We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fab Crab Sandwich” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coffee House

The Coffee House
Ranked #3 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$16
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spacious, friendly, licensed restaurant, featuring a relaxing corner sofa'd area with toys for the kids to keep them occupied while you chat! Serving locally roasted coffee, speciality teas, English breakfasts, a variety of home-cooked daily specials & other main meals & snacks with lots of GLUTEN-FREE options,including the traditional Devonshire cream tea with a choice of locally-made scones, thick clotted cream & home-made Strawberry jam! Outside seating available.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab Crab Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch and had the best crab sandwich & chips! Lots of filling, really fresh. Excellent value! Quick and friendly service. Will definitely be back when in lovely Brixham again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SamandDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon f, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thanks for the review, Sam!
Really lovely to see you both & see you soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brixham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“everything was really good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

had a toasted tea cake@pot of tea at the coffee house.both delicious@good value for money.the service was excellent@the staff friendly.there was a good choice on the menu,christmas menu was excellent@good value.well worth a visit.well done sharon@your staff.good luck for the future.will return soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon f, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, Margaret, I'm glad you enjoyed it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The service was slow - but the food was so good it was well worth waiting for. Good atmosphere - imaginative menu and specials board. If you are in Brixham for lunch this is the place to go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinope1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon f, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I'm sorry you were kept waiting, we always try to be as quick as possible but there are times when a wait is inevitable as we prepare everything freshly.
I'm so glad you felt the wait was worth it & we really appreciate your kind words regarding the food & thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

A nice place for a coffee (the Americano came with 2 shots and hot water so you choose your own strength - what a great idea!). The friendly staff, dealt well with our party containing 5 small boys who each ordered a sausage sarnie and a hot chocolate (which came with marshmallows). We went for brunch so also had the mushrooms on toast which were good. One small critism was that the jam with the Cream Tea (yes, for brunch) could have been a bit nicer - rather than a basic jam in a plastic sealed individual portion - but the warm scone with it was lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darllengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon f, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
I'm really glad you enjoyed your brunch with us & thank you for your review.
It hadn't occurred to me to use a better jam with our cream teas & you have a good point!
I will get on to that forthwith!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You decide how strong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Good coffee beans, excellently brewed with a jug of hot water to adjust the strength of your Americano- what more could you ask for?...The crab sandwich was fresh accompanied by a colourful,crisp salad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pamb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon f, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you, it was nice to meet you both, I hope you enjoyed your visit to Brixham & had a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee House also viewed

 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing