We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something tasty, different and friendly in Brixham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verna's Pepper Shack

Verna's Pepper Shack
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Brixham's harbour-side restaurant offers Trinidadian Verna's native Caribbean cuisine alongside great local ribs & home-made steak burgers, local seafood and fun desserts. Carnival favourites Goat Curry, Saltfish & Ackee and Jerk Chicken take pride of place among a number of home-grown recipes - Trinidad Chicken & King Prawn Curry, Pineapple Pork, Legendary Lamb Shank and Shack Scallop & Monkfish Curry. Jerk Pork Skewers, Seafood Tart and San Fernando Spicy Prawns appear amongst the starters along with Patties, Monkfish Goujons, Home-made Samosas and Scallops & Hogs. We use local fish in a number of seafood dishes including Fish Bites and battered Catch-of-the-Day. Vegetarians are offered Pumpkin Patties and Goat Cheese Samosas among the starters, followed by Sweet Potato & Black Bean Curry, Chilli sin Carne and even Jamaican Jerk Tofu. Home-made Chocolate Gateau, Banana Cake, Sticky Toffee Pudding, Banoffee Pie, Morgan-spiced Rum Panacotta are complemented by Ice Cream, Sorbets and Fresh Pineapple. For children, there are home-made Chicken Nuggets, Spaghetti Bolognese and more Ice Cream. Pepper Shack is fully licensed until midnight with Red Stripe, Peroni, local Dartmoor and Bays ales, Healey's Cornish Ciders, wines from around the world and a wide range of rums among the spirits. We also offer an extensive Cocktail Menu and even some Ice Cream Liquour Cocktails
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something tasty, different and friendly in Brixham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

With many places closed on a pre-season night in Brixham, we gave Verna's a go and were not disappointed. Like many restaturants in the area, Verna's is essentially a large very flat above some shops, but the slightly shambolic decor and feel didn't detract from a very nice evening, as the food and hospitality were great. The owners acted as barman/waiter and cook, and were hugely friendly and open, if rushing about a bit as they were busier than expected. The food was delicious with the spicy prawns the highlight of the starters and the curried goat and mutton both really nicely spiced and full of flavour. While it's only a small point, one thing that confused me was the slightly vague heat ratings on the menu which didn't really tell you how spicy things were. Not a problem, really, as it all tasted good.

Verna's is a fun and friendly place with the kind of shabby and laid-back feel that puts a little ray of Caribbean sunshine into maritime Devon. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Endymion133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for a nice recommendation.

Shambolic decor, though? That's a bit harsh ... 'Quirky' sounds so much better.

Fun, friendly and relaxed is just what we want to offer. For one thing, it makes it much more enjoyable for us and very satisfying when we can feel that everyone is having a good time.

I think I prefer laid-back to shabby but it's nothing that a coat of paint won't put right when we've got time. The heat ratings are pretty hard for a couple of reasons. Firstly, everyone has a different view of what hot. If you've ever had a curry in Durban, you'll know what I mean. Secondly, Verna has a tendency to sneak up the heat before I can remind her that that we've got 'Blazing Hot Sauce' for extremists. The hotness note is really just an indication of how the different dishes compare.

We were rushing around a bit, it's true, haha. It's often quite difficult to predict whether we need people in to help. On occasions, it looks like we're in for an early night and then suddenly we've got 4 tables turn up at the same time. Always a nice surprise but it does mean there will be a bit of rushing around at first to get menus out and drinks on tables. It usually turns out well in the end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    75
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food with superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Myself and five others stumbled across this gem during our first night in Brixham and it was one of the best meals we had in the town during our 5 day stay. What I really liked about the experience was how welcoming the owners were and atmosphere of the restaurant really adds to the dinning experience, it was a nice vibe.

The food was very tasty and authentic, and we were pleasantly surprised to received complimentary fritters while we waited for our starters.

When I go back to Brixham I will definitely be heading to this place again.

Give it a go you want be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We'll always do our best to give a warm welcome but the atmosphere is something of a joint effort. It's much more fun if people are having a good time, so we try to avoid too much formality ... hopefully without getting too sloppy.

There's always an extra effort to get the music right, too ... anything from African Jazz to some rather obscure American bands and plenty of foot-tapping (!) blues. We'll even take requests ... within limits.

Verna's cooking is certainly authentic ... all the way from Pepper Village in Trinidad (it is real - San Fernando way) where she learned to cook. Glad you enjoyed it.

We do our best with the value, making sure the portions are well-sized, good quality ingredients and good wines. There is always an offer or two, as well.

See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Caribbean Experience-John and Janet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We went to this restaurant with our friends who live in Brixham who happen to own Beacon House B&B in Brixham we had a fabulous time.The whole experience was just fantastic food and service was just out of this world.Well worth a visit if you stay in Brixham

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks very much ... we do our best to make it real ... sometimes a little too real with the service when we are busy but the food is always great, haha.

Nice of you to take the time to review us. See you again, I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in on way to pub to check we could have table(s) for 5 with good view of harbour about an hour later, when we returned we found tables had been shuffled to accommodate us. Food was absolutely gorgeous, so tasty and as for the lovely front of house, he was charm personified! Lovely that Verna came out to see how we were enjoying our meals; so glad we made that last minute off chance decision to try The Pepper Shack.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Well, I'm pretty sure that's the first time that I've been described as lovely. Whatever will people be expecting now? I'll also be letting Verna know about the charm ... I suspect it escapes her most of the time.

But seriously, folks ... it was very nice to have you all in the restaurant. A merry family if ever there was. Finishing the meal with cocktails has to be the way to go.

Thanks for a very nice review. Let's see what Verna has to say, haha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful flavours, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a really nice family dinner. Choices were varied - there was something there for everyone, even vegetarian options, and standard of food was extremely good. I had the goat curry which I can really recommend! The staff and owner were very friendly, would not hesitate to go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BandD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks very much ... that's pretty much what we want to offer ... a relaxed evening with great food and a big welcome. We're always looking for little ways to get better but I think we're most of the way there.

Curry goat is always our most popular dish with the Mutton not so far behind. Always something for everyone, haha - even Babyback Ribs now.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verna's Pepper Shack also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Verna's Pepper Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing