothered. He would stretch in front of us to collect dishes whilst we were still eating, at breakfast the teapot was overfilled and when I said to him that we were having a problem with it, he laughed and walked away. It was a relief when the third day was his day off. When this was mentioned to Reception Staff on leaving I was shocked to discover he was the Restaurant Manager!! I would however, make the point that the rest of the staff both in the restaurant, bar and reception were all a credit to the hotel. We would only consider staying there again on a bed and breakfast basis and then eat in the bistro.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This is without a doubt our favourite place to eat, drink and relax on Torbay. Their front of house team go above and beyond to accommodate the silliest of requests, and will cater to your every whim.

We frequently enjoy meals in the bistro style eating areas, as well as the a la carte restaurant (for when we're feeling a bit posh)!

Have recently made us of the dip and dine which is very good value, and you pay £10 and get £10 to use towards food, which is where most other places catch you out.

Overall you can tell the family who run the hotel have a genuine sense of care for what they do, which is filtered through the staff. Their menus boast the use of fresh local produce which you can definitely taste!

Would recommend either the fish pie, or Brixham's best fish and chips from the bistro menu!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HO1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A charity fundraising unique lecture was given in the lovely 'Mulberry Room' last Monday.
It was a sell out with the full capacity audience of 190 seated very comfortably and the sound system and digital projection were excellent.
The cash bar and Bistro food and service, before and after, were first class with all the staff, from Reception onwards , cheerful and proactively helpful at all times.
During the weeks leading up to the event Lucinda Chamings [ the experienced and very helpful general manager] and her team were very keen to provide whatever was needed and her advice was invaluable thus making life easy for the organisers.
For a special event the Berry Head Hotel could not be bettered.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0R03LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brixham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My family were so pleased with the Funeral Reception for fifty plus people on Monday. The food and drinks were excellent and the staff could not have been nicer. Thanks to all concerned for their efforts .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_sBrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
560 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
984 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
821 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing