We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Trinidad at Brixham”
Review of Pepper Shack

Pepper Shack
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Brixham's harbour-side restaurant offers Trinidadian Verna's native Caribbean cuisine alongside great local ribs & home-made steak burgers, local seafood and fun desserts. Carnival favourites Goat Curry, Saltfish & Ackee and Jerk Chicken take pride of place among a number of home-grown recipes - Trinidad Chicken & King Prawn Curry, Pineapple Pork, Legendary Lamb Shank and local Scallop & Ling Curry. Jerk Pork Skewers, Seafood Tart and San Fernando Spicy Prawns appear amongst the starters along with Patties, Gurnard Goujons, Home-made Samosas and Scallops & Hogs. We use local fish in a number of seafood dishes including Fish Bites and a number of curries. Vegetarians are offered Pumpkin Patties and Goat Cheese Samosas among the starters, followed by Sweet Potato & Black Bean Curry, Chilli sin Carne and even Jamaican Jerk Tofu among the Vegan options. A good part of the menu is Gluten-free as indicated in the online menu. Home-made Banana Cake, Sticky Toffee Pudding, Banoffee Pie, Morgan-spiced Rum Panacotta are complemented by Ice Cream, Sorbets, Pineapple Sundae and our own Rum Baba. For children, there are home-made Chicken Nuggets, Spaghetti Bolognese and more Ice Cream. Pepper Shack is fully licensed until midnight with Red Stripe, Sol, Peroni, local Dartmoor ales, Healey's Cornish Ciders, wines from around the world and a wide range of rums among the spirits. We also offer an extensive Cocktail Menu and even Ice Cream Liqueur Cocktails
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A taste of Trinidad at Brixham”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Sometimes a surprise grows into surprises. This statement needs explaining.

Having heard of Caribbean food this was to be our first tasting at this restaurant run by Verna (chef) and her husband, John.

It was with a certain reserved expectation that my wife and I climbed the stairs to enter Verna's Pepper Shack on the Brixham quayside. Being in the 'middle-age' bracket this new food expedition was classed almost as an act of bravado!

Surprise: an intimate restaurant greeted us with its cocktail bar stocked to the point of bursting.

Other surprises followed.

John greeted the two of us. He took us to our table. Our view overlooked a sun-drenched, almost Caribbean-like harbour, perfect start. We felt relaxed and at ease.

After a brief look at the list of cocktails, and with John's assistance, we made the perfect choices.

Another surprise. As we enjoyed our drinks we glanced around the walls looking at the memorabilia on display. What was on display? You’ll have to visit to find out for yourselves.

Now the food:

We ignored the starters because we prefer a pud.

We selected our mains: wife, scallop and monkfish curry; me: Verna's curry goat (I did mention bravado), oh, and a bottle of rose.

Surprises end, enjoyment follows.

Both meals were home-cooked by Verna who later visited us at our table. John's prowess at making cocktails is complimented by his wife's bubbly enthusiasm and cooking expertise.

Both mains were filling and delicious, extremely enjoyable and perfectly cooked. At this point our minds were already set on a second visit. .

The sweets: My wife chose banana cake; me, banoffee pie, both exceptional homemade desserts and a delicious end to our meal.

Suffice it to say we did return, 48 hours later, for another unforgettable evening. We briefly peeked at starters being served . . . we'll try those next time!

Thank you J&V, from M&K.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you and thanks for the lyrical endorsement.

You make it sound a real adventure into the unknown, haha ... fortunately to be well rewarded, it seems. It's always nice to see the cocktails being enjoyed ... and good to feel we're promoting the fine tradition of drinks with a difference.

The starters are very good!

We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    82
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really tasty and excellent value. Verna popped out to chat which was great and her husband and my partner explored their appreciated of fine rums with some samples from behind the bar! Great experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I don't always pour myself rums but, this time, it did seem rude not to join in. We do have a couple of particularly nice rums and the Black Seal 151 is certainly an experience in itself. At 75.5%, it seems to vapourise as it hits the mouth. Boom!

Thanks coming along and giving us a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A taste of the Caribbean in Brixham”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely evening had by all our party. Very generous portions and food was so delicious. The jerk pork skewers and monk fish curry are a must. We hope to return again soon. We also met the lovely Verna. Fab restaurant and perfect setting right on the front of brixham harbour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Always nice when we see people having a good time ... and, happily, that is pretty much all of the time. We certainly try to make sure it's all there for you .... from the relaxed atmosphere to service with a smile ... and, of course, the food.

The Jerk Pork skewers were inspired by a bar close to Verna's origins in Pepper Village in Trinidad. Closer to home, the Monkfish & Scallops come fresh from Brixham's Fish Quay.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent must visit restaurant”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Host most welcoming, service excellent and most importantly the food was tremendous. Portions are generous and flavours to die for. Well worth a significant detour to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L0u_BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
If you are good enough to give us a try, the least we can do is make you as welcome as we can. It's always nice to meet new people and even nicer to welcome them back.

It's good to hear we've got the service right now ... still relaxed but hopefully attentive and efficient.

Thanks for coming along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed and homely atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went a few weeks ago when we were on holiday. Warm and welcoming atmosphere and food. The food was great one of the best curry goats i have had. and the service was great including meeting the chef which was a nice touch! Enjoyed the cocktails to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
There's a lot of research has done into those cocktails, haha ... and I think we've got them just about right. And it only took me 18 months!

You are right about the goat. It's always been good but now we've found a new supplier (in Devon) and the meat is not only perfect for curry but Verna's done something a little extra. The result is great ... and our biggest seller.

Thanks very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepper Shack also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Pepper Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing