We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend at lovely hotel”
Review of Quayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend at lovely hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Very good hotel, beautiful view across Brixham harbour
Breakfast very good

Room Tip: Room with four poster bed, looking over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    219
    69
    27
    12
See reviews for
47
357
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I took my wife out for a meal for a Birthday treat we went to the quayside completely on speck as i had forgotten to book a table. The staff were very accommodating and soon had us seated in a smartly decorated restaurant, My wife had the goats cheese fritter and i had the pi-re pi-re prawns for starter's they were both fantastic, then my wife had fish of the day and i had the mussels man if you like mussels come here the portion is huge and they taste absolutely fantastic.on top of this the restaurant manager came in with my wife's dessert lit with Birthday candles and sang happy Birthday he is good and made us feel extra special first class.Will be going back to try the seafood platter for two looks great must order in advance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleBuck_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I went for a meal with my family and the food and the service was excellent. We all had fish as it would've been rude not to, being where we were. I had the mussels and they were the best mussels I've had in a long long time. The service was personable and knowledgeable and the meal and wine was great value for what we received. I will be dining again when I'm in Brixham next.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chase401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent a night at the Quayside Hotel but wish we hadn't bothered. The staff were friendly and welcoming, but this place has obviously seen better days. The downstairs was acceptable (..if a little dusty) but upstairs was grim! We struggled up narrow, dimly lit stairways to get to the room which were in desperate need of redecoration. The bedroom was equally uninviting. It had a seaview, but was so small that the bed almost touched the walls. Like the stairway, this room hadn't seen a coat of paint in years, and all the fixtures and fittings were cheap and badly worn. Having seen enough we decided to eat out at a local seafood restaurant, where we learned that the hotel has fallen into ruin under its current, inexperienced owners. The Quayside used to be the number one hotel in Brixham, but today it looks more like number two.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaptainPugwash59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, Surrey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Restaurant is OK but could do with a good clean, food good, location very nice, staff are extremely friendly. Don't agree with reviewers who complain about narrow stairs etc - it's an old building, to be expected, could be part of the experience / charm. Don't mind small rooms for the same reason. BUT ... rooms grimy (so appalled we took pictures), shower deeply unattractive (mould in the grout; other peoples' hair in the tray; cheap aged fittings), bathroom as a whole uninviting, towel rail electrical connection covered in black tape, extractor fan didn't work; dirty carpets (decided not to unpack cases); greasy dust on surface tops (wardrobe doors, skirting boards, picture rails etc), room fittings also aged and cheap, rotting window frames, floor level sockets and short lead on kettle (had to boil kettle on floor), TV difficult to watch (constant buffering) ... and much more. 13-year old award certificate on the first floor said it all. Overpriced in April for what it is. Booked for four days, left after two, both couldn't wait to spend a long time in a clean working shower and launder all our clothes (used or not). Great shame - location is really very attractive, could be a terrific little character hotel, and the staff are - by far - its best feature.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DavidofEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A very nice hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful.the room was spacious,clean and had an excellent view of brixham and the harbour.The food was excellent in both the resturant and the bar (especially the mussels in cream)and at breakfast you had plenty of choice.There are a lot of stairs but the staff helped with the luggage.The Car park is a good walk away but is free and spacious.Would definitely stay again,highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a family room which unfortunately was not sea facing and we looked out at a wall and had the kitchen extractors pumping out beneath us. There were lots a stairs but this was explained to us when we booked. The food was lovely. I can definitely recommend the restaurant and the only blight was a young couple who spent the whole time screeching with giggles and laughter - not the sort of place for that sort of behaviour. I stayed in this hotel 40 years ago with my parents and it was lovely to see that the restaurant was as I remembered it - beautifully cared for.
The ensuite bathroom had just been refurbished and it was lovely, but the lavatory was very awkward to use! The hair drier had been placed directly over the loo and there was no mirror near the drier so it was a completely useless item!
My daughter left something in the room when we left and we phoned once we got home and the item had been found and was sent on to us by the next post - brilliant service.
The only real downside is the car park - this is located about a quarter of a mile away up the hill and round the corner in a large car park but you need to off-load your bags by the hotel and collect a parking permit before going to park your car. It's a long walk if you have sore hips, knees, feet etc or young children!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dellthegell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
701 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
15.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,753 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Property: Quayside Hotel
Address: 49 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing