We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute Gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seabird Cottage

Great outdoor space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great outdoor space
Chance for a quiet read
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
79 reviews
Great outdoor space
Chance for a quiet read
Everything you need
2 minute walk to harbour
A favourite Brixham pastime
3 minutes away from cottage
Golden Hind just down the road
Fantastic fish
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brixham, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Judith F
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a fantastic find. Perfect cottage, much more spacious than expected, very clean and well equipped.
Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No immediate parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thankyou very much, we are glad you enjoyed our cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly our trip was cancelled by new owners as they changed pet policy on property!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

After booking this lovely looking holiday cottage in April 2015 for the October half term we were advised in September that the property was taken over by new owners. On speaking with the new owners they cancelled our holiday as we have 2 small dogs and they did not want them in the property (They were welcomed by the previous owner when we booked) The new owners had taken over the property some time before we were made aware of this and should have taken note of who was due to stay at the property. I only mentioned the dogs as I felt I was filling him in on the details of who was coming to stay. Had I not mentioned them what would have happened on arrival? While I can accept not everyone likes dogs and it is their property now I felt it would have been good customer service to proceed with a confirmed booking.
Unfortunately due to the late notice of the cancellation we were unable to find an alternative and other than a refund we were offered no assistance by the new owners. We felt very disappointed in the lack of customer service. I am in no doubt that the property was let out and the owners didn't even lose out on a rental! We would have loved to have stayed and left a review on our experience of the property but we were not given that opportunity. Instead I am leaving a review on the poor customer service. I hope that this review can be left.

Liked least: The fact that it got cancelled due to no fault of ours!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review but as this booking was privately taken by the previous owners, not through Holiday Lettings we had no information as to who was actually booking the cottage. Sadly people had taken dogs down and abused the letting requirements by allowing them into the bedrooms leaving stains on the carpets which is ruining the property for other holiday makers. This is our own little family cottage which we wish to keep to a high standard for ourselves and others to enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricBrist...
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cosy pretty cottage”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a weekend break with friends. We had a pleasant suprise on how spacious the cottage is. Recently decorated and it was spotless. Excellent location as only a couple of minutes walk to the harbour. Brixham is a great place to visit. I would 100% recommend Seaview Cottage.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thankyou for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the cottage and Brixham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma W
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay ”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had 2 nights in this conveniently located little cottage in Brixham. What a lovely quaint place this is and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Claire across the street was very helpful and patient when we had a small issue trying to get the cooker to work and also trying to stop the timer pinging, Claire sussed it for us, just needed the nack. It's a very comfortable cottage and I can recommend a stay here as it was really good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Thankyou for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Seabird Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee R
1 review
“Very comfortable. Great location”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Seabird Cottage is great for exploring Brixham & surrounding area.
It has everything you need for a great holiday. Will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thankyou for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A quaint cottage a stone's throw from the bustling Brixham harbour”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This cottage is in an excellent location only a minute walk away from the shops and harbour. The accommodation was perfect for our small family. It was very handy to have an open plan living area for a holiday - it's a nice social space. The kitchen is set up so that you can easily prepare family meals. Both bedrooms are very comfortable with plenty of storage space. The stairs, whilst not a problem for us, would not suit those with mobility problems. The decor of the cottage is homely and welcoming and made for a cosy holiday. The garden was a lovely suntrap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locality and homely decor
Liked least: The bathroom and parts of the kitchen are starting to smell damp
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thankyou very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Brixham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john f
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent location”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage lovely not luxurious but homely and cosy and clean with all you need for a holiday in perfect location for harbour and restaurants parking not to much problem in streets above the cottage 5 mins walk away the enclosed garden was perfect for our little dog and the lady who lives opposite and looks after the cottage is very friendly and helpful if you had problems.... we never had any probs and enjoyed our week at seabird cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thankyou for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. Seabird cottage is just a traditional fishermans cottage therefore not advertised as a luxurious holiday cottage demanding higher weekly premiums.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing