We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and Over Rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over priced and Over Rated”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were blown away with the setting of the hotel, perched on the cliff edge over looking torquey and only a 5 min walk from brixham centre, if you enjoy a view this is a hotel for you.

However that's where it ends unfortunately, we stayed in sea view room which is Basicly an en-suit box room with a dormer window which doesn't open fully. A bath shower combo operated by taps NOT a pressure shower. The only plus point was the bed, which was very comfatable but at £78!!!! per person!! per night!!! you would expect ALOT more. The other facilities were SHOCKING as the pool was out of order for our entire visit!!

The food was excellent, a large menu with plenty to choose from, but I expected that as the hotel is a free house, so they get alot of business from people not staying at the hotel. The breakfast is good but certain items on the menu, if you choose them, you will get charged extra for on top of your £310 you've already given them for inadequate facilities.

To sum up brixham is a beautiful place and we will both visit again but not at the berry head hotel!!! At the end of the day it's a 3 star hotel and it charges a 5 star price with very inadequate facilities, if we visit, it will be to have some food and not get ripped off by very over inflated prices to stay there!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    174
    114
    68
    35
See reviews for
198
310
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lee on solent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights all the staff are very helpful pleasant & try to make sure your stay
is enjoyed by you.The food is outstanding & value for money for the quality.
The rooms are very clean& well presented.
The bars well stocked with a large extensive variety of beer & wines.
The views from the patios must be on of the best in Torbay.
If in the area its a must for lunch,dinner or stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GORDONWDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We discovered this hotel on the second day of our two week holiday near Brixham, Devon and kept returning for coffee, lunch and two evening meals!
The views from the patio and brasserie take in Torbay and the service is excellent. The menus are extensive and competitively priced. The food is of excellent quality too. Whilst being classed as a three star hotel, it exceeds what we have experienced at four star hotels, the staff are polite, well turned out in waistcoats, etc. and can engage in conversation without being servile or shallow.
Just returned from having coffee on the patio again and watching the sun set over Torbay.
They also have a refreshing attitude to allowing dogs into the hotel, obviously realising that people with dogs also have disposable income.
We're now looking to book a three night break in late 2014 or early 2015 with friends.
Can recommend with confidence for either a coffee, lunch, evening meal, and from what we've seen, I suspect an enjoyable overnight stay.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room, you pay a premium, but you don't get sea views at too many hotels....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GV53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Booked in for six nights at start of july. The qualitynwas as previously really good - room 4 is spacious and comfortable good views and quiet. We ate in the main restaurant which was good - food brilliant quality and very well presented. What would we do without Ken as maitre'd he is so good. The rest of the staff are helpful and willing.

But we also saw seals and dolphins from the patio - if you have a dog this is a must location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Apart from a mishap with our booking and the fact that we were placed directly above the wedding disco so no sleep on the first night until 12.30am we found this hotel wonderful.

Edward apologised and really did his best to rectify the problem and managed to put another double bed into an already smallish room but there was a bottle of prosseco waiting for us.

All the staff were wonderful and the food was amazing, the maitre'd (apologies for not getting his name ) was wonderful at explaining that I eat my steak basically raw to the chef and got it perfect.

I love the fact that dogs are allowed in this little place of luxury and if we ever moved back to England our dog would love it.

The hotel is old worldly and full of wonderful old furniture and pictures. The views over the ocean were fantastic and sitting on the patio was so relaxing after a hard day visiting family watching the fishing boats coming in.

We are planning on coming back over the Christmas break and will most definitely come back here.

A wonderful hotel for all ages that has a peace tranquil surrounding...... loved it.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth the extra upgrade, dinner in the restaurant is worth every penny an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We returned to Bury Head with friends to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, having got married their in 2004. We were each given a complimentary drink voucher for the bar when we arrived and five of our 6 our rooms were ready early. One room was late in getting prepared but the hotel management sent a bottle of wine to the room to apologise for the delay, now that's what I call customer service, which was excellent throughout our stay.

Full English breakfast was "waiter table service", not help yourself buffet, well done Bury Head as many 4 star hotels seem to be forgetting about the customer service experience. For any one visiting the hotel I recommend you take the relatively short walk from the hotel to see the views from the Bury Head national park headland, lovely sea views and sets you up for another good meal at the hotel. Live Music in the evening at the weekend in May was the icing on the cake. We all had a great time with our close friends. Thanks Bury Head Hotel management.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tennisplayerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed at the Berry Head Hotel on several occasions and it is one of the most relaxing and welcoming hotels that we have ever visited. The staff are extremely helpful, Lucy and Emily cannot do enough to assist and the lovely ladies who look after the bedrooms (and what a job that must be) are always very obliging and work really hard to ensure that every request is granted if it is possible for them to do so. The lady who has only been cleaning there for seven weeks was particularly helpful to us during this week and we are really grateful to her. Sorry, we don't remember her name.
Unfortunately my health was not too good during our stay but there is a superb room service available for anyone wishing to dine in their room.
The view from the hotel is unbeatable, during one evening, we watched the sun setting and the whole of Torbay was encompassed in an orange light, it really was magical.
There is a very comprehensive menu available, vegetarians are well catered for and there is a wonderful selection of fish dishes available, diners in the restaurant can also use the Bistro menu if required.
The reception staff are extremely friendly and very helpful, nothing seems to be too much trouble for anyone.
We have noticed the comments from some visitors about the service they have received but for us we love every thing about the hotel. Having visited other hotels that run to a very strict time schedule, they often lack the friendly approach which we love. We would not wish to change anything about the Berry Head and long may it continue.

Room Tip: Coastal or sea view rooms are unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
560 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
984 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing