We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect no nonsense old world charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoalstone Pool

Shoalstone Pool
Ranked #8 of 26 things to do in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Shoalstone Sea Water Pool is an iconic feature of the South Devon Coast ... FREE to use and Enjoy! Each year, the Friends work tirelessly to reclaim this historic sea water pool from the ravages inflicted upon it by the wild winter storms and huge seas. Shoalstone Pool is one of only a few remaining sea water poolsin this country. The money raised by the Friends pays for its annual cleaning, painting and recommissioning, and also helps to build a contingency fund in the event of a major storm and any subsequent repairs needed. When you join the Friends of Shoalstone Pool, or contribute via the Square Metre Appeal or attend one of the Friends' fundraising events, you are making an important contribution to the preservation of an iconic amenity which is loved and enjoyed both by local residents and the many visitors to the region. We really welcome your encouragement!
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect no nonsense old world charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just brilliant, what a find. Loads of sea swimming available around Brixham but if you fancy the salt water without the rocks and the sea weed and fish and crabs and seal this is the best spot in town. Take the plunge or just relax by the pool, great fun!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    15
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FABULOUS SEA WATER POOL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Learnt to swim here and still love it, fab place for a refreshing swim. Very well looked after by Mark & Nick.

Do go visit our Gem !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VixBrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to have on your doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have used Shoalstone Pool since I was young & now my children are making the most of it too! Lovely place with the added bonus of Lifeguards watching over everyone. A great place to spend the day for free (apart from the occasional lolly from the shop) The only down side is when they have to close the pool for cleaning, it always seems to be on my day off (typically), would be good if it could be done in the evenings instead?!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyj1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful day by the pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a great place to be on a sunny day. Hired a sunbed and spent the day at the pool with stunning views over the bay, would not have wanted to be anywhere else in the world. The pool itself was clean and beautifully restored and great for kids, not that I had any with me .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shoalstone pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place that is run by volunteers. Great fun for all the family. Very safe for children of all ages. Great rock pools when tide is out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoalstone Pool also viewed

 
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Shoalstone Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing