We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light Lunch”

Carolines Kitchen at Churston Farm Shop
Ranked #65 of 103 Restaurants in Brixham
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brixham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Light Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Visited on friday when we had an hour to kill, very good light lunch although there was plenty more vailable on the menu. Must try Sunday lunch sometime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    10
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant -good sevice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just called in for tea and cake while at the Farm Shop and Garden centre. The place is clean and smart and we found the service very quick and pleasant. My wife thought the filter coffee was very good. My toasted teacake tasted good but could have been toasted a bit more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank creakingbones62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Went for Breakfast today 29th Aug. when it came the fried bread which id paid extra for was almost rare, thought fried bread was supposed to be crispy? Theyd piled everything on top of the fried bread which made iteven more soggy. The mushrooms tasted like frozen mushrooms, again paid extra for, you would thinkm being a farm shop thet would have fresh mushrooms. I did complain , the waitress did say she would tell the cook but nobody got back to us . Will not go again unless it dramatically improves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No, Just no”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Poor excuse for an English breakfast. Dreadful meat, small portions, an absolute rip off for the small amount you get on your plate. Mr Farmer or whatever his name is has surely cut back on a lot of things, and still want to charge the locals silly prices. Will not be returning.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank benjii18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem spoilt by churlish service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

It's silly really, Caroline's Kitchen is a nice cafe with great indoor and outdoor facilities within walking distance of home yet every visit is marred by the churlish, frosty service.
The food is fine, local produce which is nice and really fabulous cake.
Please Caroline and your older staff treat your customers to a little bit of "Customer Service", we are paying for it after all. I always leave feeling like we've inconvenienced you in some way, I don't want to be tutted at or have my tea plonked on the table so it sloshes about.
We all have bad days but it can't be every day, surely?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PonkertonPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carolines Kitchen at Churston Farm Shop also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Carolines Kitchen at Churston Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing