We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It starts with the view”
Review of Beacon House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beacon House B&B
Ranked #1 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Such a lovely place to stay, amazing views over the harbour, very very peaceful. The hosts, Nigel and Amanda are attentive, welcoming and helpful, the breakfasts are superb and the rooms are spotless and very comfortable as well as being very tastefully furnished. We will return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb, we stayed in cheapest which has the smallest but perfectly adequate ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Sheila, thanks very much for your feedback and review, its very much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

What can I say about the beacon house hotel other than "outstanding" hats off to Nigel, Amanda and Henry for being a part of their family for three days. The house and rooms a re truly five star. We stayed in the Marina View room which I think had the best bathroom. However every room looked lovely. I must also say that both Amanda and Nigel have worked very hard to turn this place in to what I think is one of the nicest B&B's I have stayed in. You must have the Beacon Breakfast if you are feeling up for the challenge, this will keep you going all day. Would I stay here again ? Yes Yes Yes. Can't wait to return next year. Thanks again.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning. We will try and stay in the top floor room which has its own balcony and sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westjr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Hello JR West :-) Thanks for your great feedback. Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us. All three of us look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We could not have been more comfortable in this beautiful B&B. Nigel and Amanda take such good care of their guests, and anticipate every need. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I wish we could have stayed for longer than our two days. Such a lovely place to stay, with an incredible view, wonderful breakfasts, and the warmest welcome you could hope to find.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely top floor room, called Bay View. It was incredibly comfortable, with an imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thanks very much for posting your review. Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us, come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We couldn't have asked for more : the welcome was so friendly , the view superb and the room stylish and spotless. Availability of parking is also a real plus in Brixham. The breakfast deserves a special mention as it is the best we have had in a B&B - offering an excellent choice and perfectly cooked. Nigel and Amanda really do enjoy meeting their guests and create a happy, friendly atmosphere which really added to our enjoyment of our stay in Brixham.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room (Harbour View) but plenty big enough and view amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggies54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Maggie, thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed your selves in sunny Brixham. Good luck with the house hunting, hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I hadn't heard of Brixham until we booked, but when looking for somewhere to stay in South Devon and reading the excellent reviews for Beacon House, my partner and I decided to go for it.
I am so glad we did...
Simply put, Amanda and Nigel's stunning B&B surpassed our expectations and we couldn't have asked for more. Our room (the attic conversion with balcony and stunning views over the town) was luxury at a very affordable price. Breakfast was absolutely superb with a wide range of cooked and continental breakfast foods on offer. So much thought, effort and time seems to have been put into the details and design of the house, making our stay not just excellent, but a very special and memorable experience. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming that both of us wished were sad to leave. During our stay we visited many other towns and villages easily accessible by local transport and even easier by car. Brixham itself is a beautiful fishing town and well worth seeing.
If you are looking to stay in South Devon, within a short distance of Dartmoor and neighbouring towns, then Beacon House offers a special experience in a town you may not have initially considered.

Room Tip: Go for the attic room with the Balcony! (although other rooms are great too!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Phil, awesome review thanks, really do appreciate the time you've put into it. Most important thing is that you both had a great break and taken Brixham to heart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I was a little suspicious as to how a B&B can have nothing but excellent reviews, but once you actually stay with Nigel and Amanda at Beacon House you see why. Everything exceeded our expectations: lovely, clean room with great views, perfect breakfasts and attention to detail which showed they really cared about their guests. Nothing was too much trouble and having breakfast each morning overlooking the bay was the perfect start to the morning. We really had a great stay and would love to come back. Thank you Nigel and Amanda - every B&B should be like yours!

Matt

Room Tip: Bay view - excellent balcony and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattyg003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Matt, fantastic review, thanks v much, glad you guys enjoyed your selves.........................suspect we might see you again some time soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic b&b, clean, homely, best views, good value. Would recommend and stay again. My husband and I just had a weekend stay at beacon house and really couldn't have asked for a better b&b to stay in, loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah3013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Sarah, glad you and Matt enjoyed you short stay in Brixham. Did Matt catch any more fish on his final trip? Hope all goes well with the baby, take care, Amanda and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.2 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#7 of 26 in Brixham
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#17 of 26 in Brixham
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House B&B

Address: Beacon House Prospect Steps South Furzeham Road, Brixham TQ5 8JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: £55 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the harbour bowl of this historic fishing town (Brixham), Beacon House subtly merges the heritage of this beautiful iconic Victorian House with the amenities expected in a modern bed & breakfast. Coupled with this are stunning views from all guest bedrooms, lounge and breakfast room, free on site car parking, free wi fi and a short walk in to town to enjoy the plethora of cafe's, bars restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon House B&B Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing