We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch with great views and beautiful music”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Four of us enjoyed an excellent Sunday lunch here last week. Great views from the terrace, really nice food and excellent service. In the main dining room a very talented lady pianist entertained us with songs from the shows and classical favourites. The young waiting on staff were very good and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
There are newer reviews for The Berry Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We are lucky enough to visit this hotel quite frequently, having a home in the area. We either enjoy a leisurely drink on the terrace, with, as other reviewers have commented on, has just the best views! Or we eat in the bar, with the same views, and watch the sun go down
The food is certainly adequate, but no more than that. The price paid is much more for the view and surroundings, rather than haute cuisine.
All in all, a pleasant menu, but in a just perfect location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The weekend away to attend a friends wedding began with such promise. The hotel is positioned on the cliff above the bay and has panoramic views. The check in was friendly and then it started to become less impressive. The room we booked was a sea view with balcony, splashing out for one night to stay for our friends wedding. The room was on the small side but acceptable but the smell was not. The smell of stale cigarette smoke was lingering in the furnishings, the carpet, the curtains. The glass panes in the door to the balcony were smeared with sticky marks and the balcony had old cigarette butts in the corners where the had blown. Such a disappointment as there was obviously an effort made to make the bed clean, comfortable and the wallpaper was fresh and vibrant. However the room furniture was tired , scratched pine. We asked for someone to sort out the smell and a young gentleman came to spray air freshened but this masked the small for a short time only. The bathroom had only a shower which was a shame and not expected. The hair dryer provided was not powerful but the towels were good quality and a good size.The rest of the hotel smelt clean and fresh and the bistro bar looked as though it had recently been updated with great decor and vibrant seating .
The food at the hotel was great but service at breakfast was slow and the staff did not seem able to cope with the busy service. We waited 20minutes to be offered tea or coffee and then the order was wrong and then for 40 minutes for our cooked breakfast to be delivered but when it came it was plentiful and very tasty.
All in all the hotel is such a mixed bag. Some aspects are excellent and others are found lacking. Such a shame as we would have liked to have returned as we really enjoyed our visit to Brixham.

On a more positive note we were staying for a friends wedding at this was a resounding success such an amazing setting and great event, week catered and the bar staff were brilliant. A great night was had by all.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms 7 8 and 9 we're not as good as expected but the rooms that were the others si...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaG999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We chose this hotel for its excellent coastal location and generally good Reviews. The Booking was for half board for 3 nights with a Sea View room ......all being confirmed in writing by the hotel at least a month in advance of our arriving along with notification that cancelation within 7 days of arrival would incur "Charges". It was therefore rather annoying to be telephoned 5 days before arrival to be told that the Restaurant was NOT available to us on the Saturday night because of a private function,...which I'm sure must have been known about much earlier ! On actual arrival we were advised that the Restaurant was also NOT available that evening(Friday).....our actual Wedding Anniversary but later changed to "being available". A pity that no one appeared to advise the Restaurant staff who had prepared a table in the Bar area with white tablecloth a lit candle and single rose, with full "silver service" and Restaurant menu.....all much to the amusement of "locals" on nearby tables. Really quite bizarre and not quite what I had planned for our Anniversary!! My wife said she felt as though she had fallen down a rabbit hole like Alice and was now at the Mad Hatters Tea Party ! I don't think anyone used the Restaurant at all that evening !! We changed to B&B the next morning!!
However, the excellent sea view room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and well serviced. Equally, all the staff were extremely cheerful, pleasant and very helpful throughout. The presentation and standard of food was first class although I felt the Menu concentrated a little too much on "Fish" dishes.
Would we stay here again ?.... Yes we would....but probably only on a B & B basis ! A comfortable hotel in a lovely location.....well worthy of consideration in spite of my comments !

Room Tip: A Sea View is a "Must"
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgioGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Georgio Gloucester

Thank You for your review, we are glad that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry there has been miscommunication as regards the restaurant, on the one night there was no-body else booked in the restaurant and on the other night there were a group of residents in the restaurant who all knew each other and were one group. It was therefore our idea that you might prefer the bistro and we instructed the reception team to contact you and see if this was indeed preferable to you, I can only imagine that they did not communicate this properly and gave you incorrect information, for which I am very sorry. We did indeed cloth a table with a red rose and candle because of your special occasion, but had this not been to your taste we would have gladly removed it. so I do apologise for the evident miscommunication with the entire matter. I am glad you found the room to be clean and all the staff to be cheerful and of course the food to be good.
Once again thank you for your comments, without them we cannot improve which as a small family company we always aim to do.
Kind regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We've just returned from our Rotary District conference in Torquay but decided to stay at the Berry Head Hotel in Brixham for the weekend. 14 couples all wanting something different the hotel is lovely and the staff were great, nothing was too much. We had arranged a dinner for 28 people on the Saturday evening, chose our menu with help from the hotel, and it was superb, private room and silver service which was excellent.
Rooms were bright and airy and the views are to die for.
If you're looking for a great hotel and staff then look no further.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful location. The views are stunning! We had a fabulous carvery here yesterday. The beef was cooked to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the service was excellent. Highly recommended. Well done & thank you to everyone.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We took my mother and in laws for a two day break on a really good value package.
The weather was the best you could expect for February, great views.
We had two seals to watch from our bedroom.
The food was fine, the service was first rate.
Absolutely no complaints!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travelling_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
577 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
342 reviews
13.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: £144 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing