We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting attraction”

Smugglers and Pirates Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Smugglers and Pirates Experience is family friendly visitor attraction situated on Brixham's gorgeous harbourside. Let us take you on a journey through 18th Century Brixham where Smuggling was a way of life and pirates ruled the high seas.Can you out run the excise men as they chase Jack and his Smuggling gang, listen to tails of Pirates and there daring deeds, visit the hidden cove and watch out for a ghost or two ...Meet the local friendly reverend who has a fondness for brandy and join in with the search for the gold "Pieces of Eight" hidden away in this wonderful attraction.Fun for all the family and if you have a dog, don't worry they can come to. Afterward all that excitement come and join us for a coffee, lunch or dinner in the Smugglers Retreat Licenced Eatery with wonderful views over the harbour. Open to all whether you have been through our attraction or not, you are most welcome.Gifts for all the family are just waiting for you to buy in our newly refurbished Gift shop and Pirate Emporium. Look out for specials evening events at Smugglers and Pirates Experience and I don't forget if you book your tickets on line you will save money. I
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“very interesting attraction”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great attraction, tells the histroy of smuggling through video acting and sets.fits well with the historic theme of brixham, great for families.attached cafe for a nice drink with a view of the harbour afterwards.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Smugglers and Pirates Experience, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our newly expanded and updated attraction.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and please do come and visit again.
Elizabeth Pippett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    41
    23
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Day Out!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent a lovely day at The Smuggler Story in Brixham. The effects are really amazing and you can re live the story of the main character, visiting his house and running away from the excise men. The stories of smugglers and smuggling (especially in Brixham) are very interesting with lots to learn. Had a very good Panini for lunch in the coffee shop. The staff are lovely, friendly people who couldn't help us enough and the gift shop is worth a visit in itself. All in all a very good value day out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DawnCHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Smugglers and Pirates Experience, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will come back and visit us
when we re open in Mid March.
Smugglers Story .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

A great way to learn about the smugglers, great graphics, great story. Staff friendly and coffee and cakes finishes off a lovely trip. Will definitely recommend this to guests. A really good addition to Brixham.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ct99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, Manager at Smugglers and Pirates Experience, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us .
We are this winter making some major changes to the attraction , coffee shop and gift shop so please do come down and see us again in the spring .
The Smugglers Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

extremely overpriced for what was a ten minute video. do not believe the advertsments and I would advise thinking twice before wasting money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mootravels, Manager at Smugglers and Pirates Experience, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We are very sorry that you only spent 10 minutes in our show .I can confirm that the whole show lasts 30 minutes with an exhibition at the end which you are able to spend as much or as little time in as you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Should have read Tripadvisor first”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very disappointed. Overpriced for 20 minutes experience, should have been a warning that it is not suitable for young children - our 5 year old was terrified and had to be taken out.

Not what I call 3D - the two rooms had small displays where the main characters spoke to you via very 2D flat screen TV's.

Otherwise it was mildly interesting and the staff were friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigted27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smugglers and Pirates Experience also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing