We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear! what has happened to the BHH” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Berry Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh dear! what has happened to the BHH”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Regular visitor but many bad points this time: young inexperienced bar/waiting staff one could not tell difference between carrot cake & banana cake even when shown pieces of carrot as a clue!could not understand plain crisps from black pepper, Terry had to assist. Ate in bistro tues. night no pre meal bread asked the girl in charge twice, she must have noticed it did not materialise on her many walks past , asked what has happened to the bread when meal arrived offer to bring then declined. Wed, although not directly affected long wait for food.one couple left after 1hr 20min. Tables on the outside terrace area dirty & not cleaned regularly we had to request a clean prior to eating food. To compound all this the hotel was "taken over" by an unruly wedding party, Sat breakfast more like an interloper at a family gathering not a staying guest. Children & babies running wild in restaurant. one toddler actually on the window sill next to a table with hot tea & water below, what price a claim etc if she had slipped. Sat wedding day, barred from residents lounge & terrace area, first floor corridor a dressing area for male ushers best man etc. this on an indicated fire escape route. We know that function income is important but surely resident holiday makers are the the bread & butter of any hotel? not to be treated like second class visitors. Unlike previous visits top management seemed to be invisible they should be made aware of the deficiencies outlined. Notable exceptions on staff shortcomings were Ben, always helpful & polite, indeed initially we thought he was the Bistro manager ( perhaps should be ! ) Emily who we have met before & Jack. Ken of course manfully trying to keep things on an even keel. In conclusion this gives us no satisfaction, more sadness that standards have slipped so abysmally, a trait all so common in the hospitality industry according to the TV exposures, We thought we would visit here annually as in the past but no more sorry to say.

Room Tip: rooms at the back quieter but side sea view best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    162
    108
    62
    31
See reviews for
175
288
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Berry head gave us a fantastic weekend, friendly staff quality food at an affordable price, the grounds were fantastic we had a room looking over the sea, the hotel is in a quiet location with some great walks, we walked the coast path to the town several times

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We live approx 12 miles from the hotel and on the strength of some of the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to pay the hotel a visit for breakfast, enjoy the stunning views and work off the excesses with a walk on Berry Head. The hotel is in a great location with wonderful views on a clear sunny day. The lady in reception was both friendly and helpful and pointed us in the right direction. The eating area had just one other family in it and we waited about 10 minutes for staff but no one came so we asked the gentleman in the bar if he could arrange for us to have a menu.The man was quite abrupt and clearly was not eager to help and treated us as if we were an imposition, not welcoming at all. We waited some while but he did not come back to us nor did a waitress so we decided to leave. On our way out we passed the bar and said not to bother as we were leaving and be abruplty responded that he had told a waitress. We cannot judge an hotel on the experience of one member of staff but I am glad I was not a guest staying at the hotel.

We made our way to a small cafe on Berry Head where the difference was amazing, the young man there was helpful, friendly and we were greeted with a welcoming smile - it does not take much Berry Head Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 420STEVEB500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have visited this hotel for lunches and drinks many times over the years, always great. You cannot beat the location, perfect. I cannot comment on room standard.

We sat outside on the lower terrace and had a few lunch items. The service was diabolical including a pot of tea with no cup and then no milk, no knives and forks, 2 attempts at getting a spoon for ice-cream and at least ten minutes from serving to us having what we needed. At one point my Dad was eating ice-cream with a fork! At our table there were 2 chipped wooden chairs and one wonky chair with broken slats. There was a workman near the hotel roof repairing windows and balancing along an outside wall with no harness. At one point he carried equpment along the wall too.
I complained personally to Lucinda and got a very quick and positive reply/voucher, used the next day and everything was great. I was told in writing the chairs would be removed immediately but they were still there 2 days later. Not impressed! Hopefully this was a blip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel in prime location,long terrace beside the sea. Breakfasts had a really good selection of cereals fresh fruit and of course full English. We ate in the Brasserie where there was a varied menu but the service was very slow.Staff all helpful.we loved the atmosphere of old building and the library room.we will return.

Room Tip: We chose room with balcony, the room was small but comfortable and balcony large lovely views. From...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annewilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Despite some negative reviews we decided to take the plunge and get married here. We visit Brixham every year for a weekend or a week. One of our favourite places is Berry Head. We often pop into the hotel for something to eat or a drink. The service is a bit fawlty towers, but the food is always excellent.
We also booked a room for a couple of nights. The room was expensive, but it was nice and spacious with a new bathroom. The room had double aspect sea views, which is what you are paying for. It was perfect to get ready for our wedding. Breakfast was spot on.
We had 24 guests for the wedding. We used the library, which is lovely room with sea views. We married on a Sunday and considering they had an awful lot of diners in for lunch, the service in our room was perfect. The food was delicious, hot and was complimented by our guests. The staff couldn't do enough and the owners son is a credit to the hotel. We had an absolutely lovely day. Despite its faults, which are minor it is one of our favourite places. Can't wait to be there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

After looking for somewhere to hold our Annual Trawler Race Dinner&Dance we decided on the Berry Head Hotel and what a great choice it was !!!! Great co-ordination with Lucy(General Manager) who emailed me once a week leading up to the event to check if there was anything else we needed for the evening . Well on the evening everything was perfect as promised we decided on the Carvary which we thank the chefs and kitchen staff on great food and great service . They also donated a nights stay to our charity auction . Also a big thank you to young Eddie as he couldn't of been more helpful on the night !

P.S Can we book for next year please :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppycott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing