We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, good food, friendly staff but beware of broken chairs and check the roof!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad service, good food, friendly staff but beware of broken chairs and check the roof!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have visited this hotel for lunches and drinks many times over the years, always great. You cannot beat the location, perfect. I cannot comment on room standard.

We sat outside on the lower terrace and had a few lunch items. The service was diabolical including a pot of tea with no cup and then no milk, no knives and forks, 2 attempts at getting a spoon for ice-cream and at least ten minutes from serving to us having what we needed. At one point my Dad was eating ice-cream with a fork! At our table there were 2 chipped wooden chairs and one wonky chair with broken slats. There was a workman near the hotel roof repairing windows and balancing along an outside wall with no harness. At one point he carried equpment along the wall too.
I complained personally to Lucinda and got a very quick and positive reply/voucher, used the next day and everything was great. I was told in writing the chairs would be removed immediately but they were still there 2 days later. Not impressed! Hopefully this was a blip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    172
    112
    67
    35
See reviews for
193
305
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel in prime location,long terrace beside the sea. Breakfasts had a really good selection of cereals fresh fruit and of course full English. We ate in the Brasserie where there was a varied menu but the service was very slow.Staff all helpful.we loved the atmosphere of old building and the library room.we will return.

Room Tip: We chose room with balcony, the room was small but comfortable and balcony large lovely views. From...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annewilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Despite some negative reviews we decided to take the plunge and get married here. We visit Brixham every year for a weekend or a week. One of our favourite places is Berry Head. We often pop into the hotel for something to eat or a drink. The service is a bit fawlty towers, but the food is always excellent.
We also booked a room for a couple of nights. The room was expensive, but it was nice and spacious with a new bathroom. The room had double aspect sea views, which is what you are paying for. It was perfect to get ready for our wedding. Breakfast was spot on.
We had 24 guests for the wedding. We used the library, which is lovely room with sea views. We married on a Sunday and considering they had an awful lot of diners in for lunch, the service in our room was perfect. The food was delicious, hot and was complimented by our guests. The staff couldn't do enough and the owners son is a credit to the hotel. We had an absolutely lovely day. Despite its faults, which are minor it is one of our favourite places. Can't wait to be there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After looking for somewhere to hold our Annual Trawler Race Dinner&Dance we decided on the Berry Head Hotel and what a great choice it was !!!! Great co-ordination with Lucy(General Manager) who emailed me once a week leading up to the event to check if there was anything else we needed for the evening . Well on the evening everything was perfect as promised we decided on the Carvary which we thank the chefs and kitchen staff on great food and great service . They also donated a nights stay to our charity auction . Also a big thank you to young Eddie as he couldn't of been more helpful on the night !

P.S Can we book for next year please :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppycott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of May, had not been to Brixham before and we were looking forward to visiting the area and we decided to stay at this hotel due to it's superb cliff top location. However do not be fooled by appearances, the inside and the way it's run is a huge let down. The reception area is lovely and light and we were greeted by a friendly young girl who made us feel very welcome. We went up to our room but were not impressed with the decor at all, it felt claustrophobic and smelt musty. Bathroom desperately needs updating as does the general decor in the room and the corridors. Decided to go out for lunch into the town which was lovely, we enjoyed fantastic fish and chips. Booked into the restaurant for dinner for the 4 course menu, we were very impressed with Emily (If I remember correctly), she was very attentive and friendly and chatted to us and made us feel like we'd been coming for years. The food was lovely, delicious sea bass, no complaints there and the service was quick and efficient. The restaurant itself is lovely but the carpet I have to say is a disaster. I could not bear to look at it! Obviously it had recently been put down but does not match any of the other furnishings and is too loud for the style of the room.
The next night we wanted to try the brasserie and this is where it goes downhill. We bought a drink at the bar which was manned by 3 gentlemen, however they were so busy chatting at the end of the bar it took us 15 minutes to get noticed! When the young man did see us there was no apology and didn't seem to know what wines were available without having to ask a colleague. Once we had our drinks we sat at our table and were served by amber who was friendly and attentive though a little abrupt. My husband ordered a steak which had to be sent back twice as it was overcooked and my crab pasta was bland and there was hardly any crab in it! We had to wait ages for the steak to come out the second time by which time I had finished my meal and my husband wasn't overly enthused with his but did not want to send it back again. We raised the issue with a younger member of staff who just said 'oh sorry' and that was that, we noted there were a number of younger staff on duty that night and I think this affects the standard of service as they do not know how to handle issues properly and from what I could see did not look overly confident serving food and interacting with the customers. I think the hotel needs a lot of updating inside and some trained, well informed and eager to work staff. This is what let it down for us. However it must be said that the overall cleanliness is good, and the area of the hotel is lovely. Perhaps we shall come back and give it another chance but you need to impress us!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WiltGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having recently visited the hotel for a friend's wedding I was amazed by the outstanding service, quality of food and overall nature of my trip due to the hard work and thorough organisation that the Hotel takes pride in. The ceremony was personalised and perfected by all members of staff and more so by their genuine, caring and hard working attitude towards their guests and their own work. The service of waiting staff and bar staff was amazing, polite and very well managed. The cleanliness and look of the hotel was pristine as every room had a clean and comfortable environment of which adds to the guests satisfaction. The food was taken out very promptly and delivered to guests very hot with amazing combinations of flavour in every dish and a vast variety of dishes and food available to order on the menu. The value for money is incredible and allows all groups of people to enjoy luxurious occasions at this very establishment. Overall the trip was one we'll remember and was made just perfect by all the hard work and commitment of every member of staff who works here and makes the hotel an enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed environment to visit!

A brilliant hotel and a credit to everyone involved in the running of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Berry Head. It occupies a jaw dropping location. The setting and views are stunning. We sat on the terrace and ordered drinks and a snack. No problem with the service. Delivered with a smile. We were so relaxed and captivated with the ambiance and were reluctant to leave when the time came.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
543 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing