We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic Location, Fantastic Service, Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantasic Location, Fantastic Service, Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I stayed at the Berry Head Hotel for a leisure break just before Christmas and I was not disappointed. The hotel is set in the most amazing of locations with superb views and beautiful grounds/surroundings. Right from the start at checking in we were greeted with warmth and smiles.

After we made the most of the porter service that took care of our bags, we were pleased with the standard of the room which looked newly refurbished and was spotless.

I enjoy eating out and I have eaten at many famous/named restaurants and the food at the Hotel in comparison was very good, great value for money. Having the option of the restaurant or the bistro area for dining was also good as it meant we could enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and also the live duo on the Friday night! The menu was extensive and full of local produce based dishes.

The walk into town (about 5-10 minutes), along the waters edge at times, is great for fresh air and for access the quaint town with some good pubs and restaurants.

I must say that I am surprised at some of the reviews for this hotel as I couldn’t have hoped for more. I will abstain from mentioning staff names in a negative or positive light as I strongly disagree with this, but I was very impressed by all the staff that attended to our every need and for which nothing was too much trouble. I would strongly recommend this Hotel to any of my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelking01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    167
    110
    63
    32
See reviews for
183
293
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Me and my partner stayed together in the Berry Head Hotel in late November 2010 and were quite frankly disgusted by the level of service.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a lady by the name of Lucinda, who looked to be managerial, who would proceed to remain on the phone for 5 minutes before dealing with us engaging in what was quite clearly a personal call. When she finally did deal with us it was quick, half hashed and it was clear that she just wanted to get us out of the way as soon as possible so she could focus on the function taking place that evening. (A word of warning to any would be guests; functions take 100% priority over all of you).

When we finally did struggle up to our rooms (we are both over 60 and no help was offered by Lucinda with our luggage) we entered a room which was smelt of damn and cigarettes with furniture which looked like it had been dragged back from the 70's. Our TV did not work and it took a full 24 hours for somebody to come and fix it.
(To the credit of the housekeeping staff, the bed was made immaculately and the bathroom and floors were spotless, they cannot be blamed for the absolutely sub standard decor).

That evening we went for dinner, we arrived at the same time as the function were having their dinner (this of course was not explained to us by reception when we agreed our dinner time); as such 1 waiter was left to deal with the restaurant. A young man by the name of Paul who was one of the few positives of our stay. He had over 15 tables to deal with by himself and still nothing was too much for him. He was fast, well mannered and only too happy to help with our queries.

I understand a hotel needs functions to survive.. but do they really need to some 25 year old blonde guy in a cheap suit who cannot sing well playing piano in the bar until 4 in the morning whilst all the managers and staff sit around with the couple of guests that are left??

I wish we had decided to eat in the restaurant the second night, instead we decided to try the bar. It was not particularly busy but it took us 25 minutes to even be served for drinks. Our meal came out a full hour after sat down, however the muscles were cold and the wedges were still frozen in the middle!!! We complained, to our horror to Lucinda again, and she snatched the plates up from the table without so much of an apology. She returned a full 15 minutes later and pretty much threw them to the table and sarcastically said "there you go, maybe this will be acceptable to you" before walking off.

We left the following day. We rang for our bags to be helped down twice but no help materialised and so my husband struggled down the stairs with them nearly falling over twice.

It was when we went to pay the bill that we had the final insult. On the telephone when booking the stay we were told it would be £70 per night. We had no idea this meant £70 per person as every other hotel we have stayed in has been priced as per room. I was under the impression that the per person style of pricing had died out years ago. At this point however we were so angry that we just paid up and got out of there as quickly as possible.

A couple of weeks after we arrived home we watched an episode of Fawlty Towers... In all honestly a weekend with Basil Fawlty would be simply marvellous in comparison to a weekend in this "hotel".

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChrisRogers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

A truly wonderful hotel, with a warm and friendly atmosphere. We took advantage of their winter break and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we we were greeted by pleasant , and helpful staff, and our room was upgraded to one with a sea view. Food was excellent and plenty of it! Do take time to read the history of this hotel in - found in the library. This adds quality to your stay .We walked around the headland - but take extra clothing as it gets very windy! A lso tried out public transport and went as far as Newton Abbott. Bus runs every ten minutes. Drivers were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloe079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Arrived at the berry head hotel on thursday 30th dec, have stayed there several times before and can honestly tell you that it just keeps on getting better!! Superb room, always a great welcome from the staff, delicious meals. Stayed until 3rd Jan, but didn't really want to leave! Best new years Party ever...........so good that we've booked to go back in february.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Owner at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed the New Year celebrations so much
and have passed on your thanks to all our staff who I can assure you appreciate
it very much.
We look forward to seeing you in February.
Berst regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

You'll find the hotel at the end of the coastal road, converted from an old country mansion. The furniture in the public rooms fit in with the country house feel and there is a beautiful library with a gas fire in the splendid fireplace.

The rooms are a mixture - our friends on the 2nd floor were cramped and smelt of cigarettes (not the hotel's fault but a previous guest) but ours on the 3rd floor tucked away in a corner of the hotel was spacious (although I did knock my head on the sloping ceiling twice when moving the tv onthe dressing table!). Overall the bedrooms are basic, dated but clean. Bathrooms are basic with a small shower attachment over the bath. The pool is small but adquate and is open to the viewing public with a glass wall along one side. There were 2 pieces of gym equipment on the pool side (strange place to put them in a damp atmosphere).

We went on a special package deal with was reasonable for what we had - dinner bed and breakfast. We didn't stay for dinner on the 2nd night as we were eating in a local restaurant and were offered a £12.00 refund per person, which I considered very reasonable. I wouldn't stay here if paying the normal rate as I don't consider it value for money even at the special week-end rate.


Top marks for the staff (always smiling, attentive and friendly) and food (good selection and well presented) and the brilliant late breakfast served in a separate section of the bar up 'til 11am.


If you like dogs, then this is the place to stay. If, like us, you prefer not to have dogs sitting on the bar floor, in the way of the access door to the outside patio, then perhaps this isn't for you. At one time there were 5 dogs in the bar area! My fault for not checking if dogs were allowed in the hotel. Dogs are allowed to stay in the guest bedrooms.

Totnes, about 20 minutes away, is a chic, buzy little historial town well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen_Jennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We had a really good short break. Some of the staff tell us they have worked there many years,that accounts for the lovely atmosphere. It is an old house Grade 11 listed so there is only so much that can be updated.( A lift is being installed) Saying that, our room was spotless. The restaurant was excellent, both in service and quality of food. If you don't like fresh food and prefer frozen or burgers don't book to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zandona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Owner at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for your appreciation, we have passed this on to all our staff
as it means a lot to us all.
We hoe to welcome you back in ther not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

I cannot believe that a hotel in this day and age advertises their rooms on a per person basis. I had somebody else book the room for my wife and at what we thought was £70 a night for the room (this would have been a reasonable price considering the state of the hotel). The hotel also insisted on a deposit per room (not per person). We were shocked when we came to check out and were told that the balance was based upon £70 per person per night totalling £280 for the two nights. Not only was this a shock but a joke considering the state of the place. It was like a rest home, very dated and unclean. We even had dogs in the room next to us howling in the morning. The rooms were tired and in need of a good modernisation especially the shower facilities.
The staff did not seem to care about the price confusion and insisted they wrote to the person who booked it (which does not help us). I feel the hotel prices the rooms like this to catch people out, not fair and certainly not in keeping with current hotel methods of pricing (B&Bs maybe). The hotel claimed to be a 3 star, I am not sure how. I frequently use hotel throughout the UK and Europe and have never been so disappointed. I hope the hotel will consider my views and rectify the problems as the location and building is fabulous and it is a real shame the hotel is not within keeping.

Jamie H

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamiehow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
It is of real concern to see a review such as this one. The customer came as part of a group of people the booking having been made by another group member. The rate was clearly stated when the booking was made and was confirmed in writing. In addition, the guest was presented with a key card on arrival describing the booking and showing the tariff booked at.
Bearing in mind the fact that all of this was confirmed I do not see what else could have been done, and can but wonder why, bearing in mind the confirmation was sent in the spring that if concerned about the tariff quoted therein the question was not raised immediately.
The guest made no other complaint whatsoever until he realised that we were not prepared to address his issue regarding tariff. It can be seen from the photographs and the vast majority of reviews here and elsewhere that most customers think rather differently.
Edward Bence FIH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing