We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two visits this year - 2nd time a health hazard. Went hungry rather than risk food poisining from raw meat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First visit - Afternoon tea with elderly Mum, Tea was dissapointing, all served on one plate and the cakes had been sprinkled with icing BUT so had the sandwiches. No choice of sandwich, several conversations with kitchen got alternatives, but was charged whole price on top of tea price instead of just extra. No choice of cake, all very boring and not fresh. £29 for tea - ridiculous price.
Second visit - Caribbean night, this time taking 2 friends, all 3 of us have eaten a fair bit of caribbean food, but never had we tasted anything like that, bland, and tastleless, Not enough food. The worst part though was the raw chicken!!!! Yes totally red/ pink chunks of breast only seared on outside. Then put back in oven and offered again. Do they not know you cannot reheat chicken..... Vegetarian had no option as it had run out - then after complaining portion of 1 dish brought which was burnt on top. Worst meal I have ever had served to me.

Room Tip: Do not eat at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Kathy0713
I am sorry you did not enjoy your high tea our extensive afternoon tea menu offers 9 different sandwich options on white or granary bread and white or wholemeal baguettes, Scones with Devonshire cream and jam, and toasted teacakes and homemade cakes and slices. all individually priced. as a different option for £9.95 we serve a High tea platter which consists of a scone, cream and jam, a slice of cake, a cheese and cucumber finger sandwich, and tea or gound coffee, which for two people would be £19.90. after you spoke on the telephone to me about this we have changed it to being served on a tiered stand not a platter to avoid icing sugar from the scones coming into contact with the sandwich thank you for your comment I believe it is a genuine improvement. On the Caribbean night we received nothing but praise for the food we served, I also ate from this buffet, and after spending a year island hopping the Caribbean it brought back some happy memories for me with the food served. there were 7 vegetarian items on the buffet one of which ran out but was replaced within 10 minutes of running out. I can only apologise for the incident of undercooked chicken, it transpires that a fan had failed in the oven it was cooked in, so when the dish was probed for temperature it gave an acceptable reading but there was an area of the dish that was undercooked. the entire dish was removed as soon as it was brought to our attention and discarded, no-body consumed the dish and it is very much an isolated incident. The replacement dish was already cooking in a different oven. I reiterate my apologies for this.
Kind Regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here recently and have to say that the location is superb. The staff are very friendly and helpful but the rooms are small (but clean) and bathrooms antiquated. We paid extra for a sea view and were on the second floor and whilst we did have a view of the sea the window was tiny and not at all as shown on the web site. Breakfasts were excellent and the bar was good. We felt it was overpriced for the accommodation and have stayed in cheaper hotels with far more modern rooms. The bathroom was quite shabby and the shower appalling. Overall the rooms need a lot of modernization.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor with a sea view have bigger windows to take in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5ValtheGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear 5ValtheGal

I am Glad that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the location Breakfast and bar. I am sorry that you found that the room was not to your liking. We are situated in a 250 year old grade two listed building, we are not modern and would never wish to be, We do invest a large sum each year into our bedrooms and the building as a whole. we have recently refurbished nearly all of our bathrooms to a high specification we have not completed the final few yet due to the hotel being busy and the disruption it would cause. The bathrooms which have not yet been refurbished are fully functional white suites with white tiles the only disadvantage being that the showers are on a bath mixer tap. When we refurbish at the Berry Head Hotel we do so in a sympathetic way always using solid wood furniture wool carpets and traditional schemes. I am sorry it was not to your liking.
Kind regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Every time we travel to Brixham we go for a walk along the sea front and harbour. We always go in the Berry Head for a refreshing pint or three. It is a beautiful Hotel with friendly staff and view's to die for, and the sea lions were a bonus....brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pablo1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I shall pass them on to the team !
Kind regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have just returned from taking 3elderly relatives to this well located hotel. It is a challenge to find hotels suitable for those with mobility issues but some rooms in the hotel have reasonable access and the lovely views are a bonus for those who find getting around a challenge. Good points are the helpful staff which apart from one poor evening(more later) they were brilliant with my parents and mother in-law. Especially good were the morning breakfast staff and the assistant manager with the way he helped my relatives with coping with buffet plates and walking aids! Breakfasts were pretty good too. Less good were the weddings pulling staff away from the hotel main functions. We ate twice in the bistro (nice menu and lively atmosphere) and the themed evening was good value. Sadly the restaurant was cold, lacked any music or atmosphere and service was dreadful. After complaining the manager discounted the meal and apologised which was appreciated but it really blighted the last evening for us all. The other 2 tables didn't fare much better with one table having re heated food. The pool is small but nice and warm but beware thinking it is accessible for disability as the last step down is very steep. Some internal areas could do with a spruce up -the library is very dark, was quite cold and had a musty smell.
Overall a good location for views, fairly pricey for the standard and although we could have been unlucky think carefully before booking the restaurant. Sleep was disturbed by wedding noise. Marks on service are average because some was excellent and some awful.

Room Tip: Room 3 has level access shower but no grab rails. Can be reached by lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leicesterhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Only went here for an evening meal as we had spotted it during a walk up to Berry Head during the day, and didn't stay in the hotel so can't comment on the rooms. We had gone in and reserved a table on the way back down from our walk and asked for a window table which we were told was no problem. However when we arrived there seemed to be a problem about the table as we were left standing for some time before we were taken to a small table sandwiched between two other tables with very little room to get seated. I did have the impression that it may not have been the reserved table as the young lady who seated us seemed a bit flustered. Our order was taken fairly promptly and we were served drinks in a reasonable time - the problem was that we then waited over 45 minutes for our starters, which was a bit much considering the crab cakes my husband ordered were not really hot enough. We let it pass as we were really hungry by then, but we then had to ask if there was a problem with the main courses as other diners were seated and served long before any of our main course food arrived. The lady server was very nice and apologetic but I did say it was not an acceptable length of time to wait and she agreed and said it was just the way the kitchen had processed the orders or something similar. Wouldn't return and rather disappointed in what was meant to be a special Sunday night, maybe the kitchen was over extended as I noted there was a wedding reception under way but still no excuse for such poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I am a regular guest at Berry Head Hotel. Great atmosphere, friendly team of staff, always a pleasant stay.

One thing that I have mentioned previously on the questionnaire, is that the bedside lights are not bright enough to read by.

If that can be sorted, an otherwise excellent hotel and I will be coming back to enjoy!

Room Tip: Always get a sea view the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsSPLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here for a fisheries event that was held at the hotel. The location is very special and the staff are unusually helpful and friendly. I go to lots of conferences in cold, characterless hotels where you have little interaction with the staff. The Berry Head Hotel is run by people who take pleasure in making you feel welcome. I liked the feel of the place and will try to go back when I am not working!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzrovia_Fellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. It means so much to us to receive feedback such as this. we look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Kind regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,015 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: £108 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing