We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the town, convenient, friendly and a quaint piece of history.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
BRISTOL , ENGLAND
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best in the town, convenient, friendly and a quaint piece of history.”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Quayside Hotel on a number of occasions, Brixham is a great place to visit, (especially out of season), and this Hotel is hard to beat.
The website is easy to navigate, (with any offers available listed on a separate page), and I have found the reception staff extremely helpful on the few occasions I have phoned them, they will advise on specific rooms to suit your requirements and then book this specific room.
On arrival you are able to park on the yellow lines in front of the Hotel to unload, you then have to drive a couple of hundred yards to their private car park just up the road.
The Hotel is in a great location looking out over the Harbour, I believe that a number of fisherman's cottages were knocked into one building and this provides the interesting corridor layout and room configurations, which vary quite a lot, I have stayed in the "snug" double and standard doubles, each time with a Harbour view. The snug doubles are quite small, as are the bathrooms, and would probably be better suited to one person, however, they are still functional for a couple. I am not sure what the inland views are like but if cost is an issue, you have to decide how long you are going to sit looking out of the window at a nice view compared to saving money.
The rooms have always been clean and comfortable and they supply tea/coffee making facilities, a small television and the general items you would expect from a Hotel of this class, the electric fan is a nice touch for warmer weather.
The attached bar is pleasant and they provide some nice food at reasonable prices.
The Hotel restaurant has proven to be variable over the years although I would still say it is very good, especially for dinner. The breakfasts offer a small continental selection with cereals, yoghurt etc, the cooked breakfast is A'la carte and cooked fresh to order.
If you choose the DB&B option, the dinner is chosen from the restaurants A'la carte menu, (a nice change from set menus), and the quality and value is excellent.
Brixham has many reasons to visit and is great as a base for the Torbay area, there are plenty of pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance from the Hotel.
I will be returning to Brixham for a short break later in the year and will not be considering any other Hotel, I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: The website reservation page is informative but I would suggest phoning someone in reception to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeremyKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    212
    69
    26
    12
See reviews for
44
348
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked one night here in a superior sea facing room which was lovely wanted to stay extra night but had to be moved to another room on a higher floor, this room was NOT of the same standard as the first room. Access was up three extra flights of narrow stairs. We were charged the same for both rooms. This most certainly was unreasonable. The breakfast however was good. Hotel was very clean but the public rooms eg bar were very small. No onsite parking. Vehicles had to be parked some distance away.

Room Tip: Well located just a short stroll from the harbour. Rooms on the lower floor more suitable for sen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

lovely people warm welcome, great location, rooms are clean and comfortable, location perfect. my only comment not critisism is breakfast could be a little better cooked, lots of choice and plenty of it, but the smoked haddock and poached eggs wre smimminng in water, just drain it better,likewise fried breackfast, cooked very well but too much grease on the plate. I would stay again because theses negative points are far outweighed by the positives.

Room Tip: harbour view wiyh balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A very quaint hotel made up of 6 fishermans cottages overlooking Brixham harbour.
Whilst comfortable enough it is what it is ie don;t go expecting a 2012 4 star hotel, it is a typical seaside hotel that you can find all around the English coast. Excellent breakfast -do try the poached haddock. Good value for money.j

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Very good hotel, beautiful view across Brixham harbour
Breakfast very good

Room Tip: Room with four poster bed, looking over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I took my wife out for a meal for a Birthday treat we went to the quayside completely on speck as i had forgotten to book a table. The staff were very accommodating and soon had us seated in a smartly decorated restaurant, My wife had the goats cheese fritter and i had the pi-re pi-re prawns for starter's they were both fantastic, then my wife had fish of the day and i had the mussels man if you like mussels come here the portion is huge and they taste absolutely fantastic.on top of this the restaurant manager came in with my wife's dessert lit with Birthday candles and sang happy Birthday he is good and made us feel extra special first class.Will be going back to try the seafood platter for two looks great must order in advance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleBuck_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I went for a meal with my family and the food and the service was excellent. We all had fish as it would've been rude not to, being where we were. I had the mussels and they were the best mussels I've had in a long long time. The service was personable and knowledgeable and the meal and wine was great value for what we received. I will be dining again when I'm in Brixham next.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chase401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
671 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
930 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
15.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Property: Quayside Hotel
Address: 49 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing