We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and location”
Review of Quayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel has a lovely view of Brixham harbour, though our room did not maximise this with an ugly white balcony front, which disappointed me. However, the room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Food was absolutely top notch and above the standard I expected from a 3 star - it was fresh, the meat and fish were high quality and the homemade ice cream delicious! Service was of a high quality. The car park, for those slightly infirm would be challenging to get to, but presented no problem to us. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher up will give a better view, but be warned there is no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieqT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Had a lovely comfortable night stay at this Hotel and a super room with view of the harbour. Evening meal and breakfast was very enjoyable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovely070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My partner and I visited the hotel for an evening meal earlier this month. The service was excellent throughout. The food was fabulous, and the few extra touches really made the difference. We were given complimentray nuts/breadsticks beofre we'd even sat down, which was ensued by a complimentary spicy tomatoe soup.

The main meals were excellent.

I would recomend this to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago and again in September 2011. We were actually put in the same room as our previous visit which was a spacious room overlooking the harbour. We were warned that it was over the bar which had live music but we don't go to bed early so this wasn't a problem and in any case the music ended at a reasonable time. Breakfast was excellent and service very good. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which was very good. The hotel has dedicated parking away from the hotel but you can unload outside. We enjoyed our stay the first time and weren't disappointed on our return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jcobcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I've stayed at the Quayside Hotel in Brixham twice recently and on both occassions I was upgraded to a nicer room with an amazing view of the harbour. All members of staff that I've come across have been very service minded and friendly. A full English breakfast is included and is great. I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifeisalongjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Having stayed at this hotel on four previous occasions and had found it to be a clean comfortable hotel we were disappointed to see it's decline. The bed was old and small, the outside shared terrace off the bedroom was in fact a smoking area, as non smokers this meant bedroom windows could not be opened for air.

Breakfast was poor, burnt toast,poor buffet choice and a poached egg that was stone cold. Flowers(flower) on all tables were dead!!

The hotel position was great near the town without having to walk up hills.

It's a shame things have gone hill so badly as we have enjoyed previous visits. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tannerwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Tthis hotel is very handy to see the harbour wake up. Room was lovely and warm. Breakfast was 10 out of 10, we got exactly what was requested, Either no trouble with the hotel accepted a parrot (caged of course). Staff was friendly and helpfully. Wished we had an extra night. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
799 reviews
4.3 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
323 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
15.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Address: 49 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: £76 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing